We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's the location that counts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It's the location that counts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Hilton in Adelaide is in a very good location! Everything is off this hub with the west end bars, east end restaurants, mall, tram to Glenelg and central markets right behind. Rooms are average in size and dated (despite frequent attempts to modernise; which I have witnessed over the last ten years, and they are still functional for the space). Rates can be high, but there is also the odd bargain during periods of when a hosted conference finishes and more normal occupancy starts again. Beds are weird as like sleepily on a big rounded pillow cloud - good for angels but not mere humans.

Room Tip: Look for dates after a conference as occupancy can be low
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Byron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Byron S,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are indeed fortunate to be located in the hub of Victoria Square close to many attractions and public transport and I am pleased that this was to your satisfaction.

Our renovation program is in progress and due to the project size it will take quite some time to ensure we minimise any inconvenience to guests and visitors during this time.

I appreciate your comments regarding the rates. As you are aware the rates do vary and they are continuously monitored to ensure they are kept in line with the current market.

I did note your comments regarding the bedding. We do have a pillow menu in each room allowing you to order pillows of your choice from Housekeeping upon request which may benefit you on your next visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    859
    368
    110
    85
See reviews for
178
769
158
768
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Hilton Adelaide is a mediocre hotel. Thirty years old and showing it. So if you get a very good rate then given its location it may be okay for your needs.
The standard room on level three was tired and the bathroom smelt. Luckily it was only an overnight stay.
There are much better hotels in Adelaide for the same money. Shop around.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roozel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Roozel,

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your stay with us.

As you mention Hilton Adelaide is now thirty years old and it has come time to freshen up the overall look and feel of the hotel.

Over the last couple of years we have started a rolling renovation program which will continue until all guest areas are refurbished. As you can imagine with a project of this size and to minimise the inconvenience to our guests it will take considerable time to complete. We are now in the process of organising plans for the next stage of refurbishment and I hope you will be back to enjoy the benefits of this upgrade in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Booked via Wotdeal so didn't know what we'd get but very happy with the hotel. Staff were nice and despite there being a school ball on that night and the "fashion" (term loosely used) parade though the lobby providing entertainment, there was little impact on our stay. We arrived late but being on Perth time, went to the bar for a SA vino as a nightcap. Fantastic location and only issue was the works going on at the park across the road that meant a bit of a loop needed to get into the front door. I'm sure it will be worth it went the park upgrades are revealed.

Oh and we were upgraded to a suite which is always a treat :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ComoResortManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear ComoResortManager,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to Hilton Adelaide and I am pleased you enjoyed your upgrade to a suite.

I am delighted that you found the team to be nice and helpful and you were generally pleased with your stay. I did note your comments regarding the large group in the hotel and I am happy that it did not affect the service you would expect from a Hilton property.

There is an upgrade to Victoria Square in progress however we have not found this to cause any inconvenience to the operation. We are looking forward to our guests benefiting from the end result.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Mediocre hotel accommodations at top tier prices - and they charged for internet access on top of outrageous room charges - never again!!!! Room was not very clean and terribly small – very poor value for the money – if you have a choice, pick another hotel brand.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Steven O,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I was concerned that you were disappointed with value for money on this occasion. We do strive to provide a five star service to our guests and I apologise that you were not totally satisfied.

Internet is provided free of charge in the Lobby, Business Lounge and Executive Lounge and provided in the room at a competitive rate. We do continuously monitor the prices and keep them in line with the market.

I do hope you will allow me the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

If you are after a fabulous location but not too fussed about service or attention to detail then this is a good choice. The executive package including use of the upper level executive lounge is great if you like to really take advantage of the location and presence of like minded people. Just don't expect high quality of service or staff to be there for you. Compared to similar set up at Langham in Melbourne it was a very poor cousin.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Greg S,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that you found the location of the hotel to be convenient and you were happy with the package and inclusions you received. I was concerned that you found the service and attention to detail not up to the standard that you were expecting. We do pride ourselves on providing five star service and I apologise that you felt this was lacking on this occasion.

I hope I have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future to show you the service we strive to achieve.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goulburn, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The location of the Hilton, Adelaide was terrific. The tram was right outside, the Adelaide Central markets were 50m away and the mainly asian restaurants just around the corner. Must also add that the mix nuts served with drinks in the bar were really good - unfortunately you can't buy them!

Room Tip: we were on the 14th floor so had no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Georgina K,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are fortunate to be located in the hub of Victoria Square very central to the markets and many popular restaurants while also being in walking distance to the city centre. The tram stop outside the hotel is a convenient way to travel around the city and I am pleased this location suited your needs during your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We only stayed overnight,although the rooms need updating and are small but most importantly they were clean and comfortable.
The foyer is lovely but the rest does need a refurbish,especially under the Hilton name.Staff were very pleasent and helpful and a checkout of 1pm is fantastic.We did have to wait a long time for the valet was the only bad experience.Maybe call down earlier would be my suggestion,so your not waiting over half an hour.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Terri C,

I appreciate your honest review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that you found the rooms to be clean and comfortable and you were happy with the pleasant manner of the team.

Your comments regarding the general feeling of the hotel are appreciated. We are in the process of organising our next renovation which will improve the overall atmosphere of the hotel.

December is a very busy month. We have had many large functions in the hotel recently which has resulted in a delay in retrieving vehicles. I apologise for this inconvenience.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#7 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Property: Hilton Adelaide
Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hilton EMEA, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing