We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Adelaide Rockford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adelaide Rockford
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Reviewed 22 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank nozndaneo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Vincent G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I was in Adelaide for one night only, and booked Rockford through the Accors Hotel website. I am very impressed with the size of the room, the bed, space from bed to TV, and bathroom, basically I was very happy. It is situated on Hindley Street, and was easy to access what I needed during my time there. I also had a hire car at the time, and although it is very tight and tricky to get into their undercover parking, it was better than parking off-street. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights including both Friday and Saturday nights. We had a large room on the second floor in a back corner of the hotel that overlooked Montefiore Road and the building site of the Adelaide Convention Centre. Hotel's location would be great apart from the fact that Hindley Street has a significant number of pubs/nightclubs that appear to stay open 24 hours which means that you have to walk past/through some pretty unsavoury places and individuals to get to some of the sights no matter what the time of day (although this might be an attraction for some). We saw 3 police cars and over a dozen police arresting a group of individuals outside a pub at 8-30am on Sunday morning. We were also kept awake on Friday night until about 2-30am by crowds entering and exiting a night venue less than 50 metres away. Saturday night was only slightly better. Other than this the hotel is close to the Art Gallery, Museum, Adelaide Oval, the Botanical Gardens and Rundle Street Mall amongst other sights.

Hotel had only one small elevator which might be an issue on a higher floor.

Room had a king sized bed, two bedside tables with lamps, a table and two chairs, desk (with an I-Pad) and another chair, wardrobe and large screen TV (which also was equipped with Apple TV) and a minbar. Wifi was free and worked well although you had to get a new password every 24 hours. There was no safe. Room was reasonably clean.

Bathroom was reasonably large, as was the shower (good pressure) which you stepped up into to enter. There was no bath. Washbasin was not large and there was limited space on it (and no cupboard underneath) to store toiletries' bags.

Breakfast buffet was fine with usual array of hot and cold fare, although cereal selection was limited.

Staff at check-in and check-out were fine. There was also a guest laundry on the second floor.

Only other issue was getting taxis. There is a great deal of construction and road maintenance going on in Adelaide and more particularly in Hindley Street just outside the Hotel such that traffic travels in only one direction.

Room Tip: Higher up - away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Visitor951
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 November 2013

What a great Boutique Hotel! It was clean and the bed was comfortable!! The staff were lovely ... The Scottish lady made the BEST coffee in the morning!! it was a great location close to everything!! Definately will be back!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 mi away
Chancellor on Currie
Chancellor on Currie
#17 of 55 in Adelaide
797 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 55 in Adelaide
1,418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#19 of 55 in Adelaide
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 55 in Adelaide
3,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Rockford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Rockford

Address: 164 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#20 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £63 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelaide Rockford 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique style hotel in Adelaide is a non smoking 4 star accommodation that provides the highest level of guest comfort and quality with spacious, modern contemporary style rooms. Guest rooms consist of Standard Queen rooms, Superior King rooms, Deluxe King rooms, Superior King suites with spa baths, plus Deluxe King suites with kitchenettes. Hotel facilities include state of the art conference and function services, an exquisite restaurant, relaxing lounge bar and health facilities including the roof top pool that captures panoramic views of the cityscape. Spice Market Bar & Restaurant located on the ground floor offers an extensive a la carte dinner menu infused with stunning spices. A tapestry of taste complimented by the finest selection of wines sourced locally. Relax by the eco-friendly fire place during winter with quality food, great wines and vibrant cityscape views. Located in the vibrant Art's precinct of the city's bustling West End, the Adelaide Rockford is centrally located to all of Adelaide's major attractions including the Convention Centre, Casino, shopping mall, museums and galleries, Adelaide Oval and education establishments. Adelaide Rockford is conveniently situated only 5km from the Adelaide Airport and 1.5Km from the interstate train terminal and is in close proximity to local golf courses, parks and public transport services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Adelaide Rockford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Rockford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing