We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
InterContinental Adelaide
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed there after Christmas 2013 at Club Intercontinental. The Club service was really good, the Club lounge could get busy at certain times but most of the times it was really quiet and cosy with great wi-fi connection. I loved the selection of tea available! The only downside during my stay was with hot breakfast options. No other meat except pork available for hot breakfast either in the Club Lounge or in the restaurant on the ground floor for the nights we stayed there.

Room Tip: Stay in Club levels with river view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perempuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    608
    212
    56
    29
See reviews for
140
614
85
571
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently to celebrate our anniversary. We had a room on the 20th floor with a nice view of the westend of the city towards to coast. The room was nice and bathroom very large. The thing that really impressed us however was the staff. Every one of them was only too happy to help and answer questions or offer help to us. During the stay, we had breakfast that was great, a nice selection of hot food, cereals, fruits and various pastries. Being our anniversary I had arranged for the concierge to have some red roses for my wife in the room as a surprise, again this was done with no fuss, and the flowers were great which she loved. The hotel also made the effort of sending to our room some nice fresh fruit soon after check in as well as another gift of flowers to wish us a happy anniversary.
I can’t recommend this hotel enough, it was fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam_adelaide_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Another great stay at this wonderful Hotel! To all overseas traveller's and interstate people this is the place to stay. I cannot say enough about this Hotel, merely my frequency of stay is a true reflection.
Thank you to the Intercontinental Adelaide- we had a Fantastic stay and Room service was Super after a late night out :)
Nothing is ever to hard for this Hotel ....See you soon- MY Home Away From Home!!

Room Tip: All great rooms but I do favour the high level's with Club access
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank australian1grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

I stayed for 2 nights, had a great time, I love using the spa, very private and a good size.
I also enjoyed the dinner at Riverside, although the service was a bit slow.
Check in and check out went smoothly.
All the staff were attentive and efficient most of the time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebsAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed here for a week that included New Years Eve. We had a club room on the 21st floor that overlooked the city and the hills which we thought was a very nice view. The room was spacious, clean and the mattress was comfortable. The bathroom was large and well appointed with a bath, shower and large vanity. All in all a very nice room but we find we don't spend much time in the room anyway as we are usually out!

As I said it was a club room which entitled us, everyday starting at 5:30, to drinks and a good selection of nibbles (which could almost suffice as dinner). The girls who work there are friendly, helpful and do a good job at keeping the room clean - better than most business class lounges that we've been to!

The breakfast that was included with the room was equally nice as were the servers. I found myself looking forward to it each day as there was an excellent choice of dishes; in fact most days the breakfast carried us through to dinner. The quality and quantity of the food was first rate; they also make egg dishes to your liking, mine was a salmon benedict which was delicious!

I must say, however, that for my wife and I the standout of this hotel was the Chef Concierge (and yes that's not a typo, the correct title is Chef...) Siddhartha Kaul. His friendly manner, helpfulness, knowledge and efficiency were top notch. He helped us book tours, restaurants and had a lot of ideas as to what one can do in Adelaide, not to mention a good level of patience in dealing with us and others that I saw him helping. He is an asset to this hotel and he should be commended for his efforts. In my mind a Concierge can make or break a hotel; Siddhartha helps make this place special.

I give it 4 out of 5 due to the age of the building and some of the finishes, especially when compared to some of the hotels in Asia and other places. However, the staff more than make up for this shortfall and we would not hesitate to stay at this property again.

Room Tip: Get a club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnandJodieBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed over NYE. Noise wasn't too bad, but the view of the fireworks was pretty spectacular!!
Food was passable, but not top quality.
Ambience was quite pleasant.
Room was spacious, and a huge bathroom.
Close to zoo, botanic gardens, and Rundle Mall,
Casino next door, as well as rail station.
Tram stop right out front.
Nice walks along the river.

Room Tip: Always as for rooms away from the lift, the lifts are quiet, but the users are not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Hans Heysen suite, wow it was an amazing suite with 9 rooms. Fresh flowers, club amenities, room service all very good. We had family and friends join us for Christmas breakfast this morning, staff made everyone feel special, and attended to our every need...even a special order of poached eggs all staff were so friendly and charming. We will be back. Thank you Intercontinental.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#16 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Adelaide

Property: InterContinental Adelaide
Address: North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned exclusively along the banks of the River Torrens, adjacent to the Adelaide Festival Centre, Adelaide Convention Centre and the Casino, InterContinental Adelaide effortlessly blends luxury with comfort. Each of our 367 spacious, well appointed guestrooms offer clean designs and an elegant marble bathroom featuring walk-in shower, separate bath and large vanity area. Specifically designed for the needs of the global traveller, each guestroom offers uninterrupted views across the historic city of Adelaide, high speed internet access and a spacious and ergonomically designed work area. For more than two decades the hotel’s collection of 21 suites have been home to world leaders, heads of state and visiting celebrities from across the globe. To take exclusivity and luxury a level further, our Club InterContinental, located on level 21, offers private lounge access for the most discerning of guests. Enjoy an elegant meal in our signature restaurant, Riverside, or indulge in award-winning Japanese cuisine in Shiki. Both restaurants boast extensive wine lists featuring a selection of award-winning Adelaide wines and rare gems designed to complement your dining experience perfectly. The Atrium Lounge provides an elegant, relaxing atmosphere for afternoon tea, cocktails or late-night drinks. It is the ideal place to unwind on a Friday night, with happy hour from 5:00pm and fantastic live entertainment that continues throughout the weekend. Guests seeking to remain active while they travel may enjoy exclusive use of the InterContinental Health and Fitness Centre, offering full gymnasium, personal training on request and an heated outdoor pool. Our Concierge possess unrivaled knowledgeable about insider-experiences and unique events around Adelaide and are delighted to assist guests in planning an authentic Adelaide experience. Those travelling to Adelaide on business may make full use of the hotel’s high-speed internet and ergonomic in-room working areas, or may seek assistance from the Concierge for access to our premium Business Centre services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your InterContinental Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing