We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went to see Aboriginal artwork”

Tandanya, National Aboriginal Cultural Institute Inc.
Ranked #70 of 203 things to do in Adelaide
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tandanya is a visionary and vibrant place to explore and experience contemporary and traditional Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander culture, through visual art and performings. Walk through art exhibitions or take a tour, watch a cultural presentation and performance (by appointment), browse through our Gallery Shop or hire one of many spaces in our amazing building.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Went to see Aboriginal artwork”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We went to see the Aboriginal artwork, as my partner is interested in the lifestyle being told in art. When we went, we were told that the current exhibition is on and the tradtional artwork would not be available until after 26th January. We were then given a lecture on why the Aboriginal people do not celebrate Australia Day, the call it envasion day.. Which I took offence too, as we felt that the women was giving us a lecture to why they call it this and that refering to 'whiteman' is a shocking way to represent Tandanya. Will not be returning and will not be recommending.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank adelaidesummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    11
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tandanya”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

Excellent changing exhibitions of with works for sale and a gift shop. Well worth a visit to get an overview of aboriginal and Torres Strait islander artistic heritage.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank F P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

I expected a lot more although the exhibition they had was very good. They could have had more permanent art.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dirtracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Tandanya, National Aboriginal Cultural Institute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

I am so proud of this indigenous Galley. Exhibiting contemporary and traditional works in a variety of mediums. They support emerging artists which is so important.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank weelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We came wanting to see some examples of Aboriginal Culture. The admission fee is very reasonable. First we viewed many examples of aboriginal art and learned the stories behind many of them, and the different styles and materials used. We were tempted to buy one painting. We had a presentation about the yidaki and a demonstration of how it is played. It was a very informative visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ruckenbackdos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tandanya, National Aboriginal Cultural Institute Inc. also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Tandanya, National Aboriginal Cultural Institute Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing