We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
port lincoln
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

3rd stay here over the last 12 months , and that's says it all! Each time we have stayed in a balcony room overlooking Hindmarsh Square , fabulous rooms, lovely decor and amenities and spotlessly clean. Even though is right in the city we find it too be relatively quite compared to other hotels on North Terrace. Rooms have heavy curtains and thick glass on windows and doors which work a treat. Comfy beds and pillow menu too. Excellent position as around the corner from Rundle Mall , short stroll to Adelaide Oval etc. The hotel has a beautiful ambience and wonderfully friendly helpful staff. Fantastic pool, spa and sauna to utilise and huge Buffett breakfast available in Redsalt restaurant. Can not fault this hotel at all.... Highly recommend! We are IHG members which offers free wifi, room upgrades, late check outs , well worth it...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melstef72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear melstef72,

Thank you so much for your very kind words and what a lovely review for me to share with the team. I am so pleased you are enjoying staying with us and the rooms with balconies overlooking Hindmarsh Square are fabulous.

I really do appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and hope you have a fantastic weekend.

Al the very best until we see you again.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    670
    132
    33
    15
See reviews for
218
588
114
506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We live in country South Australia and whenever in Adelaide we stay here. We love it and I can not honestly think of any reason not to stay here. The staff, service, rooms are all excellent and not to mention the location. Shops, pubs, museums and a ten minute walk to the famous Adelaide Oval. All great and thankyou again Crowne Plaza Adelaide for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cat0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear cat0407,

Thank you so much for you lovely words and I am thrilled you continue to choose Crowne Plaza when you are visiting Adelaide. The team will really appreciate, as do I, your positive feedback.

I hope you are having a great week and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Have been before but this time we booked a room overlooking Hindmarsh square so had a better view. Room excellent and bed excellent and had table and chairs on balcony (make sure you ask for these if you want them). Ric, the concierge, seems to know everything and used our names every time he saw us - very impressive. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Wasn't impressed that I was booked in as a Mr. Doesn't have the feel of luxury to it that the Intercontinental hotel has and the breakfasts aren't as good as theirs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelGreenTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear RachelGreen Travel,

I am very pleased to know that thought your room and bed were excellent. Ric does pretty much know everything and he is very impressive and we are very lucky to have a great team of friendly and helpful people.

I am very sorry that your booking was not correct and you were booked under Mr, I will follow this up to see how this has happened.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we really do appreciate it. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the very near future.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My third stay at the Adelaide Crowne Plaza was for two days on business with a colleague with vision and hearing disabilities and his assistance dog. The hotel came up trumps in dealing with my friend - they treated him and Samson, the dog, as VIPs and treated me quite well too. This is a very warm and friendly hotel in a tremendous location in the lovely city of Adelaide. The rooms are simple but have art pieces and work really well. The bathroom is efficient - good light, shelf space, a deep bath and excellent shower. I had a problem with the wash basin, reported it and it was fixed promptly. The maintenance man left a card to confirm that attention had been given to the issue. The housekeeper also left a card on day one here to wish me a good day and stay. The wifi (free) was excellent. I needed a firmer pillow and that was provided - no problem. Breakfast in the Red Salt Restaurant in the hotel was very good value at $22. The range of offerings, including espresso coffee, was as good as anywhere and a chef on the spot to do omelettes, etc was a warm and nice touch. The chef was very nice to deal with too. This was my third time here and original favourable impressions just get better and better. As I said earlier, it is notably friendly and everyone has a terrific service mentality - this included the desk staff, concierge (who cannot do too much for a guest) and the restaurant staff. One of the nicest hotels to stay in in Australia.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatheralbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear fatheralbert,

My team was so excited when they read your review this morning I was barely in the door and they were talking about it. I can't express how fortunate I feel to work with such a great team of genuinely nice and caring people. Obviously, as humans we can all have days where we are not at our best but this team really wants to ensure that we do all we can to make our guests feel welcome and looked after. I am so very grateful that you have taken the time to acknowledge this as well as compliment the hotel on many other aspects.

Thank you so much and it will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We spent two nights at the crown on one if their deals. Room was great with views over hindmarsh square. The pool, spa, sauna and steam room facilities were good. Staff were friendly and courteous. The buffet breakfast was very good and the coffee superb! Their barista makes a great flat white. It was a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear katbal,

It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your weekend with us and really liked your room and our facilities. We are very fortunate to have a great team who are friendly and courteous and I really appreciate you acknowledging their efforts. I am so pleased you enjoyed breakfast and I agree our barista makes a great coffee.

Thank you for sharing your feedback, it is of great value to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Excellent service. clean, spacious rooms, the bed and pillows are soooooo comfortable. Slept really well.
Had the room service and have to say Wow! So delicious, had the Beef Spare Rib for entree and Snapper for main... Way to much food for one but I couldn't stop eating it! Really impressive.
Have stayed here three times now and will not stay anywhere else when here. Used to stay elsewhere then decided to try this one... No going back.
Central CBD, easy access to everything, great for business,... Well worth it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcosta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear kcosta1,

It is so nice to read such positive feedback and I am thrilled you received excellent service and found our pillows so comfortable, it is so important to get a good nights sleep.

We really do want all of our guests to have a great experience throughout the hotel and to know that you did really will make the entire team very happy. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have stayed in almost every major Hotel in Adelaide through business related travel over the past 20 years. This was my first time in the Crowne Plaza.
We arrived late, Spent some time in the Restaurant/Bar. The service was ok. I think having 5 arrive 30mins before you are expected to close always puts a strain on staff.
My room had an even number on a middle floor - essentially you get a full view of the multistory carpark. Not exciting, and a little bit intimidating. My other colleagues had rooms that faced the square and were very happy.
Room is good. Shower is excellent, and is a real shower. Breakfast was very good but again staff were a little slow in response. I also noted a long check out queue while having breakfast. Im not sure if this is routine or maybe just all the moons aligned.
Doormen are very helpful.
I thinks a very good hotel. I will return at more appropriate timing and see how staff react as well to determine if the checkout queue is a routine.

Room Tip: If on levels under 5 get a room with an odd number so that you face the square and not the multistor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Adelaide, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Swell,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and I do appreciate your balanced perspective. As you noted sometimes we can't predict when our guests choose to check out and at times it is all at once. Generally we do not have large queues but we have had some large groups in over the past couple of weeks which can result in short periods of delays in certain areas of the hotel.

I am really pleased to know you enjoyed the showers and the room in general. Our Deluxe rooms face onto Hindmarsh Square and I definitely recommend these if you want a bit more space and a great view - it is worth the extra.

We would love to welcome you back and I am very sure you will not be disappointed on your next visit.

I hope you are having a great week.

Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Adelaide

Property: Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Address: 16 Hindmarsh Square, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#1 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Adelaide 4.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the refreshingly modern surrounds of Crowne Plaza Adelaide, a hub for the savvy traveller. Here in the heart of the city, you are only a short walk from many attractions, including Rundle Street's fashion boutiques and lively café culture, Adelaide Oval, National Wine Centre and a pleasant 20 minute journey takes you to the Adelaide Hills Wine region. At the hotel, our welcome is warm and genuine. Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure our friendly team will help you connect with whatever you need. Comfortable guestrooms, some with furnished balconies, offer fast wifi and plenty of space for relaxing or working. You can unwind in the lap pool, enjoy a work-out in our well-equipped fitness centre, and dine indoors or alfresco at Redsalt Restaurant and Bar. Designed to please in so many ways, the multi award-winning IHG Rewards Club delivers ongoing value and real benefits including free Internet, and extended checkout times. From the moment you arrive, everything we offer and everything we do is designed to support your comfort and pleasure. Crowne Plaza Adelaide. Where contemporary style meets urban convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Adelaide Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing