We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!..not so good breakfast/restaurant staff..”
Review of Hilton Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here in April for 2 nights. Arrived at 10.30am and understandably our room wasn't ready. The very nice reception staff upgraded us to a king suite so that we could book in straight away...great service! The room itself was very nice and modern, spotlessly clean, nice bathroom products, and had a great view out over the square. The only one thing I could say about the room was that the air-con seemed to turn off in the middle of the night. Now for my gripe..we didn't have breakfast included so decided to go down and order off the a-la-carte menu one morning. When we were seated at a table a staff member came over to pour coffee but was quickly told we were'nt having the buffet we were ordering breakfast. That was fine, however, we sat there for a good 10 minutes and no-one approached us again to take an order. We were completely ignored, no table water, nothing. We decided to leave and go down the street for breakfast, as we walked past the restaurant reception desk we advised the guy there (who originally sat us at the table) that we hadn't been served yet so we were going. Unbelievably, he shrugged his shoulders, didn't say a word, and just let us walk out. I was astounded! The rest of the hotel staff were great so it's a shame this happened because you always remember the bad moments.. Apart from that incident, this is a great place to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LnT291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear LnT291,

Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased that you were happy with your room and your upgrade to a King Suite although I note your comments regarding the air conditioner. When the unit is switched in the auto position and the selected temperature is reached the unit will cut out.

We are in a very convenient location close to many fine restaurants and shopping areas and I am pleased you found this suited your requirements on this trip.

I understand your concerns with the service you received from the team in the restaurant. This is not the service we strive to achieve. Although I cannot turn back the clock please rest assured your feedback has been used as a training tool to ensure more care is taken by the team to provide the service you quite rightly expect from a Hilton property.

I hope you will allow me the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,525 - 1,531 of 2,422 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had a quick overnight trip to Adelaide. Great location because just around the corner is a street full of restaurants and a short walk int the other direction puts you in the centre of the CBD. This hotel is quite old but the rooms have been completely renovated including new bathrooms (not just a tidy up with the old bath and toilet, all new), but there are showing signs of wear & tear already. Comfortable beds and choice of pillows. Check-in & check-out can be a bit slow. The front of the hotel is a shambles - cars all over the place, had to get out of the taxi down the street and walk a short distance upon arrival because everything was blocked. Generally good and close to Hilton standard - about as good as there is in Adelaide for a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noodnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Noodnut,

I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us and I am pleased that you found the location convenient and you enjoyed the many restaurants close by.

Some major renovations have taken place in the hotel including room upgrades and a new bar on the Lobby Level with further improvements to be done in the near future. I am pleased that you enjoyed your upgraded room on this occasion.

Due to the location of the hotel we do have limited space out the front of the hotel sometimes getting very busy. I apologise for the inconvenience this caused making it necessary for you to exit your taxi and walk to the entrance.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel is the most overpriced hotel I've every stayed in. I paid $272 on a special deal on bookings.com and despite it being advertised as having marble bathrooms, it doesn't and the room is very old. Carpet is old, bathroom fixtures are all of 3 star quality. If I paid $150 I won't complain but it's all relative to how much you pay. It's so not worth it.

I definitely will not come back here again. I used the Hilton Honors card for the first time, if this hotel is any indication for a Hilton hotel, I won't want to stay in other Hilton hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeiMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear MeiMoo,

Thank you for your honest opinion of Hilton Adelaide.

I was concerned to note that you were disappointed in your stay.

We have recently carried out a refurbishment including the upgrade of most of the bathrooms however this is a very large project which will be carried out over time to limit any inconvenience to our guests. I did note your comments regarding the value of your stay. Our prices are closely monitored and consistently updated to reflect the current market.

Your feedback is important to us which helps us to monitor and improve the service and facilities that we provide to our valued guests.

I hope you will allow me the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel is located on Victoria Square next to the Adelaide market, next door is a Coles supermarket then China Town. Opposite its main door is the Glenelg tram which will take you to Rundle Mall if you dont want to walk the 5 minutes to get there yourself.

The rooms have been renovated into modern styles, it is a shame that they left the bathrooms out of the renovations. You cant fault the bathrooms as they are clean and functional but are dated.

When we arrived well prior to check in at 14:00 reception advised that they could get us a room, but if we waited that they were going to upgrade us to a better room. With an offer like that and no need for a room as we only wanted to dump our luggage.

When we did get into the room the best thing about it was the beds. One of the most comfortable beds that I have had in a hotel. Like Goldilocks it wasn't too hard or too soft, it was just right, A great night's sleep was had by all.

Breakfast was included in my room and the buffet was your classic high end hotel buffet. Different stations spread around the room so that depending on what you were after, there wasn't a crowd.

All of the staff were friendly and courteous. One guest asked a staff member about getting some tomato sauce and was told that all of the sauces were on the buffet where they had got the food from, but that they would go and get it for them. It was informatively and politely delivered and friendly in the staff members manner.

All of the staff that I dealt with were great, particularly the doorman.

With a taxi rank outside at the market, finding a cab is always easy.

I will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nibzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Nibzee,

I appreciate you passing on your comments about your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and the central location of the hotel allowing you to move around the city with ease. We are fortunate to be surrounded by many conveniences such as Coles Supermarket, China Town and Central Market.

Most of our guest rooms and bathrooms have been renovated now and I am delighted that you enjoyed your upgrade and the comfortable bed provided.

Our Executive Chef, Lloyd Cremer and his talented team create a wide range of items for the breakfast buffet showcasing some of the finest local produce available. I am pleased this was to your liking and you found the service from the team to be of a high standard.

Our doorman, Hugh is a great asset to the hotel always willing to assist with bags and taxis with a welcoming smile.

I appreciate your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

After reading a number of reviews which said the hotel was old and shabby I was a little concerned about booking for a work trip for a few colleagues and myself - however this hotel is absolutely fantastic!
The service from staff was great for the duration of the stay and the welcome from the door man was top notch. The check in/check out experiences were fast, efficient and polite and could not have been done any better. My room on the 8th floor was lovely and modern and had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in at any hotel. The toiletries provided were top class and the bathroom was luxurious.
The Hilton is perfectly positioned being so close to Gouger Street for restaurants etc and centrally located within the city itself. I had no issues with noise from either the street or other rooms.
I paid a very reasonable price for rooms here and received service and quality way above other hotels charging the same amount (and higher) for their accommodation. If I was to be REALLY picky about things then the service at breakfast was a little haphazard and not on the ball .... but honestly if something so trivial was going to affect how I rate this hotel then I'd be an idiot and you shouldn't listen to me anyway!
I Highly recommend Hilton Adelaide!

Room Tip: The rooms we had on the 8th floor and above were updated'/renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Rebecca B,

I am thrilled that your stay at Hilton Adelaide exceeded your expectations.

Our team take every effort to ensure our valued guests feel welcome from the moment they arrive at the hotel. I am so pleased that you were happy with the fast, efficient service provided to you.

We have recently upgraded many of our guest rooms ensuring the amenities and bedding is of a high quality.

The location of the hotel is very convenient close to many popular restaurants on Gouger Street and within walking distance to the Central Market and China Town.

I am delighted that your work trip was comfortable and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Lovely service, good location, value for money. Food ok but not amazing. Staff very helpful. Big rooms. Recommend for business travel and couples. Not sure right for families. Taxi line up straight out the front which is very handy and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank NicoleFSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear NicoleFSYD,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you found the service was of a high standard and you were pleased with the location of the hotel and value for money paid.

I appreciate your recommendations and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Hilton was great. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The room was a good size, very clean and the bed was so comfortable. We had no problems with noise. Also, a must is The Collins Bar and have a "Ping Pong". Devine.I would not stay anywhere else. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Victoria Square - great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Marissa C,

I am delighted that you found the Hotel to be of the standard you would expect of a Hilton property and you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team are very keen to ensure you have a pleasant stay and I am pleased that you found them to be helpful and friendly.

I am glad that you found your room suitable and you were able to enjoy our newly opened Collins Bar and I look forward to seeing you back here again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,269 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,719 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 56 in Adelaide
3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £66 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing