We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franklin Central Apartments
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Would recommend”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice now for extended periods of time (3-6 weeks). These apartments are very spacious and offer all suitable amenities including washing machine & clothes dryer.

The rooms were serviced frequently and consumables replenished (ie tea, coffee, washing liquid etc).

1 major negative for me is the noise. Not street noise but from inside the apartment block. The main bedroom is literally situated right on the hallway, so you hear everything. People coming and going, people talking, doors slamming etc and this is not just from your own floor but the one above and below as well.

I slept on the fold out bed in the loungeroom for the duration of both my stays to ensure a good nights sleep. However the fold out is not very comfy so had to resort sleeping in the bed every now and then but was always awoken by the noise from others.

The lift is very very slow so be patient :)

Other than that. This place comes recommended

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mich3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am so pleased that you have had an enjoyable stay with us on both occasions.

As you mention our apartments have full kitchen and laundry facilities.

I am sorry to hear that you were woken by noises in the property. Next time you stay with us, please request a quieter room and we will certainly try to assist you.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    307
    90
    32
    16
See reviews for
248
192
35
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed here earlier this month and enjoyed the experience

Apartments are well located, within walking distance of most of central Adelaide, and pretty spacious and clean. Plus, a reasonable number of tv channels

Front desk staff were helpful

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jag79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us.

As you mention, our apartments are spacious and have full kitchen and laundry facilities.

We also do have 10 FREE Foxtel Channels and 2 FREE movie channels.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Went to Adelaide for 5 days business trip.

The apartment is nice and clean; it comes with 2 bedrooms (queen & single) and full kitchen facilities.

It comes with Pay-TV which is a surplus; the only missing is gym/pool area.

The location is not as central as other apartments/hotels, but sufficient for my work purposes (2 minutes from my work place).

Will definitely choose this apartment again in the future.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Televisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay in our apartments. As you mention out location is fantastic and our apartments spacious.

We look forward to having you stay with us when you next travel to Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We booked a three bedroom apartment. The bedrooms are spacious, the laundry room is workable and the kitchen is fully furnished. The staffs at the front desk are very friendly. The housekeeping is OK.

The location of this apartment is fantastic! Most of the places example the Bus Station, Central Market, Victoria Square and trams are within walking distance.

This is one boutique apartment I highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moniqee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for your Review.

I an pleased that you had an enjoyable stay in our property.

As you do mention, our location is wonderful and our apartments are spacious and feature full kitchen and laundry facilities.

We look forward to having you stay with us when you next travel to Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escocia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My wife and I spent a week in these apartments from 24-31 October 2013.
The title is not a typo. It is genuinely located in a great position. It is about 3 minutes walk from Victoria Square and the Cathedral. Then there is the Central Market about the same distance. A wonderful place to visit and shop, if you wish. It is huge and full of characters selling just about anything. We were not happy with the first room we were offered at the Apartments as it was directly opposite the lift and smaller than other rooms. The room we then were given was excellent, quiet, spacious and with all the usual appointments. The room was kept well and sheets changed twice in the week.
There is free WiFi available in the Foyer for 20 mins a day. Really slow and hardly worth the hassle. We just used the Free WiFi in the cafes we visited for emails etc.
Staff were very friendly and willing to help.
Central Adelaide is surrounded by North, South, East and West Terraces. A Tram runs from the south to Glenelg on the coast. Glenelg is a lovely place and well worth a visit. This tram is free from South Terr To North Terr and runs along King William Street with many shops and cafes along the way.
There is also a free Tourist bus that tours the city. Certainly worth a couple of runs till you familiarise yourself with the area.
Rundle Mall is off King William Street (the main street) and is a colourful shopping area.
Along South Terr is the South Australia Government buildings and the Museum. Again worth a visit.
Port Adelaide is a 20 minute bus ride recommended to us. I have to say I was not impressed. Perhaps it was because the weather was not nice that day. Or perhaps it was because the café we visited was not of the best and expensive. (one of those you can't guess from outside)
Adelaide is one of the friendliest Cities I have visited and would love to revisit if ever I had the opportunity. It is a place I would have lived..... if I was 30 years younger :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist01Escocia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am pleased that you had a wonderful stay in our property.

As you mention, our property is centrally located and our apartments are spacious and feature full kitchen and laundry facilities.

We are in the process of installing free WiFi throughout the whole building.

We look forward to having you stay with us next time you are in Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

a very easy place to stay if using public transport. you can walk up from the interstate bus station in franklin st and only one block or so is the trams in victoria square- free around the city or take a ride to glenelg beaches and restaurants. one street south is the central market for supplies for your kitchen.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good as the bedrooms are on the inside of the building- they dont face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magpiegirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

As you mention in your review, our location is excellent and the apartments are quiet and spacious.

We look forward to having you stay with us when you next travel to Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is a great central location to stay in Adliade as was handy to restaurants and the central shopping mall and botanic gardens. While it is somewhat older than other establishements the room sizes especially the combined laundry and batroom and kitchenette were very serviceable. Located on a side street the apartments were very quite and the staff very friendly and helpful. My wife and I would certainly recomend it as a place to saty in Adelaide. This was our first trip to Adelaide and we were most impressed with the city and the tours we took to the surrounding districts.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review.

It is always wonderful to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay in our property.

As you mention our property is in a great location and with full kitchen and laundry facilities.

I will certainly ensure that the staff are made aware of your comments.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.6 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,241 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,075 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklin Central Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin Central Apartments

Property: Franklin Central Apartments
Address: 36 Franklin St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Franklin Central Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franklin Central Apartments offer a range of refurbished, modern self-contained, serviced apartments with many hotel style services, making them ideal for any length of stay.Franklin Central Apartments are superbly located in the heart of Adelaide's central business district, within easy walking distance of many Adelaide highlights including the Adelaide Convention Centre, casino, arts precinct, Rundle Mall shopping, Central Market and Gouger Street cafes. We are also located only a 3 minute walk from the Seven day Coles Supermarket, great for buying and preparing what you want when you want.We cater for the Corporate Traveller, providing High speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless Internet in our Cafe and Conference room, even if only for one night Apartment accommodation is the most comfortable and cost effective solution.Also for the corporate traveller, we are walking distance to Adelaide Convention Centre, Waymouth Street, Grenfell Street, Currie Street, King William Street and Pirie Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Franklin Central Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Central Apartments Adelaide
Franklin Central Apartments Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing