We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”
Review of Hilton Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Goulburn, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The location of the Hilton, Adelaide was terrific. The tram was right outside, the Adelaide Central markets were 50m away and the mainly asian restaurants just around the corner. Must also add that the mix nuts served with drinks in the bar were really good - unfortunately you can't buy them!

Room Tip: we were on the 14th floor so had no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Georgina K,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are fortunate to be located in the hub of Victoria Square very central to the markets and many popular restaurants while also being in walking distance to the city centre. The tram stop outside the hotel is a convenient way to travel around the city and I am pleased this location suited your needs during your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    898
    386
    117
    89
See reviews for
183
812
166
816
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We only stayed overnight,although the rooms need updating and are small but most importantly they were clean and comfortable.
The foyer is lovely but the rest does need a refurbish,especially under the Hilton name.Staff were very pleasent and helpful and a checkout of 1pm is fantastic.We did have to wait a long time for the valet was the only bad experience.Maybe call down earlier would be my suggestion,so your not waiting over half an hour.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Terri C,

I appreciate your honest review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that you found the rooms to be clean and comfortable and you were happy with the pleasant manner of the team.

Your comments regarding the general feeling of the hotel are appreciated. We are in the process of organising our next renovation which will improve the overall atmosphere of the hotel.

December is a very busy month. We have had many large functions in the hotel recently which has resulted in a delay in retrieving vehicles. I apologise for this inconvenience.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Hilton Adelaide for 4 nights in November. It was a last minute trip as we had a funeral to attend to. I booked via Wotif and as I use to live in Adelaide I was not fussed with which hotel I got so I actually chose a 'Wot Room' which essentially is you don't know what you get until after you pay for it. Luckily for us we got the Hilton. I didn't have high expectations as it was a basic room with no additions and although the Hilton has been a 5 star hotel, I know their main clientele are business travellers either in Adelaide for work or are attending a conference in the hotel so did not expect anything more than standard service.

This expectation was proven wrong from the start. We were lucky enough to be able to check in to our room straight away (11:30am). Although our room was not on a high floor, we still had a view of Victoria Square (although it's in the middle of construction it was still nice to be able to see what was going on instead of just a view of another building).
Next thing that surprised us was a late afternoon knock at our door with champagne and chocolates. Turns out my partners Mum had ordered them for us and after a bit of reluctance on the phone she explained that we were in Adelaide attending a funeral. We later found out that the staff courtesy of the General Manager sent the bottle up complimentary. This to me is wonderful and thoughtful and I cannot thank the staff enough.
I cannot talk up the Collins Bar enough, it has undergone a fabulous transformation from the previous Charlies Bar and the atmosphere and cocktails are excellent! We had a wonderful bar tender called Henry that showed us how drinks were made allowing some of my friends to sample a interesting bacon whisky cocktail. My partner of course had to order that!

All up, the rooms are well kept, the bathroom could use a revamp but it was functional and apart from the shower head (was spurting water to the side!) I had no problems. I am not an overly fussy traveller, but I do expect standard pleasant service and a clean well kept room. The Hilton Adelaide exceeded all of my expectations and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a non smoking room. Although our room didn't smell like smoke, there was a lingering sme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suz182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear suz182,

I appreciate you passing on such a positive review of your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide.

I understand that your reason for travelling was not a positive one however I am delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations in service and assist in making sure your needs were taken care of during this difficult time.

We are very proud of our newly opened Collins Bar and I am pleased you were able to experience the delightful cocktails they serve. It is interesting to hear people’s comments regarding the transformation of the old Charlie’s Bar.

I appreciate your comments regarding your room and facilities. We are in the planning stages of organising our next renovation to the guest areas of the hotel in the aim of improving the overall look and feel of the area.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannali, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Everything about this hotel was outstanding, particularly in comparison to a Hilton I stayed at the previous weekend in another State. Check-in was very smooth, with at least 3 people at the desk plus the concierge.Our room was a corner room on the 17th floor, had excellent views, was clean, very comfortable, plenty of space. We had access to the Executive Lounge, which had a nice selection of food and drinks, better than some other lounges I've eaten at.The breakfast area is very stylish, great food, nice staff.Try the Black Pig bacon, it's rather unique.There is a good workout area, pool, spa and sauna.I managed to do my normal lap swimming, even though it is a small pool.Parking is offsite, so it can take 10-15 minutes to get your car delivered.As a Gold member, I do not pay for internet, but the business lounge is being renovated , so I believe there should not be a charge while that is happening.Special mention to the kind staff member who handed in my wallet after it had fallen out of my pocket in the hallway adjacent to my room,everything intact.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper level. even if you have to pay to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekHulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear DerekHulme,

Thank you for taking the time to forward your feedback from your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you found the team to be helpful and attentive. We do have a great team that take pride in their work and I am glad that you were able to experience this during your stay.

Our Executive Chef and his team do create quite an interesting array of Australian cuisine and I am pleased you found this to your liking.

We are in the planning process for more renovations to the guest areas of the hotel however nothing has been set in concrete as yet. We are very excited to be able to improve and update the facilities we provide to our guests.

I am relieved that your wallet was found and was passed back to you without delay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here using a Wotif special - paid $200 which included a refurbished room, breakfast, parking and a late checkout. Hotel is very nice and rooms were comfortable. Staff were friendly and the buffet breakfast was beautiful. My only gripe was waiting over 40 mins for the valet to bring my car to the entrance.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimboAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear JimboAustralia,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you were happy with the City Break package and all the inclusions.

The feedback regarding the friendly service you received from the team is much appreciated and I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast in the Brasserie Restaurant.

I did note your comments in regards to the waiting time for your car to be delivered. Unfortunately on some occasions we get many requests all at the same time resulting in a delay however I apologise for the inconvenience caused.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We booked a Mini City Break and enjoyed our night at the Hilton. The package was well priced and good value for what was included. Well located to excellent restaurants and was brilliant to gather with dear friends and enjoy a night out together and then not have to drive home that night! A lingering breakfast next morning followed by relaxing in the foyer with a coffee before returning home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Cheryl G,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I was so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Hilton Adelaide and you were able to relax with friends and enjoy the facilities at the hotel before returning home to your everyday routine.

I appreciate your feedback and I am pleased you found this package good value for money.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILDURA, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Hilton in Adelaide is very central and close to shops and restaurants. Adelaide Market is behind the Hilton and enables you to buy fresh produce as well. Special deal of $199 including parking and breakfast was very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Jennifer S,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at Hilton Adelaide.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you found the “City Break” package good value for money.

We are indeed fortunate to be in a convenient location with the markets next door and other shopping areas and popular restaurants close by.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
983 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,627 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Property: Hilton Adelaide
Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing