We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pub food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel Metropolitan
Ranked #3 of 14 Adelaide B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Pub food!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Dined here 3 times in a week. Food is as good as you get in a pub anywhere. Staff and locals are friendly, and a very good choice of beers on tap. Try their own made spring rolls- superb!
There is a choices of a dining area as well as two bars and outside area( not so good as toilets are nearby)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    23
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
4
13
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I found The Metropolitan Hotel in Adelaide by searching for a place to stay near the bus station. The hotel is right next door, across from the famous Market. Couldn't be in a better spot. Lovely, restored pub. Nice, clean interior. Fabulous food in the restauarant. Large, clean room at a rate I have not yet found anywhere else while traveling throughout Australia. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margriet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Again submariners of the association had gotten together for our 'AGM' but it is more like a social gathering. We were given sole use of the dining room in the centre of the pub, away from the noise of the road and the bar areas. The ladies enjoyed some bread entrees due to our 'gas-bagging' a little too much which was well received. On completion we had a lovely meal, although the calimari was a bit ordinary; my 'skippy' was fine and by all accounts, bugs-bunny (rabbit) pie was well regarded. This is a good pub which enjoys our continued patronage and we, the good service in return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

If the service in the dining room is anything to go by, don't even think about staying in a room here. Ordered food at 6.32pm... the two diners who ordered directly in front of us received their meals at 6.46pm... at 7.05pm after watching 3-5 bar staff including the apparent manager stand around behind the bar for most of the time, I asked how far away the food was. It took him another 5 minutes to find out and he didn't even come to the table to tell us - just shouted over the bar that it was 'just being plated up'. After yet another 5 minutes (and watching another table get their food as well), finally received our order - a simple steak sandwich and schnitzel. The steak was overcooked and the schnitzel was burnt on the bottom. Perhaps if the food has been cooked properly, we would have gotten our meals on time! No apology from the manager when he delivered the food. Needless to say we will never be going back.

Room Tip: Don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snarkyroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Adelaide hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The Submarine Association Australia, South Australia Branch, regularly meet here at least twice per year and on each and every occasion we find the hotel staff friendly and efficient. The food is of good quality and always great value, even table service is provided when we have a dining function. Plenty of parking on-street, nearby and across the road in the parking-station. Always a good event and with their separated function room out the back, provides a good atmosphere where any organisation can meet, do their business and have a good time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We booked a room here, not expecting anything flash, but clean and comfortable for the price. When we saw the room we were shocked to find the bed was unstable, terrible quality, no way I could have slept on it. The sheets were clean and looked fairly new, but the 1 very thin cover was coloured brown with age and looked dirty. The overall cleanliness of the room was quite dirty. The door to the room and the door leading to the balcony do not seal, so don't expect any relief from the noisy street and bar below. We couldn't stay, so booked a room elsewhere, when we checked out (on the same day as checking in) the manager came down and started trying to argue with me about how new and great quality the furnishings were! I had to walk out with him still raving at me as I was leaving to get away from him! Terrible room, terrible service, way overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec_0686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This is a lovely traditional old hotel built in the 1800's with long wide verandahs on the top floor and a cute little beer garden out by the road side. The staff were friendly and helpful and I always saw the cleaner in the mornings changing the sheets and doing the bathrooms. However this is where the cuteness ends. I found our hotel room stuffy, hot and incredibly noisy! We stayed in room 26 which gets the sun all morning and most of the day, so this makes the room very hot indeed - there was no air-con only a ceiling fan which did very little to move air around the room. Our room has access to the lovely wide verandah but unfortunately it also looks over the Central Market and the Coles loading dock so at some ridiculous hour of the morning the trucks and fork lifts and vans start loading and unloading stock. The noise from all this commotion meant we had to shut the double doors to the verandah which made the room much hotter and stuffier!!! I thought an internal room away from the loading dock and the main 4 lane road out the front would have been better but i noticed that the internal rooms over-look another beer garden which plays loud music late at night!! I am usually fairly forgiving of hotels but i found that at the end of the day I was not looking forward to going back to the hot, noisy oven that was our room. Great location near the awesome Central Market (you must visit the market for delicious food) but i recommend staying somewhere else while in Adelaide.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 26 or any of the rooms that face the main 4 lane road out the front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koalakaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.7 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 57 in Adelaide
2,296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Franklin Central Apartments
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Metropolitan

Property: The Hotel Metropolitan
Address: 46 Grote St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Metropolitan 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Hotel Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing