We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central, modern, clean with helpful staff - perfect for a business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Central, modern, clean with helpful staff - perfect for a business trip”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Good room with a great view of the square. Great staff, clean modern room in a perfect spot in the middle of Adelaide during festival time. I was there on business so room was perfect. If I was going for holidays I would have expected a little more luxury.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeileER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear NeileER,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and liked your room, the view and our location for your business trip.

I hope you have had an enjoyable long weekend.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    653
    131
    32
    15
See reviews for
206
567
111
487
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Hotel standard crowne plaza modern style, staff friendly and helpful, rooms well appointed. stayed on floor 13 with great views of the city. free wifi only if you're a member of hotel chain. easy walking distance of CBD shops and attractions. Highly recommend Indian restaurant across the road (Jasmin). At time of staying hotel had problems with water; showers were hot and then cold. Staff apologised and offered to swap rooms so no complaints with staff service or response.

Room Tip: parking is a challenge as hotel has a drop off zone, suggest consider "wilsons's" car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrisons1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Harrisons 1234,

Please accept my apologies for the problems you encountered with your shower. We have had rectification work done this week so hopefully this will correct the problem.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and I too would highly recommend Jasmin, I had a lovely meal there myself about a month ago.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I hope you have a lovely long weekend and we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed in a 'Superior' room with my girlfriend for our anniversary, we both came away very happy with our stay. Our room overlooking Hindmarsh square was well appointed, modern, spacious and comfortable; it was definitely worth paying a little extra for the view ('Standard' rooms face onto the adjacent car park).

The staff were courteous and efficient and made sure we were comfortable. Though we walked offsite for dinner, the in house restaurant looked good and the buffet breakfast we had the next morning was delicious. The hotel also has reasonable size pool, though we did not have the opportunity to use it. I would stay here again, especially at the online booking rate we paid.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murofsua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Murofsua,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback and I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. I really appreciate you acknowledging the staff and am very pleased you enjoyed your breakfast.

I hope you have an enjoyable long weekend ahead and I do hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very average CBD box room with views of the multi-storey car park next door. I understand the much higher priced high floor rooms actually look out on something other than late night drivers screeching around the car park but I didn't find out and I won't.

Might do for a night in Adelaide but not for a weekend in the city of churches with a loved one. This was a combined business and private stay for 3 nights and next time I'll find somewhere else and catch a taxi to where I want to go if I have to.

Poor lighting to disguise the lack of fittings and almost dangerous slippery cheap bathroom tiles. No tea bags until I found the trolley lady the second day and I thought the desk staff less than helpful on check in. Not quite rude but getting close when I asked them for a different room.

For a supposedly upmarket chain 5 star CBD hotel this place is disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buccaneer-001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Buccaneer -001,

Please accept my apologies for the disappointing stay you had with us. I appreciate we are not going to meet everyone's expectations however we should be able to do better than the experience you had.

I will share your feedback with the team, I know they will be as disappointed as I am that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that the other aspects of your visit to Adelaide were enjoyable.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omer, Israel
Level Contributor
257 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Nice, new, clean, well maintained with good but not perfect sevice (we had to ask for the room to be serviced when returning at 3 pm in one of the days). The really bad thing was that the room we got faced a parking lot and this is quite oppressive if you are going to spend more than a day in the hotel. And we did not get an alternative oferred. On the positive side internet access is free if you subscribe (free) to the IHG loyalty program.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julo972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Julian S,

I am pleased you had a good stay but I am of course very disappointed that we did not do better. We do try and offer all guests a variety of room types so I am sorry if this was not recommended to you (I do know we had some dates that we were full in early April so there may not have been our upgrade room types available).

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we appreciate it.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Be careful. If you look at the description of standard and other rooms on the hotel website it is difficult to see the difference. The non standard rooms have a few additional words. Something like "nice views". When you arrive and check in you see that the standard rooms are substandard. They look into a car park with neon lighting. As the cars drive around the carpark their lights go into the rooms. You have no idea what time of day it is while you are in the room, nor do you know what the weather is like. In addition in the room I was in, the air conditioning didn't work (and Adelaide gets hot) and the water pressure was weak. I have also stayed in a balcony room which means that the windows may be opened. In that room the air-conditioning worked and the water pressure was fine. There was also a view to the South. In that room you would think you were in one of the better hotels in Adelaide. The bed was comfortable in both rooms and the furnishings clean and modern. The substandard rooms would be alright if you were stay in in winter arriving after dark and leaving for work the next morning. The hotel is very well located. The staff are friendly and polite as they generally are in Adelaide.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank further40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear further40,

I do appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and I am sorry you feel you have had such mixed experiences. I understand that the views and room types are different however everything else should be in good working order - there should not be any difference with the airconditioning or water pressure so I will speak to our Maintenance Manager about this.

I am very pleased you liked our location and the staff.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have stayed here several times since it opened as it is centrally located in the city (close to Rundle Street/Rundle Mall - good access to bars, shopping and restaurants) and it is new and clean. There is nothing fancy about it - just clean, stark rooms but for an Adelaide hotel it isn't bad (there aren't many decent choices here!). We stayed in the Junior Suite both times - I wouldn't call it a suite but it is a good sized room with a balcony and huge walk in shower.

Room service is below average - ordered hot chips, received wedges. The gravy is terrible (made the mistake to order it both stays). The cheesecake is tiny. The gnocchi tastes weird. Get food from elsewhere!

All in all though a decent hotel with a decent central location :)

Room Tip: The Junior Suite isn't anything fancy if you're breaking your budget to pay for it. It is ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Callyn83,

Thank you for sharing your experiences from your stays and whilst I am disappointed you haven't had a great experience I appreciate you acknowledging that we are pretty good.

We have just introduced a brand new menu which I am sure our guests will enjoy. Next time you are visiting please let me know as I would love to offer you some new items to try. My email is linda.collis@ihg.com.

Best wishes for a safe and happy Easter.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Adelaide

Property: Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Address: 16 Hindmarsh Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#7 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Adelaide 4.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the refreshingly modern surrounds of Crowne Plaza Adelaide, a hub for the savvy traveller. Here in the heart of the city, you are only a short walk from many attractions, including Rundle Street's fashion boutiques and lively café culture, Adelaide Oval, National Wine Centre and a pleasant 20 minute journey takes you to the Adelaide Hills Wine region. At the hotel, our welcome is warm and genuine. Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure our friendly team will help you connect with whatever you need. Comfortable guestrooms, some with furnished balconies, offer fast wifi and plenty of space for relaxing or working. You can unwind in the lap pool, enjoy a work-out in our well-equipped fitness centre, and dine indoors or alfresco at Redsalt Restaurant and Bar. Designed to please in so many ways, the multi award-winning IHG Rewards Club delivers ongoing value and real benefits including free Internet, and extended checkout times. From the moment you arrive, everything we offer and everything we do is designed to support your comfort and pleasure. Crowne Plaza Adelaide. Where contemporary style meets urban convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing