We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location and has kept up-to-date”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Central location and has kept up-to-date”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a two night stay at the Hilton. Nice rooms, with great views from the upper levels. We were upgraded, a pleasant surprise.

Terrific spot for visiting the Central Market. :)

Has a lovely looking spa, and a nice restaurant down stairs near reception (Brasserie).

The hotel overlooks Victoria Square, which is a wonderfully modern outdoor space. Right on the tram line.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Maywald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear David_Maywald,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your upgraded room. Victoria Square is very convenient with the Central Markets and China Town next door and the tram stop just outside the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our location and the ease of getting around the City.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    875
    376
    112
    87
See reviews for
178
786
161
796
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Excellent staff and quality service...highly recommend this hotel for convenience to shopping, restaurants, Adelaide Oval and Central Market. Tram Stop opposite hotel for easy access to Rundle Mall and Entertainment Centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Andrea R,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you found the team to be helpful and the location was convenient for you. We are very close to many popular spots around Adelaide with the added bonus of the tram stop just outside the hotel making it easy to get around as needed.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Hilton is in a great position close to everything. I was here on business and was close to some really good resturants or take a short walk to Rundle mall. The tram stop is outside for those on holidays. My room was good with a very comfortable bed. Facilities at the hotel is what you expect from a Hilton hotel. Will look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wobblyboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Wobblyboot,

I appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay.

I am delighted that you found the location of the hotel convenient for your business needs and the hotel facilities were comfortable for you.

We are fortunate to have the tram stop located across the road enabling easy travel around the City centre and close to many reputable restaurants.

I look forward to your return.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very convenient position, just around the corner from Gouger St, the eating precinct.
The market is next door.
Trams to Glenelg right outside.
The bistro is OK.
I must admit, we had our breakfast in the market area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear kbyates,

Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased that you found the position of the hotel convenient next to Gouger Street with some of the most popular eating spots in Adelaide and next door to the Central Markets and Chinatown.

We are fortunate to have a tram stop just outside the hotel making it easy to move around the City and out to Glenelg and the Entertainment Centre.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have stayed here a number of times and really like the Hilton beds - comfort when away from home is critical!
Work has been done throughout to give the hotel a more modern feel. The restaurant is also quality.
Excellent location with ready access to the Gouger Street cafe and restaurants, as well as the Central Market and tram stop in Victoria Square.

Room Tip: I prefer the Eastern side of the hotel with views towards the Adelaide Hills. From the West side yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Anthony B,

I appreciate you passing on your positive comments regarding your stay with us.

I am pleased that you find the beds so comfortable. As you say it is very important to feel comfortable when you are away from the comforts of home.

We have done extensive improvements over the years with further improvements in the planning stages.

As well as being surrounded by some very good restaurants we are very proud of The Brasserie Restaurant located in the hotel. Our Executive Chef, Lloyd Cremer and his team do a fantastic job of creating a selection of fine cuisine using fresh local produce. I am pleased you found it to be of high standard.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Hilton Adelaide. It was great to be so close to everything. Rooms were very comfortable and clean and good value for money. Staff were friendly and helpful. However a biscuit with tea and coffee in the room would have been nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Roger R,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you found the rooms to be clean and good value for money. We are so fortunate to be close to everything in the city with the added bonus of the tram stop just outside the hotel for easy travel around the city centre.

Your positive comments regarding the service you received from the team is very much appreciated. I am glad you found the team members to be friendly and helpful during your stay.

I look forward to your return.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is in prime location to anywhere you want to go in Adelaide, pretty much you can walk around anywhere in the city and its convenient to get to. I liked the fact that it was so close to so many restaurants and cafes which was great. The hotel room itself was clean and I enjoyed a great sleep. The only downside was the reception staff made me feel a little inadequate as I was dressed in track pants upon arrival. This could have been just me overreacting but she was quite rude to me. On top of that she expected me to pay an additional $100 to cover the 2nd guest which I advised was not coming any longer (silly rule). I ended up paying as I was getting frustrated and just want to get to my room. Every other member of staff was great though and made me feel welcomed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNorsell, General Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Loz H,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback.

We are definitely in a prime location close to all the shopping areas and popular restaurants in the City.

I am pleased that you were happy with your room however I am disappointed in the service you received on arrival. Our team do take every effort to welcome all of our guests and I am surprised you were made to feel inadequate. I apologise for your disappointment on this occasion.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Adelaide.

Yours sincerely,

Peer Norsell
General Manager
Hilton Adelaide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Property: Hilton Adelaide
Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing