We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a GREAT PLACE - please read on.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Adelaide Rockford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adelaide Rockford
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This is a GREAT PLACE - please read on.....”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed here on business this week for three nights after finding a great deal on Wotif.com. Location was very handy to all local needs and unusually roomy parking was in house for $15/night, which is very reasonable for Adelaide. Welcoming reception staff on hand and even offered me free membership to the Rockford Corporate Club- smart move once they heard I'm frequently in town on business.The room was outstanding with almost every conceivable need on hand, even an Ipad with free wifi and a large wall mounted lcd tv. The king size bed was huge and very comfy. Nice supportive pillows and "gentle on the eyes" flouro spot lights on the bed head was a smart idea for those that like to do laptop work in bed. The bathroom was well laid out and the shower was A1. I have to make make mention of the toilet seat and the fact it slowly lowers itself (had me fascinated). Due to a very long day, I ordered room service on the first night and had the entree serves of 1) Lemon grass peppered squid with mango and 2) Roasted field mushroom with caramelized onion and truffle sauce. Guys, these two filling meals were simply MAGNIFICENT and I regret not taking photos for the Trip Advisor Family- I'd go back just for these meals again!! FYI- I'm in the food packaging industry, so I'd like to think I know a smart chef when i see one and folks, there is one here.Breakfast was included in the deal and it was a good offering, but could have used more fresh fruit on offer and not full sized carrots?? I've stayed in many hotels over the years in my line of work and this establishment is one of the best and yes I'm happy to use this address as my "office" whilst in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the nearby nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    411
    185
    58
    24
See reviews for
102
345
101
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The room was great for the family. Everything was very clean and good value. The bathroom and space were reasonable.The breakfast was delicious . However the car park was difficult to park the car. The staff were very friendy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The Good:
Nice room (king suit), central location.
the bad
Loud musics from clubs during weekend nights (starts from Friday night), daily room cleaning poor, breakfast buffet is simple and same every day, sofa in leaving room not comfortable, internet connection required daily password.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yigal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is a really lovely hotel, the rooms are large with modern facilities, restaurant excellent. Its only drawback is its location in the red light area, but its is not a dangerous or threatening area, just a few strip clubs nearby. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coltay47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We have struggled over the years to find a really good hotel at a reasonable price for trips to our home town. This one ticks all the boxes - well appointed rooms, double glazing to keep the noise to a minimum, fabulous room service, comfortable beds, free wi fi and really excellent service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibbyDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Good service & room. Excellent shower. Poor air-conditioning. Very noisy.....difficult to sleep with all the noise from Hindley St.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RipleyAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

At booking I requested parking which they knew nothing of including the included breakfast which I had to go through several phone calls and explanations of their OWN website to inform them of their OWN online specials which front desk and online booking staff knew nothing about.
EXTREMELY disappointed as I informed them it was for my wedding night at booking as well, glad I had the foresight to ring and double check things
Corridors had a terrible odour
For a "newly renovated rooms" claim it must have been in the 80's as badly rubbed furniture and chattels throughout the suite
Pubic hairs in the spa
Spilt milk and split long life milk container in the bar fridge, fresh milk supplied quickly
air conditioner did not cool
Breakfast was closed 20 mins early without warning and items weren't restocked when we arrived at 15 mins past 9 and breakfast was supposed to be until 10 am so they could prepare for an evening event

Room Tip: Ask to preview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2travell3rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion C, Front Office Manager at Adelaide Rockford, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Rockford Hotel Adelaide.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Accor, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I can reassure you your feedback has been followed up with the front desk and housekeeping teams and with the individual staff concerned and existing procedures have been re-instated.

The newly renovated rooms are our Superior King rooms, should you visit Adelaide again in the near future I urge you to contact me directly so i can ensure your visit is enjoyable and of the highest standard and the Superior King room is allocated for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#7 of 57 in Adelaide
1,570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#25 of 57 in Adelaide
429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#12 of 57 in Adelaide
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Rockford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Rockford

Property: Adelaide Rockford
Address: 164 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#21 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelaide Rockford 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique style hotel in Adelaide is a non smoking 4 star accommodation that provides the highest level of guest comfort and quality with spacious, modern contemporary style rooms. Guest rooms consist of Standard Queen rooms, Superior King rooms, Deluxe King rooms, Superior King suites with spa baths, plus Deluxe King suites with kitchenettes. Hotel facilities include state of the art conference and function services, an exquisite restaurant, relaxing lounge bar and health facilities including the roof top pool that captures panoramic views of the cityscape. Spice Market Bar & Restaurant located on the ground floor offers an extensive a la carte dinner menu infused with stunning spices. A tapestry of taste complimented by the finest selection of wines sourced locally. Relax by the eco-friendly fire place during winter with quality food, great wines and vibrant cityscape views. Located in the vibrant Art's precinct of the city's bustling West End, the Adelaide Rockford is centrally located to all of Adelaide's major attractions including the Convention Centre, Casino, shopping mall, museums and galleries, Adelaide Oval and education establishments. Adelaide Rockford is conveniently situated only 5km from the Adelaide Airport and 1.5Km from the interstate train terminal and is in close proximity to local golf courses, parks and public transport services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adelaide Rockford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Rockford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing