We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”
Review of Hilton Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

As an ex-Adelaidian returning to my home city at Christmas I was looking forward to a chance to stay at the Hilton (the place to be back in my uni days). Unfortunately my experience was mixed. Concierge and check-in were both good, our room on the Executive Floor was the standard Hilton décor, nicely cleaned, with a good view towards the hills and a window that opened.

The lounge, only open for evening drinks at that time of year, was excellent with a good choice of drinks and food and pleasant staff.

And the room rate, at a quiet time of the year, was very good value.

However there were a few things that let this hotel down. Firstly, breakfast gave the impression of cost cutting put first. The pre-prepared juices tasted like they only had a very distant relationship with fresh fruit, and were extremely bland. There was a fresh juice bar but the hard-working staff member only had one, small juicer and couldn't keep up with demand. The cooked food was nothing special, the muffins were yesterday's and all in all it was ok at best.

Only some rooms had been renovated. Friends staying in a room on level 2 complained that their room was dated and very tired (I assume that it's worth getting a higher room if available).

But the most unpleasant part of our stay, and what lost this hotel one of the stars in this rating, was the behaviour of the front-of-house manager.

We had two experiences of him, the first when he reprimanded a couple concerned about the damage done to their car in hotel parking, on the first day of our stay, and the second when my husband questioned the valet parking fee, that was more expensive than that quoted on their website. I know that the customer is not always right, but there is a polite way of dealing with complaints and then then there's the antagonistic approach taken by this manager. It really took the shine off of our stay.

Would I stay there again? Probably not - although the location's good, I think that Adelaide has better choices.

Room Tip: The view over the Adelaide hills and Victoria Square is nicer than over the suburbs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltimeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear traveltimeCanberra,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback regarding your stay with us over Christmas.

I am pleased that you were happy with your room on the Executive Floor and you were able to experience the Executive Lounge for evening drinks and canapés however concerned that you were not totally satisfied with your stay.

Our breakfast buffet has changed slightly due to guest request. We have included more fresh healthy options with selected hot food cooked on request. I apologise if this did not suit you and for the delay in getting fresh juices on this occasion. Your comments have been shared with the Executive Chef and the Food and Beverage Manager to ensure the standard and service is monitored.

I also note your comments regarding the service provided by one of our Managers at Reception. Please rest assured our team undergo continuous training sessions in dealing with many situations in a professional manner. I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and I apologise for your disappointment in the way it was handled.

I hope I will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,561 - 1,567 of 2,394 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Considering it's the Hilton, this one is really underwhelming - room is fairly small and old-fashioned. I'm outraged that a hotel like this does not provide complimentary wifi - absolutely preposterous!

The only saving grace is the location of the hotel (even the bar looks depressing!). Don't think I'll be coming back anytime soon.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Hyqel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Hyqel,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am disappointed that you found Hilton Adelaide underwhelming. We are currently in the planning stages of our next refurbishment which will see more of the guest areas updated and modernised. I note your comment regarding Wi-Fi. Unfortunately Wi-Fi is not free of charge in guest rooms however it is offered free in the Lobby, Restaurant, Business Lounge and Executive Lounge. A connectivity station has has also recently been installed in the Lobby area for guests convenience.

Our location is very convenient with many popular shopping areas and restaurants within walking distance.

I hope you will give me the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future to experience our next upgrade.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

loved it, was a great weekend away spot in the heart of the city. booked through booking.com and was the best value for money i have had in adelaide, free ice to the room and a great breakfast in bed, i will highly reccommend this to family and friends

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Hamish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Hamish B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

I am delighted that you found Hilton Adelaide to be good value for money and a great place for a weekend getaway.

Our Brasserie Restaurant has a sumptuous buffet on offer however many breakfast choices are also available from Room Service for those who would prefer breakfast in their room.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. The room was comfortable enough but the housekeeping terrible. We came back each day after being out sightseeing and our robes were still lying on the floor along with our pillows, our water glasses were still on the bedside were we'd left them from the night before and our towels were hung up in a way where I wasn't sure if they were fresh or old towels. I just don't find this acceptable for 5 star prices. We won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiles31297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Smiles31297

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

I am pleased that you found your room comfortable however concerned regarding your comments relating to the Housekeeping service you experienced.

Please rest assured this is not the service we strive to achieve and this will be discussed with our Executive Housekeeper to ensure more care is taken. I apologise for your disappointment and any inconvenience this caused.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I've stayed at this hotel a number of times now, on all occasions for work. It is not a great hotel as far as Hiltons go, the building is older and the rooms are small. So if you're used to the Sydney Hilton or Hilton South Wharf, this is not as modern. However, it is a great hotel by Adelaide standards and my preferred hotel in comparison to the Intercontinental, Crowne Plaza, Sebel and Rendezvous.

The rooms are smaller, but are well appointed, in good repair and clean. There is complimentary bottled water and the hotel is quiet. The room service menu is extensive and modern.

The executive lounge is small, but adequate. I enjoyed a nice continental breakfast with great service from the lovely Lisa. In particular I enjoy the personalised service, Lisa offered that as she could see I was checking out she could process my checkout while I had breakfast... wonderful.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Katherine A,

I appreciate your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide and thank you for your continued loyalty.

I am pleased that you are happy with the hotel and the well-appointed rooms. Our Room Service menu is quite extensive and offers a vast range of healthy options as well as the usual favourites.

The Executive Lounge is a very convenient area for our guests staying in Executive Rooms. Drinks and Canapés are offered in the evening and a complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning. I am pleased you were able to enjoy this benefit and the friendly service you received from Lisa.

I look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights during the Tour Down Under long weekend. The hotel was packed with professional cyclists, team support crews,journalists and other guests. It was the best place to stay to attend the Tour. The first day we arrived we asked for additional towels but after 5 hours of waiting, we had to call housekeeping to remind them of the request. Not withstanding that the hotel was full, you would expect staff were able to cope. We had dinner in the in-house Brasserie, however, the standard of the food was terrible, it was over priced and the quality was worse than the food from a cheap take away venue. The good points - clean spacious room, gym, friendly staff and nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweedie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Tweedie888,

I appreciate your feedback.

The Tour Down Under long weekend is a very busy time and I apologise that you found the service in Housekeeping slow on this occasion. Your comments have been discussed with the Executive Housekeeper to ensure this is monitored more closely.

Your comments regarding the food and service in the Brasserie Restaurant have been noted and discussed with our Executive Chef to ensure the standard remains at a high and consistent level.

I appreciate your constructive feedback and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

While a hotel that is part of a global chain it has a rare sense of homeliness to it for those who return regularly. For those who visit for the first time, the staff are extremely welcoming. Rooms are clean, up to date and service in all areas of the hotel is friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Rupert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Rupert G,

I appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay with us.

I am pleased that you feel a sense of homeliness when returning to Hilton Adelaide and you feel welcome upon your arrival.

Most of our rooms have been recently refurbished and our Housekeeping team take great pride in ensuring they are presented to a high standard.

Our team always takes great care in providing a friendly and efficient service and I am delighted that you experienced this.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,225 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 56 in Adelaide
3,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £76 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing