We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franklin Central Apartments
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
victoria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“just right”
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Great place to stay - usually stay in Glenelg for the Tour Down Under but couldn't get in and this was the only place at short notice. Not disappointed and would stay there without hesitation. Sure the lift was a little slow but usually there were others waiting to have a chat with. The car park wasn't for the faint hearted but it was on site and secure. Well fitted apartments (missed a balcony but you can't have everything). Good quality linen, well fitted kitchen and bathroom/laundry. Having the sofa bed was a bonus on the hot nights and being able to sleep under the airconditioner.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glgVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 14 February 2010
Thank you for your excellent review. We are ideally located for any length of stay. We hope to see you again soon !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    308
    90
    32
    16
See reviews for
248
192
35
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Room did not lock, housekeeping did not clean, housekeeping did not lock the door, management was not interested at all, maintenance supervisor not called even though we requested this, Disgraceful attitude from staff. $300.00 PER NIGHT we expected better value for our money and better service. Definitely DO NOT STAY.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redvfr750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller32, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 19 February 2010
Thank you for your response. We have addressed your issues via email directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Tthey were ok, close to shopping, but a bit noisy, both inside and outside the hotel

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essexshezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 14 February 2010
Thank you for your review.

Franklin Central Apartments is located within easy walking distance to the Central Market and its shopping within.

We hope to see you again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Very good service from friendly staff
The rooms were well equiped and spacious
Good location for restaurants and shopping

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommo23Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 14 February 2010
Thank you for your Glowing review.

We do strive towards excellent customer service and believe our rooms are well equipped with Full Kitchen and Laundry facilities.

we hope to see you next time you visit Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2009

If the kiosk was open 2-3 nights per week, we believe it would be a good compliment to the venue. Staff there have been well trained, especially Mary. The only issue we had was with the smoke detector in the room, constantly going off.
You should be very proud of your staff, and reward them when applicable.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cozzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 14 September 2009
Thank you very much for your glowing review! We hope to see you again soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
142 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

This was very basic accommodation within walking distance to most of Adelaide's attractions. It felt like a YMCA from the 70s.
Its biggest bonus is that it is close to the Adelaide Markets. These are worth a visit. They also have some very inexpensive breakfast bars.
China Town is around the corner. Restaurants were a mixed bunch. The frozen food/microwave chefs were in abundance!
Adelaide is a very quiet City. It appears to be stuck in the '80s.
The Art gallery is worth a vist as is the Museum next door.
While in Adelaide catch a tram to Glenelg. Experience the sea shore. I was rather disappointed to find that Glenelg has lost a lot of its charm and is starting to look like Surfers Paradise in the '80s!
Stay at the Franklin Apartments if you have to catch up with washing etc. Otherwise, I am sure there is better ,quieter accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 14 September 2009
Thank you for your comments and feedback regarding our property and city..

We have just completed a refurbishment on all apartments and hope you are able to come back and enjoy the fresh and modern new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

The Franklin apartments are in a great location, just a quick walk into Rundle Street Mall and only a block away from the Central Markets. The front lobby is a little deceiving as it would seem that they have recently renovated the apartments and given it a facelift. However the rooms have not been renovated and are looking a little tired.
One of the biggest issues about the Franklin apartments is sound. The walls are so thin that you can hear the people in the apartment next door make the slightest movement. I slept on the sleeper sofa in the lounge and was woken on the first morning at 6am by our neighbour watching a movie; singing; eating breakfast; sneezing. I could hear it all! But being in one of the bedrooms wasn't necessarily any better, for some reason the main bedrooms have a window that connect to the hallway outside. So when other patrons return to their rooms in the early hours of the morning, you get woken up with their loud laughing, talking etc.
We had an unpleasant experience one night. We returned to our apartment around 11pm, one of my family members was staying in the single bedroom, he went into his bedroom and could clearly hear the clock radio alarm going off in the empty room next door. It continued for quite awhile and made it impossible to sleep. As there was no one on reception we called the after hours number. We were told in no uncertain terms that there was nothing that could be done as there was no one on the premises. Whoever we spoke to was very unhelpful, and when we made a second phone call because the alarm was still going, we were made to feel as if we were being unreasonable or difficult, all we wanted was a decent night's sleep!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NellyC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranklinManager, General Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 18 April 2016
Thank you for your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.3 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.6 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
1,078 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklin Central Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin Central Apartments

Property: Franklin Central Apartments
Address: 36 Franklin St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Franklin Central Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franklin Central Apartments offer a range of refurbished, modern self-contained, serviced apartments with many hotel style services, making them ideal for any length of stay.Franklin Central Apartments are superbly located in the heart of Adelaide's central business district, within easy walking distance of many Adelaide highlights including the Adelaide Convention Centre, casino, arts precinct, Rundle Mall shopping, Central Market and Gouger Street cafes. We are also located only a 3 minute walk from the Seven day Coles Supermarket, great for buying and preparing what you want when you want.We cater for the Corporate Traveller, providing High speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless Internet in our Cafe and Conference room, even if only for one night Apartment accommodation is the most comfortable and cost effective solution.Also for the corporate traveller, we are walking distance to Adelaide Convention Centre, Waymouth Street, Grenfell Street, Currie Street, King William Street and Pirie Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Franklin Central Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Central Apartments Adelaide
Franklin Central Apartments Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing