We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel, new decor and central....”
Review of Adelaide Rockford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adelaide Rockford
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Nice welcoming staff, a car park underneath and bang in the middle of town - a pretty good recipe. We upsized to a king room, it was great in spite of facing the road (not really noisy). Bar quiet but nice, with a fire and half price drinks during happy hour. Swimming pool closed til further notice which would have been good to know in advance.

Room Tip: In the King room, the light in the mini bar fridge can be switched off just inside it's door! O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jabber23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

Great motel, rooms were over all pretty good, the bathroom left a bit to be desired cleanliness wise but other wise bed was great, facilities in general pretty good etc.

Let downs, depending on the nature of your visit and sleep patterns the location is not idea (Hindley street is the night life center of Adelaide, bit seedy at the best of times and VERY noisy on weekends).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottSqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne
63
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Very Nice Hotel, close to the CBD. Great food and the room was nice and big. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was modern. Will definatley stay here again while in Adelaide. The only real downside was that my room was close to traffic which led to some noise, but you're going to get that when you stay near the city.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The Good
I found the booking process quite easy and friendly. I arrived very early and was given a room immediately, which was great.

The Bad
I had specifically requested a quiet room as I was staying the night prior to my exams. However, my room overlooked the main street and I could hear the bass booming from the nightclub across the road until 4am. The hotel also appears to be situated in Adelaide's red light district, which made me reluctant to venture out after dark, especially as I was travelling as a single female.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auspoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here for a week on business. The room was modern, spacious and comfortable and a great comfortable bed! We stayed in a junior suite and it was perfect for a couple on business. There's a nice restaurant and bar area with a small outdoor area to drink which faces the front of the hotel. My only criticism is that the hotel faces onto Hindley st, which is the major hub for bars and clubs on Friday and Saturday night. Although quiet through the week the noise on Friday & Sat night was difficult for my business colleagues who had to work over the weekend, they all stayed on the Hindley st side of the hotel. To avoid the weekend noise ask to be placed in a room facing the back of the hotel and you won't hear a thing. When I was there the rooftop pool was being closed for maintenance so can't comment on that area. A great touch was there were washing machines and dryers on each floor for use (fee required) but a plus is your travelling. The location is good a little out of the shopping district however a free tram is 2-3 stops to the mall or the Entertainment centre 9if your seeing a show there) Also a 5 minute cab to the main street with upmarket restaurants. Would definately stay here again, especially for leisure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back of the hotel - not facing Hindley street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Great value, great location, clean comfortably rooms,helpful staff, I pad in the room wow just Loved it and we'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papayamkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I stayed in the Rockford because it was the only place I could get a room during the Adelaide Festival (which I wasn’t in town for).

The hotel really wasn’t that good. The first room I was offered looked like it was meant to be a suite. It had a pretty unpleasant looking Jacuzzi bathtub actually in the bedroom! And it was just somewhere I didn’t want to spend any time. I called down and asked for another room but it took so long for anyone to respond, I actually started phoning other hotels – without success.

The next room I got was fine. If I’d had that in the first place, and the price was sensible, I’d have been happy. It wasn’t a great room but it was clean and modern enough. Biggest downside was that it had a balcony with sliding doors that wouldn’t quite close. So I got woken up very early by what I assume was trash collection.

Service is pretty minimal in this hotel. I called to get laundry collected, and was told I had to drop it off at the front desk myself. And when I came back from work, I really didn’t think my room had been serviced. A closer look showed that it had but it was a pretty minimal effort.

The place seems to be run on shoestring, with the front desk staff doing everything – including bringing back my laundry. In fairness to the team on the Front Desk, they were very helpful and very friendly. There are no door staff, so you’ll need to carry your own bags.

One nice point was that there was an iPad in my second room with free Internet.

This hotel would be reasonable at the right price, but two nights with just room and laundry cost me AU$664! Now I paid that because there was nowhere else to stay, but I feel exploited, and that doesn’t exactly make me want rush to book other Accor properties.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#22 of 56 in Adelaide
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 56 in Adelaide
3,557 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 56 in Adelaide
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Rockford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Rockford

Address: 164 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £67 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelaide Rockford 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique style hotel in Adelaide is a non smoking 4 star accommodation that provides the highest level of guest comfort and quality with spacious, modern contemporary style rooms. Guest rooms consist of Standard Queen rooms, Superior King rooms, Deluxe King rooms, Superior King suites with spa baths, plus Deluxe King suites with kitchenettes. Hotel facilities include state of the art conference and function services, an exquisite restaurant, relaxing lounge bar and health facilities including the roof top pool that captures panoramic views of the cityscape. Spice Market Bar & Restaurant located on the ground floor offers an extensive a la carte dinner menu infused with stunning spices. A tapestry of taste complimented by the finest selection of wines sourced locally. Relax by the eco-friendly fire place during winter with quality food, great wines and vibrant cityscape views. Located in the vibrant Art's precinct of the city's bustling West End, the Adelaide Rockford is centrally located to all of Adelaide's major attractions including the Convention Centre, Casino, shopping mall, museums and galleries, Adelaide Oval and education establishments. Adelaide Rockford is conveniently situated only 5km from the Adelaide Airport and 1.5Km from the interstate train terminal and is in close proximity to local golf courses, parks and public transport services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelaide Rockford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Rockford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing