We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good DIY BBQ.”
Review of The British Hotel

The British Hotel
Reserve with
The British Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #110 of 1,597 Restaurants in Adelaide
Price range: US$18 - US$22
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good DIY BBQ.”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We had visited this pub before on a visit to North Adelaide and remembered the great idea of DIY BBQ. We had a snack lunch one day and went back for dinner later. The landlord is very helpful and laid back, it's a good idea to cook the meat yourself then it's up to you. We both chose lamb back strap [that's lamb fillet to us in UK] it came with sliced potatoes and onions to cook. It was very good, the restaurant was very crowded because of the Ashes cricket but we were served efficiently. I would recommend this pub it's fun. The only problem is allowing smoking outside where folks are eating.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellearedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    64
    23
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best steak we've had in ages!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

The British Hotel is a great old pub in the leafy suburb of North Adelaide. The service is good, the staff are friendly, the food is fabulous! We had the steak as you can guess. You can choose from porterhouse, rump, scotch fillet and rib eye, all really thick cut, tender and very reasonably priced, under $30. The kitchen can cook it for you or you can stand around the grill, cook your own to your liking and have a beer and chat to your friends - family friendly place, the kids meals are huge. I highly recommend the British Hotel.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GDSPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“No frills, but delivers value”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

After work meal with 4 other colleagues. The small lounge and bar areas are cozy although unremarkable. A reasonable variety of beer is available on tap and the mid 40's + crowd looks local. A nice place for a quite drink, not the place to find the party.
The restaurant is cafe/courtyard style with wooden tables and canvas directors chairs, so comfortable enough. There's no table service - you want a drink, you have to go to the bar. When you want to order a meal you go to the kitchen hatch. A nice display of raw steaks will greet you there - the house specialty. For a few dollars less you can bbq your own on the facilities provided, although it was obviously not turned on when we ate there; a little early at 7pm perhaps?
There's an extensive wine list with a very good selection all the way through to some of the best local SA wines money can buy at a hotel pub.
We had 4 ribeye steaks and a Duck between us. Food was simple but well executed and reasonable value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaundiced_Eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good steaks”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Dropped in on a Tuesday night for a table of four. Three of us ordered the rib eye steaks while my daughter wanted the Chicken pie. Unfortunately the kitchen had run out of that as well as the chicken breast. Schnitzels were available at the bar but is a $4 surcharge to serve it at the seated area in the courtyard. Hmmm...
I ordered mine medium rare, which came out medium well done. The other ordered as medium came out medium rare. The pub was pretty busy for a Tuesday night, so maybe that was it.
The steak was tender, so I was happy to eat it. The rest of the table were happy with their meals as well.
Parking at this pub can be difficult so be prepared for a walk.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJules123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get it right for the price”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Booked a table for 3, one main came out, that person had nearly finished there's before the others came out, no excuse..paid $30.90 for 3 prawns ( not King prawns as described on the menu)..Shocking..a waitress explained that she had only started one hour ago? so that means we don't get good food.? Very disappointed in all. If you are going to charge the dollars at least give us what we pay for. Oh and I did ask what was going on and the young waitress had nothing to say. I felt it for her and said I was not directing at her. Management have a lot to answer for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJK968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The British Hotel also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The British Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing