We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for restaurants close by”
Review of Hilton Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good location for restaurants close by”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Travelled for business to Adelaide and most hotels booked out so stayed at the Hilton. Good location for the shops and restaurants around the market. Room on the lower floors was a bit dated but clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was good but overpriced. Plenty of good restauraats around the corner if you feel like a walk.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asteroidea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Asteroidea,

I appreciate you taking the time to pass on your comments.

I am glad that you were happy with the location of the hotel and you found your room to be clean and comfortable.

Our breakfast buffet offers a wide selection of hot and cold items made with local fresh produce however there are also many popular restaurants around the hotel to try.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    921
    392
    118
    90
See reviews for
191
834
169
834
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UBE
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Nicely located in the center of a not very interesting city. Alert doormen in Australian hats and reasonably efficient front desk. Very popular with business meetings and private parties so you may feel that you have wandered into a catering hall with noisy groups in the restaurant, closed off parts of the lobbies and hoards of badge-wearing attendees. Every one but you will get upgraded but your standard room will be sufficiently nice.
Unfortunately the concierge is unfamiliar with local restaurants or current exhibits at the three city museums. The hotel "Brasserie" has pretensions of excellence and sub-par performance.
Your $20 pre-dinner cocktail, mostly watery fruit juice finally arrives with your entree. Precious bits of food such as one ravioli for $15 are your introduction to the most expensive meal in town served in the ambiance of a cafeteria. Service consists of a young man playing multiple roles as sommelier ( enthusiastically advocating very over priced wine) and busboy when you do get to see him. Aggressive overcharging continues with a local phone call from the room billed at $8.90.
With respect for some of the staff who do their job well, others are learning on the job, under the present management this hotel qualifies as a good Holiday Inn but not a credit to the Hilton brand.

Room Tip: Everybody seems to get upgraded. We did not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoHahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear BoHahn,

I appreciate your honesty regarding your recent stay with us.

I am disappointment that you were not entirely pleased with your stay and you found the city of Adelaide uninteresting.

We do endeavour to assist our guests in any way possible and it is unfortunate that you found certain areas of the hotel not up to the Hilton Standard.

Your comments are important to me and I will ensure they are shared with my management team for training purposes.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
759 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I last stayed here in 2012 and vowed not to return after a poor experience. However, I had a meeting just round the corner so looked at prices and found a pre-paid deal for $130. I also put in for a room upgrade to a corner king for $29 per night.

I was lucky enough to get the upgrade so had a nice room on the 13th floor with two windows and a water/airport view. The room was large with a comfy bed and a renovated bathroom (shower only but good toiletries).

These hotels do not respond to guest feedback which is a shame - I would still say that the room needs a picture or a photo to brighten it up (gave this feedback last time). I also had to ask for my HHonors entitlement to bottled water and was grudging given a late check out until 12 noon (for many hotels this is the standard check out).

The biggest gripe is wifi - it is free in lobby but in the room costs $14.95 per hour and $27.95 for 24 hours - I could not believe the price when I asked! Also note the nasty credit card surcharge of 1.5%.

So overall as better stay this time, but there are still issues. I will stay again if I have a close meeting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear wombatdavid,

Your comments regarding your recent stay with us are appreciated.

I am happy that you had a better experience this time and you were pleased with your upgraded room to a corner king room.

Your feedback is important and valued and will certainly be discussed with the management team to ensure more care is taken with entitlements and requests.

I appreciate your concerns regarding Wi-Fi. At the moment we do offer free Wi-Fi in the Lobby, Restaurant, Business Lounge and Executive Lounge and the prices in the rooms are continuously monitored and kept in line with the current market.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We recently stayed at Hilton Adelaide while in Australia for a Wedding. We found the property to be lovely and clean, spacious room very helpful staff. Brilliant location. Would stay again. Pre trip the Hilton also assisted in contacts for a hair dresser for an event during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Brett C,

Thank you for your positive comments outlining the details of your recent accommodation.

I am delighted that you found the Hilton to be clean and spacious and the service you received from the team to be helpful.

We are lucky to be in a prime location on Victoria Square and I am pleased that it suited your needs.

I look forward to your return.

Yours Sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Hilton in Adelaide is located centrally in Victoria Square. The tram is right out the front, and the wonder Gouger Street is right around the corner for a great choice at meal times. I have staid at the Hilton a couple of times, and no doubt will probably stay again in the future. On my latest visit I was given an Executive Room upgrade, and enjoyed a great room on level 17.

Room Tip: Like all hotels, getting away from the lifts is good. I've not had a bod room at the Hilton Adel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvd_blah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear dvd_blah,

I appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you were happy with the location of the hotel and your upgrade to an Executive Room.

We are centrally located close to many fine restaurants on Gouger Street and in walking distance to all the main attractions in the city.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights, first time staying at a Hilton I was a little disappointed from what I expected. Overall quite comfortable, especially the beds, very comfy. Room was showing it's wear and tear and wasn't the cleanest I've stayed in (bathroom, desk and minibar). Service was average, some staff great some not so great, my booking was messed up and I got locked out of my room for a short time. Breakfast was very average & unorganized. I'd stay again if it was a great deal although it wouldn't be my first pick.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NathL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear NathL88,

Thank you for your constructive comments from your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide.

I am pleased that you found the hotel to be comfortable however concerned that you found certain aspects of your stay disappointing.

We are in the process of upgrading all the guest areas however this will take time to ensure minimum disruption to our guests and the operation.

Your comments will be shared with the appropriate Managers to ensure we continue to strive for a five star service for our valued guests.

I hope you will allow me the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Hilton Adelaide is a true five star hotel. I cannot honestly say I could mark down this wonderful hotel in anyway. The amenities and service I experienced were second to none and for the price, amazing. If I was being picky it was a little ways away from rundle street, but was good for a walk before and then after dinner. Thank you to the staff for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Colin B,

I appreciate your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Hilton Adelaide.

It is pleasing that you found the service second to none and you were happy with the amenities provided.

The hotel is located a short walk from Rundle Street however the free tram runs from outside the hotel on a regular basis.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,071 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Property: Hilton Adelaide
Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing