We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be Deceiving”
Review of Adelaide Rockford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adelaide Rockford
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Devonport, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looks can be Deceiving”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We were a little concerned when we pulled up at the hotel but what a nice surprise when we entered. The lobby was spacious and very clean. We were upgraded to a Deluxe King room as we were staying for 6 nights which was lovely & was located at the back of the hotel. This room was very spacious & well designed, the bed very comfortable & the bathroom was quite large although we did find it strange that there were no hooks in there. The TV was a good size. We had a wonderful breakfast each morning which had lots to choose from. We didn't go swimming but the pool area looked very nice. The location was good.The staff were all very friendly & helpful. The only thing that we found wrong was that we couldn't open the sliding door to our room & it still hadn't been fixed when departed but apart from that we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry and Jacki... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    421
    189
    60
    25
See reviews for
103
362
103
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kalkara, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed in the Rockford from 4th December for a week or so to watch The Ashes.

Rooms were very large - a bit of a mini suite with a very large open bathroom and separate shower. Passageways in the hotel were dark and dingy but the public areas on the ground floor and the pool on the top were good.

Breakfast was uninspiring and we gave up after the first couple of days and ate elsewhere despite having paid for breakfast at The Rckford.

I didn't like the location. Though it was convenient, it seemed a bit like a red light district and I certainly wouldn't have wandered around late on my own.

Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 724jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Could be a great hotel if it was not opposite a very loud drum n bass club that plays until 3am. Front desk seem genuinely surprised that this could be an issue. Avoid at all costs. Also stupid that Tripadvisor won't let you submit a concise negative review. This place does not warrant a long review!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ETC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

If you're heading to Adelaide you can't go wrong with the Rockford.
Situated at the end of Hindley St, it is a stones-throw from bars and restaurants. The city loop free bus stops just outside the hotel enterance and the tram to Glenelg and surrounds is just one block away.

This seems to be a fairly new member of the Accor family. As Accor members there were a few little niggles - chipped paintwork, very out of date lift, older furniture in the rooms - but these were overcome by the generous size of the bedrooms, the attentive staff, comfortable beds and the awesome roof-top pool and deck area.

We didn't dine at the hotel so can't make mention of that - but there is no shortage of places to eat close by.

It's a great place for the money and location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cakeybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Spent two nights at the Rockford. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The room was large with a huge comfortable bed. Good bathroom, just a bit tiny. Breakfast was buffet style and very good.Good pool but very shallow, but nice for a dip to cooldown.
This hotel was very good value for money and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion C, Front Office Manager at Adelaide Rockford, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Rockford Hotel Adelaide. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just a quick overnight stay in Adelaide at this hotel was not long enough to enjoy all the room had to offer. I was upgraded with my Accor membership and was surprised by the excellent modern décor of the room. Large bathroom with a high pressure shower. Big TV and very comfortable bed. Will definitely be back. Had a quick meal at the restaurant and was very spicy!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JodieG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Horizons
Oaks Horizons
#25 of 57 in Adelaide
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
0.2 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.6 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Rockford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Rockford

Property: Adelaide Rockford
Address: 164 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#21 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adelaide Rockford 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique style hotel in Adelaide is a non smoking 4 star accommodation that provides the highest level of guest comfort and quality with spacious, modern contemporary style rooms. Guest rooms consist of Standard Queen rooms, Superior King rooms, Deluxe King rooms, Superior King suites with spa baths, plus Deluxe King suites with kitchenettes. Hotel facilities include state of the art conference and function services, an exquisite restaurant, relaxing lounge bar and health facilities including the roof top pool that captures panoramic views of the cityscape. Spice Market Bar & Restaurant located on the ground floor offers an extensive a la carte dinner menu infused with stunning spices. A tapestry of taste complimented by the finest selection of wines sourced locally. Relax by the eco-friendly fire place during winter with quality food, great wines and vibrant cityscape views. Located in the vibrant Art's precinct of the city's bustling West End, the Adelaide Rockford is centrally located to all of Adelaide's major attractions including the Convention Centre, Casino, shopping mall, museums and galleries, Adelaide Oval and education establishments. Adelaide Rockford is conveniently situated only 5km from the Adelaide Airport and 1.5Km from the interstate train terminal and is in close proximity to local golf courses, parks and public transport services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Adelaide Rockford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Rockford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing