We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upgrade”
Review of Hilton Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Adelaide
Level Contributor
251 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Upgrade”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We were lucky enough to get upgraded to the Executive Floor, thanks to my wife's card. This got us a free breakfast and afternoon tea in the Executive Lounge (and a morning paper). We would also have taken advantage of the free drinks and canapes at 6 pm, but had to go out for an early dinner prior to a show. The room itself is really well appointed, with lovely views across the Square and the views from the Club lounge are out to the Gulf. At breakfast today I was stepped on by another guest - people behave appallingly at these free buffets - but you can't blame the Hilton for that!

Room Tip: If you can get membership of Hilton Honours, it can mean an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GourmondoAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear GourmondoAdelaide,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your upgrade to the Executive Floor. Our Executive Lounge serves complimentary drinks and canapés in the evening for our Executive guests and a continental breakfast in the morning and I am pleased that you enjoyed this experience.

We are in a lovely location in the city boasting views Over Victoria Square or out to the beach.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    887
    380
    115
    88
See reviews for
180
797
165
808
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here for our wedding in February and booked a block of room for friends and family. Staff were slow to respond to any contact and we left multiple messages for simple queries. Complaint emails that we sent after our stay have not been responded to and this includes no response from Peer Norsell - General Manager.

Interstate guests commented on how old and tired the decor looked and I had to agree, particularly the stained chairs in the lounge bar. Breakfast was overpriced and nothing special. Rooms are overpriced for comparably rated hotels throughout Australia and overseas and we were charged a lot more than our room rate offered to us as a group. We waited 45 minutes for our car to be returned to us from valet parking on a Sunday morning and there were a lot of guests waiting around frustrated also.

I would definitely spend my money on a much nicer hotel if visiting Adelaide. Don't bother with the Hilton.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Vikki D,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in February for your wedding celebrations.

Your comments are important and please rest assured I am currently investigating the areas of concern that you experienced.

I will be in contact with you soon to discuss this matter further.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northen NSW
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A dear friend and I were headed to Adelaide this weekend, for the now postponed Rolling Stones concert.We had booked a double room with breakfast at the Hilton, as a big treat for our girl's weekend away.With confirmation that the concert is postponed, I have twice rung Hilton in Adelaide, who have declined to refund our money ;-$260, or let us use the booking at a later date.This was to be our first Hilton experience, there will be no more! Even Jetstar gave us vouchers, as a refund on our cheap tickets. Not good enough Hilton Hotels!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Jane B,

Thank you for your constructive comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I do understand your frustrations with the cancellation of the Rolling Stones concert. As per Hilton policy, the standard terms and conditions for a discounted Advance Purchase Rate state that the rates are non-refundable and non-changeable. These terms and conditions apply to allow guests to have access to lower rates on the basis that they are committing to their stay at the time of booking. In an effort to rectify this current situation, I would be happy to offer you a 15% discount on your next stay with the Hilton Adelaide.

If you would like to take advantage of this offer please feel free to contact my office on 8237 0726 with your booking confirmation number and I will be happy to take care of your details and apply the 15% discount to your stay.

I hope to welcome you to Hilton Adelaide soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I booked a weekend away for my parents in Adelaide at this hotel. I rang to change their booking only to be bitterly disappointed in a clear lack of service and friendliness from the both the property reservations team and Hilton Worldwide Call Centre to my call. I was left on hold for over 30minutes (seemingly they wanted me to hang up) but I persisted only to be told that they were not the right person to assist with my query and gave me another number.

After numerous phone calls today with diversions to a range of departments still a lack of a clear answer and incredible lack of interest in helping me to change a booking. I don't want my money back but would like assistance to change a portion of the booking.

As an Events Coordinator i have stayed at many Hilton Worldwide properties and booked numerous conference and events with Hilton domestic and International with no such incidents at other Hilton properties.

At last resort with no one in Reservations able to assist I asked to speak to management but that was not possible not even "Reservations" or "Front Office Manager".

I would be very hesitant to book at Hilton again and will not book any future groups at Hilton Adelaide with this clear problem in service to such a simple query on a booking and no resolve after 24hrs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear vaughannicole11,

Thank you for your comments regarding your parents reservation.

I do apologise that you have found it difficult to make the required changes to this booking. We are always happy to discuss any changes required and make the necessary alterations if possible. I am therefore concerned that this was not the case on this occasion. Please rest assured I have discussed this with the Departments involved to ensure we continue to provide a high standard of service.

I believe you have since spoken with Kosta our Sales Executive and the issue has been resolved to your satisfaction.

If we can be of further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A pleasant stay with staff who have not forgotten the value of good, old-fashioned service, a central location within walking distance of most of the main features of Adelaide. Will definitely stay there again should the opportunity arise!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Peter K,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Hilton Adelaide.

I am so pleased that you found our service to be the standard of what you would expect from a Hilton property. We do strive to ensure our guests have a memorable experience and we are delighted to be able to provide this service to you.

Hilton Adelaide is in a prime location close to many places of interest around the city.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great location adjacent central market. Nice view looking west to the sea. Helpful, friendly staff. Loved the recently refurbished Collins Bar overlooking Victoria Square. Liked the security where card must be used to operate lift from ground floor. Perhaps staff too trustworthy at check-out. I received my cash deposit without anybody checking the room fridge for any consumed items.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank gregorym973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear gregorym973,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Our location is very central and convenient to all the popular places around the city centre. Our newly opened Collins Bar is a contemporary modern, stylish, and sophisticated cocktail bar and I am pleased that you were able to enjoy this during your stay.

Your feedback is appreciated as this enables us to monitor and improve the operation.

I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Adelaide.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Anyone who is booked to stay here on level 3, should seriously consider changing hotel. This floor is nowhere near the rating the hotel carries. Excellent location with transport directly ourside entrance. Retail outlets within a few mins walk, with Coles downstairs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Carl Mr G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Carl Mr G,

Thank you for your feedback.

I do understand your concerns regarding the third floor. We are in the process of a refurbishment however this will be an on-going project so as not to inconvenience our clientele. I apologise for your disappointment on this occasion.

Hilton Adelaide is located in the hub of Victoria Square within walking distance to the city centre and shopping areas. We are also lucky to have the Central Markets and Gouger Street next to the hotel were many popular restaurants are located.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Property: Hilton Adelaide
Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing