We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch and dinner”
Review of Cafe Piatto

Cafe Piatto
Ranked #517 of 1,634 Restaurants in Adelaide
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Pool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good lunch and dinner”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

For a busy street with expensive places to eat, cafe piatto hit it right in the middle. Good food, good portions, efficient service, nice wine. Not somewhere for a special occasion but perfectly good for filling you up with nice food. WiFi inside too.

Helpful?
Thank Betnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    47
    17
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Decided to try something different to our normal restaurant and chose this place after walking up and down rundle st looking at menus. We decided to sit outside despite the cold night but it was still reasonable out there. Waiter was pleasant and was happy to give us more time looking over the menu. Soft drinks were brought out as a glass filled with ice and a can. A lot of places are doing this now but personally I don’t like it. We ordered a starter between us. Wood oven bread with balsamic vinegar and olive oil. It was more than enough for 2 you could even get away with ordering 1 for 4 people. Would have preferred for the vinegar and oil to be in a shallower bowl so you could dip the bread rather the dunk, but that’s just a personal preference.

I ordered a Chicken Parmigiana and husband ordered Beef Schnitzel with mushroom sauce. Both were large and well cooked. Hubby was delighted that his mushroom sauce was the creamy kind not the gravy with a few mushrooms in it that some places serve up. Both meals came out with chips and a little bit of lettuce. Lettuce could have been fresher and more of a salad with cucumber or carrot then simply a few leaves. But again that’s just me being picky and my personal preference. Food tasted great with lots of flavour and that’s the most important thing. Cost for a dinner for two people was quite reasonably and will be coming back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Firefly_Nelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Worst Dining Experience In Adelaide... Ever”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our First and Last Ever visit to this Cafe. After we found our way to our own seats, we were wondering if there was any staff on at all that night, 10 minutes later we were thrown menus. (Really should have left at this stage) the four of us ordered our meals and drinks, Wrong drinks were given to 2 people. This was rectified. The meals came out in a timely fashion but was without doubt the worst meal I have ever had in Rundle Street.
The steak was well over cooked and the potato mash was the worst ever presented in the southern hemisphere.
I dine in this area around 4 days a fortnight and would NEVER recommend this place to anybody. Service and Quality Food is not found in this Cafe

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Popular street side Italian Cafe”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

After a long day and a decent lunch we fell into Piatto's cafe.
Food was OK, no problems. Portions were huge. Our shared starter would have fed 4 people as a starter.
Service was 'unsophisticated'. Servers were pleasant, keen and eager to serve. Just did not seem to have been trained to do the job. For example, our main course arrived before we had got anywhere near finishing, on, our starter. or giving up.
On the other hand, it was not very expensive, so...you pays your money..... ( British idiom)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LlewllynBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice and well served food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was there couple of days ago for dinner, staff was very kind and helpful. We ordered some garlic bread for starters and it was simple and really tasty, fresh bread! For main we tried the lamb that was also amazingly cooked and served 2 people really well. They also had a good selection of good wine!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank simagagnini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Piatto also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Cafe Piatto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing