We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice afternoon with little effort required.”

Gray Line Adelaide Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$126.39*
and up
Barossa Valley with Hahndorf Tour from Adelaide
More Info
US$47.08*
and up
Adelaide City Tour with Optional River Cruise and Adelaide Zoo Admission
More Info
US$119.69*
and up
Murray River Riverboat Tour including Lunch from Adelaide
Ranked #28 of 91 Tours in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gray Line Adelaide is owned and operated by Grant & Patrice Burton. We are a small hands-on family business, proud to be a part of the largest sightseeing company on Planet Earth. Our tours include visits to many well-known destinations including the famous Barossa Valley, the River Murray and Kangaroo Island. We partner with some of the best sightseeing attraction operators in South Australia and we are pleased to offer the finest touring coaches. Our drivers will entertain and inform. You can find Gray Line throughout Australia and in over 150 destinations on six continents around the world. Gray Line.....Truly the local expert!
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This tour is expensive by comparison to others offered by the same company. It is however a lovely relaxed afternoon outing with little effort required. Hahndorf town is a great venue to visit.

2  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly D, Manager at Gray Line Adelaide Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed Hahndorf on the Adelaide Highlights tour. Gray Line prides itself being a name people can trust in Adelaide, Australia and around the world, for providing quality tours. This entails our staff, vehicles and the places/venues we visit

Kind regards Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 140 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2013

The only real negative was the lady at the airport who wanted us to book our trips with here, whereas at our hotel the same trips were 2 for the price of one. i.e. a 50% saving. Cheryl was a great tour guide. Thanks. And Mr McAvaney (Martyn I think) was also great. They both are assets to Grays. Just one note folks, may I suggest a little less at Hahndorf and a little longer at Mt Lofty on that afternoon tour

1  Thank AngeKenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly D, Manager at Gray Line Adelaide Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback! We will pass your compliments onto the staff mentioned - they will be wrapt!

Kind regards Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We'd been told we must do the Adelaide Hills, but we weren't going to hire a car, and the other tour on offer (in the travel agent's brochure) was almost $400 (compared to our $68 for this tour) so the choice was an easy one financially! We were on a large bus (24 seater?) which means you don't get to ask questions or interact with your driver as you would in smaller groups, and it was a little hard to hear the talk over the rattling bus.

This four-hour tour is a good one to do in your first day or two in Adelaide, to help point out various bits within the city bounds, then you travel up the hills, stopping for 15 minutes at the Mt Lofty obelisk to view the city expanse from this vantage point. Then it's back in the bus and onto Hahndorf, where you get two hours to wander along the shopping strip punctuated wi German-influenced eateries. I would have loved an extra hour in Hahndorf itself, as it would have meant more time to peruse the stores and a more relaxed afternoon tea instead of clock watching.

The 'extra' part of the package was either a beer tasting or afternoon tea at The Hahndorf Inn. My partner had the beer tasting - three kinds and about 140mls of each, all good. He then went on to choose a stein of one of their other beers not tasted! I chose the afternoon tea and had been hoping for something savoury, but you only get a choice of rich sweet cakes plus tea or coffee. We both would have preferred a cheaper tour price and no "freebie".

Overall not bad, but not outstanding, especially compared with our other tour experience so far, probably more due to it being less personal and pretty quick. Do this one as your warm-up to your other tours.

Note - pickup not at our hotel as arranged and noted on our paperwork, so very important you call and confirm the day before, otherwise we may have been left waiting!!

2  Thank phoenix555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly D, Manager at Gray Line Adelaide Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thank you for your feedback Phoenix555. We value and appreciate your comments .

We agree - the Adelaide Hills and Hahndorf are a must see when visiting Adelaide and a great way to (as you say) start off your time in Adelaide as a 'warm up' on your first day or 2. The name of our tour 'Adelaide Highlights' sums up the experience for the 4 hour afternoon tour - highlights of the city, Adelaide Hills and Hahndorf. There is only so much we can fit in this time frame and spend the appropriate amount of time at each destination.

I will pass your comments about the rattle in the coach onto the maintenance department to see if they can sort it out. A mini coach is 24 seats, so I would assume that it was a larger coach than this.

Kind regards Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Tour guide Gordon made the trip 5 star...the man is gracious, funny and knowledgeable. I would suggest that maybe morning tea could be ditched since lunch is so soon after...all that German bread at Lyndoch Bakery left little room of the lunch selection at Kaesler Vineyard. The food was okay, I selected the traditional German meat platter but there were other more common options as well. The highlight had to be Hahndorf, whistle stop but just enough time to select a handmade candle from Hahndorf Candlemakers from the amazing Christmas display. Another tempting shop was Fantassel, a stunning array of handmade work from a very talented lady.
Bonus part of the trip was stopping on the road on the way home and watching the koalas feeding in the trees. A beautiful afternoon.
Pick up and delivery. Ask the concierge when booking to request an airline discount.

3  Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

Paid $137 pp for the barossa full day. Due to numbers, got combined with another tour operator. Turned out it is exactly the same tour run by pretty much all other tour companies! The difference? The food! U get supposedly better food
Plus dodgy cake and coffee or tea for breakfast ! Not worth it. Don't be ripped off like we were! Other operators charge $55-99

Thank Manic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly D, Manager at Gray Line Adelaide Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

We are disappointed to hear you did not feel you received value for your money on Gray Line's Grand Barossa Tour.

Gray Line operates our own signature tour to the Barossa every day in our own coach as our itinerary is different and supreme to our competitors with everything included (no hidden extras). There is another tour operator that sometimes puts their people on our coach which may be who you are referring to, but this is ad hoc, so booking with a cheaper operator is a risk you take where you may not receive the quality, safety, service and value adds as you do with Gray Line.

We have a morning tea stop at Lyndoch Bakery - not breakfast - where we offer complimentary coffee or tea and a German sampler plate of sweet treats. It is designed as a morning tea snack, not enough for breakfast, so no doubt you would have still been hungry if you were hoping for a filling breakfast!

We hope you would consider travelling with Gray Line again as we aim to offer the best possible tour and service available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gray Line Adelaide Day Tours also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Gray Line Adelaide Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing