We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Bar staff are terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“The Bar staff are terrible!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Overall not a bad hotel but always let down by the poor attitude of the bar staff. I've stayed at the Crone Plaza Adelaide several times and always pass feedback on respectfully, yet it amazes me that nothing seems to be done about this problem. My wife, son and I attempted to have a drink and the tapas type menu. As a always there are plenty of staff, however they are experts of walking past customers looking unhappy, failing to see a person wanting service, and generally radiating their unhappiness with their jobs. This is in contrast to their happiness out of sight behind the bar in a cluster chattering and texting away.

If they don't like serving people..try another job.

When will the GM get this right? As a Platinum Ambassador I now stay at the Inter Continental

Room Tip: Get a drink somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Wayne G,

I am very sorry that you have found the service in our bar far from satisfactory. I can assure you I do take all of the feedback I receive seriously and am disappointed that you feel nothing gets done. In the last couple of months we have made changes to our management in the restaurant and employed new bar staff.

I would really like to gain some further insight from you and would appreciate if you could email me on linda.collis@ihg.com so we can arrange a time to speak.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    658
    132
    32
    15
See reviews for
209
577
111
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Having never been to Adelaide before or know what to expect when booking from afar (a place to stay) which you can only hope is clean, has good service & a good location, i could not be happier with the Crowne Plaza. We're still in the middle of our 7day stay & just want to give credit where credit is due based on our experience.

The location is perfect. Although its right in the city (literally a 2minute walk to the mall), I've had no issue with noise that often comes with staying in most city places.

Good service should be such a simple thing to do for any business (unfortunately not the case for many hotels) but thankfully here, I've always appreciated the smiles & the 'hello's; whether it be from the cleaning ladies, reception, the restaurant staff & especially the concierges. And of course any request I've had; they've always helped & go that one step more. Its the simple things!

Although we're here with 2 small kids AND staying for a whole week, the rooms are lovely & clean with very comfortable beds, decent bathroom shelving space and the kids especially appreciate the wide window view….so do i. My son looks for the first star to make his wish each night :-)

The only reason i couldn't rate it excellent this time (& honestly its a small thing) but after enjoying the most delicious meal in their restaurant 'Red Salt', we asked whilst still there could we get dessert to take upstairs (& this too was suggested to us). It was $9.50 on the menu but when we eventually got it delivered (1 dessert, 1 hour later), it was then $19. I do understand room service add charges etc but the fact it was suggested for us to take it upstairs & I ordered right there, i just didn't think the $10.50 mark up was valid for the same dessert. Like i said, such a minor thing & only reason why i didn't tick excellent. But still fully recommend RedSalt for its beautiful meals, especially the steak we were lucky to enjoy. Amazing!

As a first time visitor here, and for the same reasons towards both Adelaide as a city & Crowne Plaza as a hotel, I'm impressed with both their great service, facilities & amazing food which has been more than a pleasant surprise & look forward to returning to both. And thankfully i know I'm already returning in a few months. Yah!

Thankyou & please keep it up :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueCharlie0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear BlueCharlie0102,

It is so nice to hear that you have found Adelaide and Crowne Plaza to be a great place - we think it is too! I will follow up regarding your dessert and have this fixed up - it sounds to me like you have been double charged accidentally.

Now you know your way around I do hope you will continue to use our hotel as your home away from home when visiting Adelaide.

Please email me directly on linda.collis@ihg.com so we can organise a refund for the incorrect dessert charges.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Having checked into this hotel on the 26th Jan 2014 late at light went to our room exhausted went straight to sleep. When we woke in the morning could see the room was filthy!! Cigarette ends everywhere and empty beer and cola bottles. We had slept in a dirty room!

When went down to reception to inform them of this the young girl at the desk did not seem bothered about this information and not even apologise she said ok it must be a one off thing. Unfortunately not get the name of the girl but we spoke to her morning of the 27th of january

horrified by experience

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 331vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear 331vic,

I am so sorry you had such a terrible experience. We are currently undergoing an investigation to find out how this could have happened. It is certainly not acceptable and nor is the way you were dealt with. As a non smoking hotel I am even more horrified that no one had noticed a previous guest had been smoking. I am assuming this was on your balcony not in fact in your room.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we have taken your feedback very seriously.

If you would like to discuss this further directly with me, please contact me on linda.collis@ihg.com.

Kind regards
Linda

Please accept my sincere apologies once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Had a great stay here for the opening of Adelaide Fringe. Fantastic location, walking distance to City centre, galleries and botanical garden. The valet car park is convenient but be prepared to pay an exorbitant amount. Our flight was cancelled and the staff at the hotel were very obliging in assisting us with rebooking for one night at late notice. Clean, comfortable, great choice of pillows, spacious.

Room Tip: You want a room that does not face the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atir62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear atir62,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our location suited your needs. I appreciate you acknowledging the team's willingness to assist.

I do understand carparking in the city can be expensive compared to other places, I am glad you still found a lot to like about the hotel.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

When I'm travelling for work for a week or more it's always good to stay in a comfortable hotel and Crowne Plaza Adelaide was just that. After work, I always looked forward to going back to my room. The bed was extremely comfortable and I was able to get a good night's rest.

I accessed the gym which had decent functioning equipment. Usually gyms are dingy, tired, with worn equipment. This was great. The only problem was, it was packed every morning at around 5:30 to 6:00am. I was shocked. Maybe they should think about extending their hours or going 24 hours, either that or expand their gym to get more cardio machines in. It was a bit claustrophobic.

The breakfast spread was vast and overall tasty.

The location is only a block away from Rundle Mall to do some shopping or hit the supermarket. Another day I walked to Chinatown and it was only a 20min walk at the most.

Overall, very happy with my stay, although a bit pricey, but I got what I paid for really.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitona007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear GlobalChub,

We so often receive feedback regarding being great for a short stay so I really appreciate you sharing your experience for a longer stay. I am also very happy to hear that enjoyed your time with us and found us comfortable.

I will look into the possibility of opening the gym earlier.

Thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts, it is important that we receive regular feedback so we can continue to improve.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

This is an excellently located hotel. Close to restaurants and shops, buses in front of the hotel. We had a standard room which was very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent large selection of food. We ate dinner I the Resturant which was good too. We will definitely stay again

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Greymaambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Greymaambo,

Thank you for your very kinds words, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again. I hope you are having a great week.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
183 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Historically I had not visited a Crown Plaza for many years. However, the rooms are modern, clean, and spacious with a large desk that is wonderful for working. The bathroom are spacious as well. There is a small lounge downstairs. There is also an independent restaurant/lounge downstairs as well. It is not a romantic venue but I think it is appropriate for a short stay especially while on business.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docfoodie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear docfoodie2013,

Thank you for staying with us particularly as you had not visited a Crowne Plaza for many years, I am so pleased you chose us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our rooms and facilities appropriate for your short business stay.

I really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Adelaide

Property: Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Address: 16 Hindmarsh Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Adelaide 4.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the refreshingly modern surrounds of Crowne Plaza Adelaide, a hub for the savvy traveller. Here in the heart of the city, you are only a short walk from many attractions, including Rundle Street's fashion boutiques and lively café culture, Adelaide Oval, National Wine Centre and a pleasant 20 minute journey takes you to the Adelaide Hills Wine region. At the hotel, our welcome is warm and genuine. Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure our friendly team will help you connect with whatever you need. Comfortable guestrooms, some with furnished balconies, offer fast wifi and plenty of space for relaxing or working. You can unwind in the lap pool, enjoy a work-out in our well-equipped fitness centre, and dine indoors or alfresco at Redsalt Restaurant and Bar. Designed to please in so many ways, the multi award-winning IHG Rewards Club delivers ongoing value and real benefits including free Internet, and extended checkout times. From the moment you arrive, everything we offer and everything we do is designed to support your comfort and pleasure. Crowne Plaza Adelaide. Where contemporary style meets urban convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, IHG, Travelbag, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing