We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Press* Food & Wine

Press* Food & Wine
Reserve with
Press* Food & Wine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,612 Restaurants in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

My colleague found this place in TripAdvisor and decided that we should check it out together. We both had the same thing and it was simply marvellous. We had the Roasted Pork Bun for $9.50 and Steak Frites with Béarnaise sauce at for $34. We unfortunately could not legally indulge ourself with a glass of wine because we were due to operate some heavy machinery on that very evening itself. I can't wait to come back to Adelaide and go straight to the Press.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    186
    58
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Got a great recommendation to eat here. Good, service and atmosphere was great! We had a degustation menu, which included 3 entrees, 2 small plates, 2 main meals and a salad plus a desert. A big meal. We had a great time! Will come again when in Adelaide.

Helpful?
1 Thank Julez3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food but where was the SA cheese?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food at the press, very busy so a booking is recommended. We managed to squeeze in at their long shared dining tables. A choice of small & larger plates. We opted for the shared plates & thoroughly enjoyed all three dishes. Wine list was extensive but expensive. Service was excellent but dropped off after we finished our meal. We had to ask for dessert menu & no one over came to take our order. Was disappointed to find that there were no SA Cheeses on the dessert menu, only imports. Why are they not celebrating their own local produce? ( they do through the main menu) don't understand this. Happens in NSW restaurants as well?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chessy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lively casual nighttime restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great evening in a lovely relaxed environment . Plenty of buzz and atmosphere. Our group ate at high refractory tables shared community style. Food was straightforward, quick and well presented but fairly conventional. Wine list was very strong with higher pricing reflecting carefully selected quality. We look forward to returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clj03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Is popular.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was a quick bite before a show with my wife. Very busy for a Tuesday night and the service reflected this. Waited 35 mins between the first course which were sensational pork buns and the remainder of the food. The food was quality and well presented just not much of it for the price. Wine by the glass started at $10 and went up from there. For the price they dont get the mix right between style, substance and service.
After leaving I find that they charged (albeit only $1.00- but its the principle) for bread that was placed on our table. Can a restaurant be self-important?
Not an average rating but not very good either.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TulltheTraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Press* Food & Wine also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Press* Food & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing