We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like a Hilton”
Review of Hilton Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Adelaide
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just like a Hilton”
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Hilton hotels are always an interesting proposition. They're definitely a product of their time and some really show it. The Adelaide Hilton is certainly above average and once boasted 2 highly regarded restaurants. It now doesn't have the restaurant reputation, but does have a decent foyer and bar.

The rooms here are okay, they are a bit tired in the standard config. The fridge was noisy when we stayed and the room service was pretty ordinary. Rooms are clean and generally comfortable. Hotel staff are courteous and helpful.

The shining jewel in the crown here is the location. Right near the Central Markets and a number of very good restaurants (Both upmarket and cheap eats).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiggingInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    890
    380
    116
    88
See reviews for
180
800
165
809
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Our room wasn't ready at check in
We only had 2 pillows for our entire 3 night stay (cleaner told us the previous guests had stolen them! But they were not replaced)
Room wasn't cleaned daily as requested - had to go to reception and ask again.
Concierge didn't know best places to eat/drink around the city - not very helpful
Room key cards didn't work properly and had to be replaced almost daily.
Hire car organised through concierge came with hidden costs (and early as they had double booked - waking us up!)
Overall - not the quality and service you would expect from a Hilton Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suse_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsADH, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Adelaide, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of Hilton Adelaide through Tripadvisor. Naturally we were concerned to read your review and would certainly like the opportunity to discuss the issues you have outlined with your personally. Please feel free to contact us at adelaide@hilton.com. We look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
154 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

To some extent, a Hilton is a Hilton, but this one is better than average. As gold Hilton Honors members, we were given access to the Executive Lounge and free breakfast ... one of the best buffets we've experienced. We did not eat dinner in the restaurant, but wished we had. The chef specializes in regional cuisine, and the prices looked reasonable.
The location is not bad, but most of the tourist activities are in the area around the river, about 15 minutes by foot from the Hilton. Some people might prefer to stay in a hotel nearer the river.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoySandlapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We stayed at the Hilton and loved our experience in the middle of the CBD. Susc a contrast from being in the country like our last stay.
Excellent service and great proximity to shopping and all that.
We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryandJackTravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Good quality hotel in a great location.

They didn't deliver on the confirmed room type but no other issues.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieStrategist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

After trying most of the 5 star hotels in Adelaide over the past couple of years, the recent upgrades to the Hilton have really put it in front of the others.

The rooms are now modern and very well laid out. The service is attentive - I've always had a greeting at the door, and have always had fast check-in.

I also particularly like the options and value of the room service menu. The breakfast I recently ordered of eggs benedict, surprisingly came with sides of hash browns and tomato, which was a pleasant surprise, especially when the meal cost less than I would have expected in the first place.

The restaurant downstairs is also exceptional, with great local produce, and meals of a very high standard.

For me, the only down side, is that a lot of the rooms don't have baths - only showers. And that the king sized beds only have two fairly basic pillows on them.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdwylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights with parents, we were upgraded to the executive suite on the topmost floor for a modest price which was lovely. Hotel is just opposite Victoria Square and you can catch a tram to Glenelg beach from right across the hotel. The Central Market is just around the corner, as are tonnes of cafes and restaurants and pubs. The hotel itself is great, very helpful staff and a fantastic breakfast spread. Concierge helped us plan our itinerary and get us our rental car sorted. It was pretty crowded but we never had to wait too long to get a seat or be served at the restaurants or at the front desk. All in all a very good experience and I'll recommend this hotel to all my friends!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chetan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.5 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Adelaide

Property: Hilton Adelaide
Address: 233 Victoria Sq, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#16 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Adelaide and South Australia. Centrally located in the heart of the city, overlooking Victoria Square, Hilton Adelaide is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or both! This hotel is just a stone’s throw from Adelaide’s shopping, dining, theatre and business precincts. Next door is the famous Adelaide Central Market and around the corner you will find Chinatown and Gouger Street, Adelaide’s largest restaurant precinct. Getting around is easy when you stay at Hilton Adelaide, at its doorstep is the free city tram taking you directly to seaside Glenelg or along North Terrace to the Adelaide Casino, Convention Centre, Entertainment Centre, Festival Centre and Rundle Mall. An easy stroll away from the hotel is Adelaide Oval, River Torrens and historical North Terrace. South Australians pride themselves on enjoying the good life, particularly the joys of fine wine and food. Hilton Adelaide's proximity to so many of the best wineries in the country including McLaren Vale and the Adelaide Hills, which guests can see from their rooms. On the outskirts of the city is lush countryside and 20 minutes by car or tram, lies the natural beauty of unspoiled beaches. SLEEP: Designed with the discerning traveller in mind, Hilton Adelaide's great choice of 374 accommodation rooms, ranging from stylish Deluxe rooms to the exclusive luxury of the Executive Floor and suites, set the standard for accommodation in South Australia. As a standard, each guest room offers individually controlled air conditioning, Foxtel Digital, pay movies, WIFI. Other amenities include mini bar, hairdryer, safes, tea and coffee making facilities. Smoking and special needs rooms are available. RELAX: The Executive Lounge boasts views over this beautiful city and towards the coast and offers a dedicated reception area for personalised check-in and check-out. Continental Buffet Breakfast, afternoon refreshments, evening cocktails and canapes are served exclusively to Executive Floor guests along with complimentary WIFI. ENJOY: Hilton Adelaide boasts extensive leisure facilities including a gym, sauna, an outdoor heated swimming pool and tennis court with a jogging track exclusively available to all hotel guests. WINE DINE & HAVE FUN: The latest edition to Hilton Adelaide’s food & beverage offering is Coal Cellar + Grill. Bringing it back to basics and true to its name, the menu highlights the best of South Australia’s produce using a variety of cooking methods including the feature charcoal grill and rotisserie. The wine choice is abundant with over 500 labels listed, majority from South Australia and all on display in the Cellar. The restaurant and lounge compliments the popular cocktail destination in Adelaide – The Collins Bar, so guests visiting, meeting or sleeping at Hilton Adelaide will not need to leave to have a fun night out! Coal Cellar + Grill is Seriously South Australian®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Hilton International Adelaide
Adelaide Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing