We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visitor from Perth.”
Review of Hilton Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Visitor from Perth.”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great location adjacent central market. Nice view looking west to the sea. Helpful, friendly staff. Loved the recently refurbished Collins Bar overlooking Victoria Square. Liked the security where card must be used to operate lift from ground floor. Perhaps staff too trustworthy at check-out. I received my cash deposit without anybody checking the room fridge for any consumed items.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank gregorym973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear gregorym973,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Our location is very central and convenient to all the popular places around the city centre. Our newly opened Collins Bar is a contemporary modern, stylish, and sophisticated cocktail bar and I am pleased that you were able to enjoy this during your stay.

Your feedback is appreciated as this enables us to monitor and improve the operation.

I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Adelaide.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    887
    380
    115
    88
See reviews for
180
797
165
808
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Anyone who is booked to stay here on level 3, should seriously consider changing hotel. This floor is nowhere near the rating the hotel carries. Excellent location with transport directly ourside entrance. Retail outlets within a few mins walk, with Coles downstairs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Carl Mr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Carl Mr G,

Thank you for your feedback.

I do understand your concerns regarding the third floor. We are in the process of a refurbishment however this will be an on-going project so as not to inconvenience our clientele. I apologise for your disappointment on this occasion.

Hilton Adelaide is located in the hub of Victoria Square within walking distance to the city centre and shopping areas. We are also lucky to have the Central Markets and Gouger Street next to the hotel were many popular restaurants are located.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

In a city location is important and this hotel is perfect we are here for the festival and found it to be perfect. The hotel is showing its age in certain areas but this is minor when you look as a whole we will be back! Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manmongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear manmongo,

I appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at Hilton Adelaide.

We are centrally located in the city with all the festivities situated in close proximity to the hotel. The free tram at our doorstep is a convenient way to move around the city with ease.

The hotel is in the process of a refurbishment project to update and modernise the overall ambiance of the hotel. This will be carried out over time to minimise disruption.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Excellent location, from airport straight to the hotel. Walking distance to the city, free tram in city area and station in front of the door or $10 and ride the tram all day very reasonable.
Rooms outdated and tv cabinet is too low so when you are in bed u can hardly see the tv. Could be cleaner especially the carpet. Excellent brekki the usual buffet food plus freshly squeezed vegie or fruit juice but u have to ask for it.
Be aware there is no free guest parking very disappointing, valet parking $34 a night or public parking near by $18 per day. We opted for valet because if u want to use the car it's parked and brought to u within 15 min.
Botanical gardens visit is a must absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear azra h,

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I am pleased that you found the location of the hotel convenient for your stay. The free tram is very handy for getting around the city and I am pleased that you found this useful during your stay.

Our talented Chefs do create a wonderful selection of buffet items for breakfast including freshly squeezed juices. They are happy to blend your favourite combinations on request.

I did note your comments regarding the décor of your room. A refurbishment project is underway at the hotel with the aim of updating all the guest areas. I apologise for your disappointment. Due to the hotel being in the city centre there is limited space available for guest parking. As a result we have agreements with nearby public car parks where a few different parking options are offered.

I hope I will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ready to be refurbished - a bit tired.

But staff are great and rooms are scrupulously clean - a comfortable stay

I got a well priced room - would stay there again if the price was right.

The location is excellent, but suggest during the Festival try to get a room away from Victoria Square as it was noisy

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernadette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Bernadette b,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Hilton Adelaide.

I am pleased that you found the team helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable. We do have a great team that go to great lengths to ensure our customers enjoy their stay.

We are in the process of an on-going refurbishment project which will modernise and refresh the décor in the hotel.

I look forward to your return in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

As with every Hilton, so my stay at the Adelaide Hilton has been a standard, guaranteed experience. My room had a wonderful walk-in rain shower, deliciously aromatic toiletries, a good mini-bar selection. I have no complaints at all - I even asked for an electrical plug adaptor and it was brought up to my room asap. Perhaps my only complaint is that room service meals were only available until 10pm - which I missed and so had to make do with a quality packet of crisps from the mini bar on my first night in Adelaide due to a late flight arrival! Everything else is guaranteed... Polite staff, clean, modern, good location - assured quality that you can be sure of before you even arrive.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank travellingbookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear travellingbookworm,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback regarding your stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you were pleased with the service you received from the team. We are located in a very convenient position close to the main shopping areas and central markets with the convenience of the tram at our doorstep.

I did note your comments regarding the availability of Room Service. We do have items available 24 hours from Room Service however we do not offer the full menu past 10pm.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed at the Hilton in Adelaide and were quite disappointed. The hotel, although in the process of remodeling was tired, so insure you request an upgraded room. The location was quite convenient for heading off to wine tasting in Barossa and Adelaide Hills, which we thoroughly enjoyed - although somewhat noisy.

The staff was accommodating and they do have a business centre for internet - which you will want to use in lieu of the $27 fee per day for using internet in your room, which we thought was quite expensive.

Room Tip: Request a newly remodeled room off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peppygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Peppygal,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

I am pleased you found the location convenient and you were able to venture out and explore the wine region while in Adelaide however I was concerned that you found your stay disappointing.

I appreciate your positive comments regarding the team. We do have a great team that do their best to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and feel welcome. Our Business Centre is very well equipped for the business traveller. We do also have a connectivity station in the Lobby and free WiFi in the Restaurant and Executive Lounge for guest convenience.

I hope to welcome you back to Hilton Adelaide again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Property: Hilton Adelaide
Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing