We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated”
Review of Hilton Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Thought I'd check out the Adelaide Hilton as I've stayed at most other Australian Hilton's, this one was a bit disappointing . The hotel is very dated and the room fit out is in line with hotels from 1990 and not the likes of Hilton Sydney or Melbourne.

The TV was tiny and didn't have all the cable TV options,the bath tub was so small you have to bend your knees when sitting in it.
The King bed was ok but very firm, I had a room on the top floor 18 with a nice view of the Adelaide Hills, location is good with the tram stop at the front of the hotel.

I think you could do better in Adelaide as there are a number of new hotels that are comparable in price

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank AvHoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear AvHoche,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide.

I was pleased that you found the location of the hotel to be convenient with the tram stop at the front of the hotel.

I did note your comments in regards to the décor in the rooms. I am pleased to say we are currently upgrading all the guest areas of the hotel including rooms in a more modern style with our most current project of the exciting new bar in the Lobby area coming to a finish and opening soon.

I hope I will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,812 - 1,818 of 2,357 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

This was my second stay at the Hilton Adelaide. Check in was easy and the reception and concierge staff were helpful and very courteous. Was given an upgrade to a larger room which was nice. The room was large and clean, though the bathroom was a little small. The toiletries however were very good. Bed was comfortable, thought the pillows werent completely to my liking.
Buffet breakfast was included in my room rate. Made to order eggs were very good, and there was otherwise a nice selection of fruit, cereal, juices and hot and cold options.
The location is convenient, just around the corner from china town which has lots of eating places which open till late. Also a short walk to the rest of the city.
Ate dinner at the restaurant one night, was not disappointed, fresh and tasty food. Overall had another great stay, look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bas17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear bas17,

Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide.

I was pleased that you found your stay enjoyable and you were happy with the service and the upgrade you received.

We are currently rolling out 2 extra pillows to each room which is now a Hilton standard and a pillow menu is also available in your room which can be requested through Housekeeping.

Our Chefs do a great job creating an appetising buffet in the Brasserie Restaurant for breakfast and a selection of fine dishes in the evening for dinner and I am glad you were able to experience this.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This hotel impressed me immensely. I read some of the reviews and was not expecting anything special but it made our stay in Adelaide wonderful. First there was the staff. So friendly and welcoming especially in the Executive Lounge. The check in clerk at the front desk was the only exception who was curt and not very welcoming. The room was very pleasant and the bedding very comfortable. The Executive Lounge was really special with very nice spreads for breakfast and evening drinks. Some of the best I have seen from other hotels with lounges. The hotel is centrally located and is right next to Chinatown and the Central Market. We stayed for 4 nights and loved it.

Room Tip: High floor and one of the Executive Floors with access to the lounge. It may cost more but will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Dear n001,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are fortunate to be in a prime location close to Chinatown and the Central Market. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you found the team to be friendly and welcoming especially from the Executive Lounge however I apologise for the curt response from the front desk team member.

I am pleased that you were happy with your room and amenities and you enjoyed the services provided in the Executive Lounge.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Went for a weekend conference. Front desk staff do not explain facilities like they do elsewhere, had to ask and ask about breakfast times, gym, spa etc. The room is a little dated and worn, the bathroom small in a standard guest room. The bathroom had an empty pepsi bottle underneath the sink and there were foundation make up marks on the sink. Breakfast was average.

Good location, easy access to taxis. Good toiletries (peter thomas roth) and comfortable king bed, but unfortunately not up to the standard of the rest of the Hilton chain around the world. Would try elsewhere next time I'm in Adelaide.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Dear Foomi,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide.

I was pleased that you found the location of the hotel suitable with access to taxi’s conveniently at our doorstep. We are fortunate to be situated close to many popular restaurants and the central market and in close proximity to the central business district.

I was however disappointed to read of the shortfalls in service that you received during your stay. Please rest assured this is not the service we strive to achieve and these points will be followed up with my Management team to ensure the finer details are delivered to our valued guests.

We are in the process of updating all our guest areas with the completion of the new bar in the Lobby area coming soon.

I hope you will allow me the opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future to enjoy the upgraded facilities.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel last week for 4 nights. Our room was fantastic. Very comfortable beds and desk and chairs. The only thing I would say is that they really need to update the standard of the bedding. Both single beds had a single duvet on them but in a double cover so it was not that comfortable as the duvet kept sliding around. All the staff at the hotel are extremely professional and efficient. Would certainly stay here again when I come to Adelaide.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ausbabe44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Dear ausbabe44,

Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your comments in regards to the professional and efficient service you received from the team.

I do note your comments in regards to the bedding which I will discuss with the Executive Housekeeper to ensure this is addressed with her team to prevent a recurrence.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stayed a couple of times last week. Located in a great part of town near Gouger St and the Central Markets this hotel is exactly where you want to be in Adelaide. I have been to others in the north and really don't like the area there at all.

Nice modern freshly renovated rooms - i stayed in a deluxe, but saw little difference from the standard rooms. Very clean and smart, but with inconsistencies in housekeeping (bed not made properly first stay with no top sheet, just a doona).

Room service is good quality - burgers great and deserts, but the standard chicken club was crappy (sliced processed meat...yuck...avoid)

Check in fast and efficient and valet parking while expensive ($34 overnight) was efficient also.

Room Tip: if you get an unrenovated room change
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneyslicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Dear mike142,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with Hilton Adelaide.

I am pleased that you were happy with our location in the hub of Victoria Square close to popular restaurants, the central market and Chinatown.

We are in the process of a renovation project which will see all the guest areas of the hotel updated and I am pleased you were able to experience one of the newly renovated rooms.

I note your comments in regards to the standard in Housekeeping. As a Hilton brand standard worldwide the sheet is part of the doona which is refreshed with every new stay. A top sheet is available from Housekeeping upon request. I apologise for your discomfort.

I did note your comments in regards to the chicken club sandwich which I will address with the Executive Chef.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stay late December after Christmas day 2012 in a junior suite room 1301. We had fabulous views of Adelaide to the west. This is one of the best value hotels in the Hilton chain. The breakfast was brilliant as was the service throughout the whole hotel. The Executive lounge is one of the best I've visited. The location is central with the tram stop right outside the hotel offering free transport in the City area and restaurants, pub and bar within easy access. Only one blemish. We couldn't get any food or drinks from the lobby lounge at 3pm on a Saturday afternoon. It's on the website so why wasn't it open? Able to forgive this given the level of the stay for the rest of the offerings. Highly recommended for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: West facing higher up for water views (in the distance) or east and higher up for hill views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rstanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicollaGregory, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear rstanden,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your positive feedback in regards to the service you received during breakfast and in the Executive Lounge.

We are fortunate to be in a very central position in Adelaide surrounded by many fine restaurants and public transport at our door.

Our Lobby Bar is open from 3pm onwards however you are able to purchase food and drinks from our Deli in the Lobby prior to this time. I apologise for the inconvenience.

I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,171 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £85 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing