We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small zoo definitely worth a visit”
Review of Adelaide Zoo

Adelaide Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.23*
and up
Adelaide Zoo General Entry Ticket
Ranked #7 of 205 things to do in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Adelaide Zoo, one of Adelaide's most iconic attractions, is home to more than 3,000 animals and 250 species of exotic and native mammals, birds, reptiles and fish exhibited over eight hectares of magnificent botanic surroundings. Situated next to the Botanic Gardens, Adelaide Zoo is open every day of the year from 9:30am to 5pm and this amazing wildlife experience is only a 15 minute walk from the city.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A small zoo definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Adalaide zoo was smaller than i imagined. Therefore wandering around is quiet easy. You are given a map of zoo at the entrance which also shows the feeding times of the animals. We watched the talk and feed show of the two hippos which was quiet informative and exciting.
And you should not miss two adorable pandas feeding themselves with bamboos. Funi amd Wang Wang waiting for you.
The entrance fee is 32 AUD for adults and 22 AUD for children up to 14 years.

Helpful?
Thank SebnemZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,150
    821
    256
    50
    30
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spend a day here.!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The kids thought "oh no" they wanted to go shopping at the Mall & didn't want to go to a Zoo. After spending the whole day in the Zoo, they said that they were glad they went. There were happy to see the Pandas & walking around the whole Zoo looking for other animals to take photos of too. We ended the day in the souvenir shop, they spent all their pocket money buying things to remind them of their day at the Zoo. Great for families & we all enjoyed our day here. Don't miss the Pandas, Funi & Wang wang.!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Jaystar1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best little zoo”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The wonderful garden surrounds in this zoo I think come from the fact that it was originally part of the botanic gardens, so not only do you have a wonderful collection of animals but amazing plants and trees and secluded corners to picnic in. The Chinese pandas looked very happy in their well designed enclosures, munching contentedly on a huge supply of bamboo, not at all perturbed by the fact that not 20 feet away were fascinated people. Worth the visit just to see them...
The signage and information given for the various animals was informative and interesting. None of the animals were remote but neither did their quarters look cramped or uncomfortable. A very well designed zoo and a great day out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jean707_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ultima
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You just have to visit the Adelaide zoo”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We as a family of 5 visited the zoo primarily to see the pandas, after 5 hour drive, it was well worth the long drive. The Pandas were gorgeous, absolutley gorgeous. Their enclosure is not deep so they are able to be seen up close. they sat there just munching thier bamboo and just as happy to look at us. On my honeymoon 26 years ago we visited Melbourne zoo where they had a visiting panda display, and you only were able to file past and look at these stunning bears, but at Adealide, it was our priviledge to go back several times through the day.
We saw many other beautiful anmials and creatures. We were encouraged by a keeper to go to a hands on display he was going to be showing wombats, possums, bilbys etc and he was so knowledgeable ( Brett was his name) and so in love with his animals and job. 5 stars to this man.
On leaving the zoo there was a man in a panda costume, hi 5 ing everyone as you left, photos etc, we left in hysterical laughter ( i think he liked my 23 yr old daughter a bit much!!) awesome photos.
a wonderful day was had.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good, interesting”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

My recent trip to Adelaide Zoo was quite good. I was in Adelaide, and I went to see the giant pandas. From the zoos that I have been to in the past, this one seems more special than the others. It took up a few hours and the presentation were good, explaining about South Australia's animals worth going to. Had a very good day at the Adelaide Zoo and may well go back in the future if I visit Adelaide again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lukethetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adelaide Zoo also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Adelaide Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing