We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Claridges, but good enough”
Review of Hilton Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #18 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Having stayed at the Hilton at least annually over the last 15 years or so I have to say it has improved in several ways over the past year or so, while backsliding in others. The staff generally has always been very welcoming and obliging, though the Executive Club seems to be run by a Victorian school ma'am - not many smiles there. Recent room make-overs have made them very stark, very minimalist, yet extremely comfy - great beds. Reworked bathrooms - without a bath - are a disappointment, though smart, but the showers are amongst the best I've seen. Room service is excellent, and the $25 eat-what-you-like buffet in the ground floor restaurant is outstanding for quality, quantity and value. The young - and more mature - bar staff are variably friendly, efficient, impressive. The best of them are excellent - the worst time-serving job experience standard. The reworked mezzanine floor decor dominating the ground-floor lounge area is a total aesthetic disaster , facias resembling the industrial filter elements on a nuclear power-station outfall (trust me). The clear glass and gilt '70s style they replace (or obscure) was IMMENSELY preferable. Generally, the old place looks its age in the public areas, but good money has been well spent in the rooms themselves. In a funny kind of way I'm very fond of the old place - and I still believe it's still this beautiful and proud city's finest. With a little extra polish - and one or two more staff smiles and/or better training - it would rate a full five stars. As it is I'd rate it four with a small plus...can do better.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,304 - 2,310 of 2,488 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2009

We stayed here from a Thursday through to a Sunday. I'll go through it piece by piece :-)

CHECK IN/OUT: Easy, hassle free, very friendly and helpful staff. It was great to go up to our room and find a platter of local produce (cheese, nuts, oils, crackers, etc) and two complimentary bottles of water, too. I think this is because it was the executive level - not sure. Checking out was easy at the exec lounge, but it took them a while to get our car back (20mins?)

VALET: Again, very good, even when the Christmas Pagent blocked off the whole street. That said, it's $28 a day for valet and it is only $18 a day for the place they stored our car at. So if you don't mind the 3min walk you can save yourself some cash ;-)

ROOMS: Fabulous. We had two rooms on the 17th floor. The bathrooms were huge, the toiletries were great (Crabtree and Evelyn, not some no frills brand), the bed was soft and comfy. The pillows were way too soft so we ordered some new ones and they were brought up within 2 minutes. The room our friends stayed in (next door to ours) had a small hole in the wall though, and on the second day one of our access cards to our room stopped working. Only minor setbacks though and definitely didn't detract from the overall experience.

EXEC LOUNGE: We used this for breakfast on three days and canapes/drinks on two evenings. The only complaint I have here is that despite the 'smart casual' dress code and 'exclusivity' of the lounge, on one of the evenings there were children running around, screaming, and throwing chips etc on the floor. Not the Hiltons fault, though - parents should learn to control their children, or not bring them to such a place. Not cool. This was only 1 of the 5 times we visited though - the other times were fine. The food here was great (canapes consisted of spring rolls, mini pies, cheeses, breads, the usual) and the wine/spirits/beers/soft drinks selection was good too. The staff here were wonderful.

BRASSERIE: I didn't really like it. Of the four of us, only one of us had a meal that they were really impressed with. Our matched wines were delicious though. Four mains and four glasses of wine came to $181 which isn't too bad in my opinion, but the servings could have been bigger and, well, nicer. Shame because after watching the chef on 'The Cook and the Chef' on the TV I was really looking forward to this!

OTHER: Nice spa, sauna and pool. Room service was prompt and friendly. Minibar was well stocked. Free bottled water daily.

In summary - great staff, great hotel, overall experience very positive and enjoyable :-)

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onlysometimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

I have been a regular visitor to the Hilton Adelaide over the past few years. I admit that it has been some time as the rooms (other than the executive levels or business rooms) still dated back to the 1970's.

I was attending a ball at the hotel so it made sense to also spend the night where the ball was being held. As it was a flyin / fly out visit there was no need for any of the executive level trappings. I ensured I was booked into a refurbished room. I was pleasantly surprised at how nicely they had turned out.

The rooms now have a modern and fresh feel with all new furniture and trimmings including flat panel televisions. What was even better was that they had taken time to completely renovate the bathrooms. They are now excellent. Even though mine did not have a bath (which did not bother me but for some it might) it was such an improvement. They are still pretty small but serve their purpose.

I know the hotel gets mixed reviews, some of which it deserves. Give the place another go but make sure the room is refurbished.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wockinwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Stayed 3 nights on the 14th floor. great views + great service. Also - has a great atmosphere in the lobby bar and restaurants. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pico74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

We stayed at the Hilton for 1 night (a Friday night) with the King Hilton Deluxe Plus package which included buffet breakfast and a 2 course dinner in the Brasserie.

Our room (1820) was of a good size on the top floor, overlooking Victoria Square. The room was quiet. The bathroom was great – spacious and with a great shower. It was nice to be able to open the window slightly to let in some fresh air too. The 2 (complimentary) bottles of water provided in the room were a nice touch. The bed was comfortable, not too firm, nor too soft.

Service throughout the hotel was friendly and efficient.

We particularly enjoyed the South Australian dinner in the Brasserie and the buffet breakfast (with South Australian produce).

Valet parking service was fine although the instructions for the self parking option were confusing and hard to read (bad photocopy, difficult to read street names).

Express check out was great.

The hotel is very well situated in the heart of the city. The Adelaide Central markets is next door and there are a few bars and a lot of cafes and restaurants within a block of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Sensational location with such helpful and friendly staff - the concierge staff were particularly helpful and full of local knowledge.
Right across the road from tram stop to Glenelg etc. and a short stroll from Rundle Mall.
Very well run by the looks of things also
Cheers

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

The best part of the hotel is the area it is in, so close to Adelaide market and restaurants. But that is a far a I would go for this hotel. I was very disappointed, It is supposed to be a 5 star hotel, I stayed in an Executive Room. The room did not look the best, dirty carpet, rip in the doona cover and a hole in the sheet. It has put me of staying at any Hilton hotels ever again.
John

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlw1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 55 in Adelaide
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 55 in Adelaide
3,785 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 55 in Adelaide
1,418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#6 of 55 in Adelaide
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £92 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing