We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and a great location too!”
Review of Adelaide Rockford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Adelaide Rockford
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great value for money and a great location too!”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

There is no doubt that this hotel needs a bit of a lift up but the rooms are great and it's location allows you to walk around Adelaide easily. Bed, bath, tv - all 5 stars quality so you will need to close your eyes as you check in, get into the old lift and go straight to your room.

Room Tip: Add $10 a night and upgrade to the superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    417
    187
    59
    25
See reviews for
103
358
101
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

In short. We will NEVER stay here again and will be informing our friends not to.

CHECKING IN: Staff member appeared to want to be anywhere else but where she was. She did not explain the hotels services, location or that we had a food and drink credit on our room. I had to asked if we had a late checkout as part of our deal. However, in the end we just wanted to checkout ASAP.

ROOMS: Disgusting. I have uploaded photos to show the vomit inducing stains on the bed sheets. The seal broken on the toiletries. We got to our room late that night and reluctantly got into bed to sleep as we did not want to wait for late night reception to resolve. This hotel is poorly maintained and little effort is put into cleaning. The air conditioner was crap. The front door would only click locked if pulled hard after closing. The door to the 'balcony' wouldn't only open a few inches after using all my body weight to get it open. To close the door was a struggle and the door would not close enough the lock. Add these security issues to the fact that it is not in the nicest part of Adelaide made for a worrying sleep. The blue LED light in the bar fridge is extremely tacky but does fit in nicely with the strip club across the road. It light is seen when closed making for a very annoying night light.

The shower was good.

BREAKFAST: Again. Disgusting. We were not told what time breakfast finished at checkin. When going to breakfast we were told it had closed but we could grab a plate before it was packed away. I doubt that it was only because we were late but the food was horrible. Eggs were watery, bacon yuck. I wasn't going to touch the fruit. The milk wasn't labeled so who knows what was what. Whilst we were still eating the empty dining room was being packed up by the manager. She still had other table to clean up but found it a priority to keep asking if we had finished.

Toast was good. I did toast it myself.

I didn't even bother complaining. I could see that my concerns are very similar to so many other prior guests and it appears that little attempt has been made to resolve these issues.

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank AQuinlan38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion C, Manager at Adelaide Rockford, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay.
We regret any customer leaving the hotel feeling their expectations have not been met.

It is disappointing to read about the unwelcome arrival you experienced as our front office team are usually highly praised and commended for the standard of service they provide.
It is extremely regrettable you have had and conveyed an experience which is in contrast.

I was equally sorry to read the team member neglected to communicate the operating times of our restaurant services, this is part of the arrival procedure and the team will be refreshed and alerted to your experience;
whilst this does not change your experience, we can minimise your circumstance being repeated for future guests.

I have investigated your feedback regarding the cleanliness of the room and can fully appreciate your disappointment experienced during your visit.
The hotel utilizes check lists to ensure all areas within the room are cleaned to our 4.5 star standards. I can offer no excuse as to why the room attendant failed to adhere to existing policies and will ensure the team member receives refresh training to reinstate standards.

In the absence of a team member providing our guests with a personal explanation of all of our services and facilities including trading times of our restaurant, all rooms provide a directory, listing guest services. We also welcome guests asking our staff questions; they are on hand to respond and provide a friendly and faster response to written documentation.

During hours of breakfast service our buffet is replenished regularly to maintain quantity and quality and during service all products display signage.
Having arrived after breakfast hours have ceased it is regrettable the staff member did not offer you the option of “cooked to order” as a solution.
Our staff have been known to offer later arrivals complimentary breakfast whilst clearing the buffet as the items are thrown away - your feedback has highlighted this procedure is not recommended as it appears we have inadvertently portrayed a sub standard product.
Upon reading and responding to your feedback this practice will cease forthwith to ensure we are not misrepresenting our standards.

Your comments regarding the balcony door seals of room 315 has been forwarded to our maintenance engineer to inspect and rectify, the framework of balcony doors are from original construction and currently under review with quotes being sourced for replacement.

We encourage our guests make us aware of an issue as soon as it arises to provide us with the opportunity to respond and rectify swiftly to minimise the inconvenience and disruption to the remainder of the stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is a very good hotel with possibly the best front desk we have encountered. V seems to spend most of his life on duty and is a mine of information.
Spacious rooms, kept very clean. Great breakfast selection, restaurant has a good menu for dinner but watch out that it is closed on Sunday evening.
Hindley st does not have a good reputation amongst the locals but don't be put off by that. The hotel is very good and the location is fine.
Would recommend

Room Tip: Only stayed in one on the first floor and that was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas44_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion C, Manager at Adelaide Rockford, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us at Rockford Adelaide.

We welcome and thank you for your positive feedback. Please be assured that we have passed on your kind words and praise with our team and individual staff concerned. Rockford Hotels value all guest feedback with paramount importance and the comments are shared with our staff and managers alike.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rockford Adelaide in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stawell, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Desk staff were outstanding. Busy time with cricket, cycling and fireworks on. Room was comfortably refurbished - good job. Rooftop pool was nice, but could do with refurbishment. Parking Limited/ book early at busy times.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Hotel was recommended by someone I knew when we were looking to travel to Adelaide to support our football team. A few observations:

- Good location, close proximity to city without being right in it. Hindley St location did not bother me. Was also a ~3-4km walk to Hindmarsh Stadium where we needed to go so worked out perfectly.

- King room we paid for included breakfast. Room was clean and spacious on 1st floor.

- Food: breakfast was standard Aussie brekky fare, I thought it was great that the included breakfast had hot food at no extra cost. Ordered dinner room service twice as my husband got sick and we couldn't go out to restaurants to eat. Decent food, abit pricey for what you get though.

- Rooftop pool: brilliant! We arrived on the day Adelaide was declared the hottest city in the world. The pool was a godsend! It was clean, good view of the city and had deck chairs to laze on. Only gripe here was that there was meant to be pool towels provided so we didn't bring our own, but the towels had all been used up and nobody came to top up that supply.

- Service: Room service was delivered on time, and delivery staff friendly. Receptionists didn't leave much of an impression on check-in/out.

Overall, for the price we paid I thought this was fantastic. Will be staying again next time we are in Adelaide

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blurbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#25 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Rockford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Rockford

Property: Adelaide Rockford
Address: 164 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#21 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelaide Rockford 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique style hotel in Adelaide is a non smoking 4 star accommodation that provides the highest level of guest comfort and quality with spacious, modern contemporary style rooms. Guest rooms consist of Standard Queen rooms, Superior King rooms, Deluxe King rooms, Superior King suites with spa baths, plus Deluxe King suites with kitchenettes. Hotel facilities include state of the art conference and function services, an exquisite restaurant, relaxing lounge bar and health facilities including the roof top pool that captures panoramic views of the cityscape. Spice Market Bar & Restaurant located on the ground floor offers an extensive a la carte dinner menu infused with stunning spices. A tapestry of taste complimented by the finest selection of wines sourced locally. Relax by the eco-friendly fire place during winter with quality food, great wines and vibrant cityscape views. Located in the vibrant Art's precinct of the city's bustling West End, the Adelaide Rockford is centrally located to all of Adelaide's major attractions including the Convention Centre, Casino, shopping mall, museums and galleries, Adelaide Oval and education establishments. Adelaide Rockford is conveniently situated only 5km from the Adelaide Airport and 1.5Km from the interstate train terminal and is in close proximity to local golf courses, parks and public transport services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Adelaide Rockford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Rockford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing