We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay at Franklin Central Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Franklin Central Apartments
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Franklin Central Apartment”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

5-10 min walk to Chinatown, Central Market, Coles supermarket and tram station.

5 min walk from Adelaide Bus Station.

Well equipped with all cooking amenities including microwave and oven (we stayed in a one bedroom apartment with a sofa bed).

On the first night, I was unable to figure out how to open the sofa bed but a check with the ladies rectified that.

The aircon strength also differs from room to room. It work well enough in our first room but air con in the next room that we stayed in (we came back a few days later) was too cold for our liking.

Security tag is required to enter the building after 7pm and to use the lift.

Free wifi works very well (from 2nd floor) (ask the reception for your password).

The reception will also call a cab for you in advance without extra charge.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CurlyMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am certainly pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

As you do mention we have a fantastic location being only 5 minutes walk to Coles supermarket and the famous Central Markets.

All of our apartments are fully equipped with full kitchen and laundry facilities and are spacious.

Our Free wifi is unlimited and without data limits, so this is excellent for all guests.

I am also pleased that our reception team provided wonderful service as usual.

We look forward to having you stay with again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    297
    87
    30
    16
See reviews for
239
186
29
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My family of 4 stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 3 nights. Exterior of building and room looked a bit dated but bedroom and living room were of decent size with basic kitchen utensils. Location was quiet and good, just a very short walk to supermarket and eateries. Shopping malls were not too far off as well.
On our 2nd evening back to the apartment, we discovered that our apartment was not cleaned despite we have indicated on the door that we required make room service. We went to the receptionist to check, the reply was that our room was cleaned as stated in their records. Unhappy with the explanation, there is nothing they can do except to offer clean towels. Bags of rubbish ( we cooked on 1st night ) had to sit in the kitchen for another day! This was our 1st time in years of travelling that such things happened, the management needs to investigate and clean up their act.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhuaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

As you mention in your review our location is fantastic and our apartments spacious and have full kitchen facilities and laundry facilities.

I will certainly follow up with housekeeping in regards to the cleaning of your apartment.

We look forward to having you stay with us next time you travel to Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I'm not sure if our apartment was typical of the others, but I suspect it was.

We were on the third floor, with only two exterior windows and very little natural light. The master bedroom window looked out into the hallway coridoor (no natural light) and the second bedroom had no window at all. The interiors were certainly grim!

However the lounge area was spacious enough, and the kitchen had all that was necessary for cooking simple meals. The water pressure and temperature were good, and the wireless worked well, with the receptionist adjusting it to be accessible to multiple devices (it is usually limited to two devices).

I stayed for four nights with friends, and didn't really find the bed that comfortable so slept patchily for the duration of my stay. Aside from this it was quiet, and the no-windows thing meant it was sufficiently dark in the second bedroom!

While the facilities were adequate, I enjoy windows and natural light too much to want to stay here again, however if you don't intend spending any time in the apartment except to sleep then it could be fine.

Room Tip: Ask for something with more that two windows, and a bit more natural light! Perhaps higher is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Australian_Argonaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

As you do mention in your review, our apartments have full kitchen and laundry facilities.

Our Free WiFi , as you also mention, is not limited just one device. Our WiFi is available on unlimited devices.

We certainly do hope to see you again next time you travel to Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Franklin Central Apartments is exactly that, very central! Right in the Adelaide CBD, near the markets, cafe's and free tram access. The apartments were spacious and well laid out. The bed was comfortable. It had basic kitchen items, nothing special but did the job. There is car parking available however it is very tight to get the car in and out of the car park. The apartment is ok for little ones but I did notice there were some things that were not baby proofed e.g. hanging cords from the blinds etc. If any management or owners of Franklin apartments are reading this I would recommend basic baby proofing of your apartments, so it is as safe as possible. All in all we had a great stay and would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieSightseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.

As you mention our apartments are in a fantastic location and have all the amenities that you could require.

We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you travel to Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Great place for families. Separate bedroom plus sofa bed in lounge was a real plus. Staff were very friendly. Apartment was nice & clean. Short walk to eat strip including china town & central market. Only issue was a very very slow elevator. Great value for price.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

As you mention in your review our location is fantastic and next to the famous Central Market.

We look forward to having you stay with us next time you travel to Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I was originally booked to stay at quest but 20 minutes after check in, I checked out. I went down the road to this hotel and from the moment i walked in the staff we're so welcoming and professional. We had a 3 bedroom suite which was massive. It was absolutely beautiful. The master bedroom has a queen bed and an ensure, the second room had a queen bed and the third room had a single bed. There is so much room in these apartments and so clean and comfortable. It has it's own laundry in the room too which is a plus. The hotel location is really good and there's a coles supermarket just on the next block over.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarett K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you do mention our Three Bedroom Apartments are spacious and also feature full kitchen and laundry facilities

As you also mention our location is wonderful and we have the Central Markets also one street away.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful review and i look forward to having you stay with us again when you next travel to Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,015 reviews
0.6 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#7 of 57 in Adelaide
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklin Central Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin Central Apartments

Property: Franklin Central Apartments
Address: 36 Franklin St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Franklin Central Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franklin Central Apartments offer a range of refurbished, modern self-contained, serviced apartments with many hotel style services, making them ideal for any length of stay.Franklin Central Apartments are superbly located in the heart of Adelaide's central business district, within easy walking distance of many Adelaide highlights including the Adelaide Convention Centre, casino, arts precinct, Rundle Mall shopping, Central Market and Gouger Street cafes. We are also located only a 3 minute walk from the Seven day Coles Supermarket, great for buying and preparing what you want when you want.We cater for the Corporate Traveller, providing High speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless Internet in our Cafe and Conference room, even if only for one night Apartment accommodation is the most comfortable and cost effective solution.Also for the corporate traveller, we are walking distance to Adelaide Convention Centre, Waymouth Street, Grenfell Street, Currie Street, King William Street and Pirie Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franklin Central Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Central Apartments Adelaide
Franklin Central Apartments Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing