We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid like the plaque”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franklin Central Apartments
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid like the plaque”
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Worst place I've stayed in 30 years. No windows or air circulation/vents in either bedroom. The "single" room had a cot-like bed and 18" of space on ONE side. We left as soon as we found another place.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123ontheroad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 18 November 2010
We are sorry to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us. We do strive to provide comfortable apartments , suitable for every traveler. If management were aware of the issues that you had, they may have been able to move you to a larger apartment , suitable for your needs. Once again we are sorry to hear they you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    304
    89
    31
    16
See reviews for
240
189
33
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth.Western Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The service we received was excellent from the reception staff and cleaners who we met by accident in the hallway. The rooms were well maintained with the neccessary requirements for guest. for the locations it was great within walking distances to all areas for visitors with no transport. My friend and I enjoyed our 3 day stay in the franklin
central apartments, it was our first overnight stay in Adelaide ever.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank kathybyfordWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 18 November 2010
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Apartments are excellent for long or short terms stays. You are correct in saying that we are close to all public transport and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed here for four nights and chose this place after much deliberation on my part (reading too many comprehensive reviews!)
I requested an early check-in (or bag drop) as we were arriving in Adelaide at 8.30am (but wasn't hopeful) so I was pleasantly surprised when we checked in to be told that our room was ready.
Reception at all times was friendly and helpful, even copying the cinema timetable so we didn't have to buy a paper.
The apartment was a 2 bedroom. Room sizes weren't huge, but having a separate lounge/dining room made up for that. Bathroom and kitchen were clean and included a dishwasher, oven, washing machine and dryer. The lounge room had a large window that overlooked a construction site with the Town Hall clock nearby. The construction site was more interesting than annoying and we certainly weren't bothered by the noise.
The location was excellent, 2 blocks to the Central Markets, 2 blocks to Rundle Mall, 1 block to the tram line/ bus stops and 1 block to the main bus terminal.
There's a fairly ordinary cafe downstairs which is good to have for a quick breakfast or coffee, but there are much nicer places nearby.
A tip for booking - check the hotel's website before booking on wotif, I saved $10 a night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne2516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
Thank you for a very glowing review on our property. We certainly do try and exceed guests expectations and I believe we have done this for you. We are located in a very convenient part of the city. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Just home from four nights at Franklin Central Apartments. Very friendly and helpful staff, very pleasant rooms, ktchen was well equipped. My room was serviced daily including bathroom, which is unusual for serviced apartments - I've stayed in many apartments over the years and there is usually an additional fee for this. Nice and secure - the desk is manned 7am to 11pm, and after hours you need to swipe your key to get in.

Location is great, just a couple of blocks from Rundle Mall for shopping. My office for the week was only a two minute walk up Waymouth. Plenty of restaurants around.

I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlendaSinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
Thank your for your review. We like to offer daily housekeeping( except Sunday's) as a service to our guests. We certainly pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The security for our guests is of the utmost importance and hence we do have swipe fob's for guests only. These are easy to use and gives you peace of mind. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darling Downs
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2010

I've stayed here twice in 2 years now. First time for 2 weeks and the latest trip for 1 week. Each time it feels like a home away from home.
The staff are lovely and very helpful. The rooms are spacious and very clean. We couldn't hear any noise from the street or from the other rooms. The kitchen is well equipped to cook full meals if you don't feel like eating out.
We will always stay here when visiting Adelaide.
We only wish the owners/operators could open similar apartments in Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regulartravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
Thank you for your glowing review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and would be pleased to see you again. At this time we do not have plan to have any properties in Melbourne but that may change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Staff very helpful - nothing was too much trouble in terms of arranging trips, giving advice on how to get where and where was best value

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
Thank you for your review. We do pride ourselves on our customer service and reception can assist with any question or tour bookings. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oz
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

My wife and I stayed with friends in a 3 bedroom unit for three nights. The apartment is big, well appointed and quiet. Staff are friendly and the building is in easy walking distance to most attractions.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin36, Manager at Franklin Central Apartments, responded to this review, 29 July 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our Three Bedroom Apartments are very spacious and have 2 bathrooms. We look forward to having you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.3 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.7 mi away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklin Central Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin Central Apartments

Property: Franklin Central Apartments
Address: 36 Franklin St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#11 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#17 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Franklin Central Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Franklin Central Apartments offer a range of refurbished, modern self-contained, serviced apartments with many hotel style services, making them ideal for any length of stay.Franklin Central Apartments are superbly located in the heart of Adelaide's central business district, within easy walking distance of many Adelaide highlights including the Adelaide Convention Centre, casino, arts precinct, Rundle Mall shopping, Central Market and Gouger Street cafes. We are also located only a 3 minute walk from the Seven day Coles Supermarket, great for buying and preparing what you want when you want.We cater for the Corporate Traveller, providing High speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless Internet in our Cafe and Conference room, even if only for one night Apartment accommodation is the most comfortable and cost effective solution.Also for the corporate traveller, we are walking distance to Adelaide Convention Centre, Waymouth Street, Grenfell Street, Currie Street, King William Street and Pirie Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franklin Central Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Central Apartments Adelaide
Franklin Central Apartments Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing