We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Culshaw's Restaurant

Culshaw's Restaurant
Reserve with
Culshaw's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 1,609 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$27
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We found this restaurant by looking in the Adelaide Entertainment Book. Our meal was amazing and I was surprised to see the restaurant so quiet on a Friday evening. If our experience is anything to go by, then everyone in Adelaide should be eating here. I had the Hop, Snap and Swim, which includes kangaroo, crocodile, squid and barramundi. The wine we had was delicious and the server was attentive, full of knowledge, quick, chatty but not intrusive. I would definitely recommend eating at Culshaws.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snow_junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    30
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Expensive do-it-yourself breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Too few staff and too little choice. Clushaw's is cramped, tiny table closely packed. There are plenty of better breakfast options close by.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Something different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

This is the most innovative food I have eaten in a long time, using local ingredients, such as kangaroo and alligator, they create a delicious meal at a reasonable price. So good to have a hotel restaurant that offers more than the usual steaks burgers.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Maitch2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Australian Native Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Their menu is innovative and uses Australian Native Foods.

They source seasonal South Australian produce and Native Australian ingredients to create a modern Australian menu.
We both enjoyed their signature main course dish - Hop, Snap & Swim.
Beautifully cooked tasting plate of char grilled kangaroo fillet on a mini quandong chutney tartlet, native pepperberry skewered crocodile tail with bush tomato chutney and crusted NT barramundi fillet with calamari and served with a side salad of rocket and pear.
When the plate arrived, the waitress explained the ingredients on the plate and the order the chef recommended they be eaten.
One of the best meals I have ever eaten!
Will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Blueseas30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just off the beaten track”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Get yourself off Rundle Street and into Culshaw's. Honestly the best meal I've had in a long time, the service was exceptional, staff are very attentive, the food is delicious and the restaurant is a nice place to be. My only complaint is the background music was a little too background and you couldn't tell it was on most of the time. We can recommend the kangaroo, fish pie and hop, snap swim.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbyee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Culshaw's Restaurant also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Culshaw's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing