We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Adelaide
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Very happy with my stay. Room is very clean, tidy and has the most beautiful views over the river and Adelaide. The bed is comfortable and spacious. Staff are very courteous and helpful. All in all a lovely stay. In a great spot on both train, tram and bus lines. Very convenient.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Bronwyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Bronwyn P,

Thank you for choosing to stay at InterContinental Adelaide and for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel and also found us very convenient to the local transport.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards

James Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,265 - 1,271 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

It is in a good spot but the decor is very tired and the whole place feels depressing because of this.

Service in restaurant was disorganized.

It turns out that you can have a newspaper delivered each day but I only discovered this on the last of my 5 day stay. No mention of it at reception.

You might consider staying here if attending something at the adjacent conference centre but otherwise I'd look elsewhere

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike99au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Mike99au

I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience at InterContinental Adelaide.

It was disappointing to learn that your stay did not meet expectations and that there were shortcomings encountered in both service and communication aspects.

Your comments are very valuable and have been taken on board for ongoing training and continuous improvement.

Kind regards

James Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Having stayed many times when this was the Hyatt this was my first visit since it became an Intercontinental property. The roomsa are still well maintained and spacious, good bathrooms and, if you are lucky, lake views. Staff are friendly and check-in check-out proces is fast and efficient. A great CBD location.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOVO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Novo1

A pleasure to have welcomed you back to the hotel recently as your first visit since changing to the InterContinental Adelaide.

Great to hear you experienced the same hospitality and comfortable surroundings as you had become accustomed to.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

James Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This hotel may have changed from being the Hyatt Hotel however that is about all that has changed.

The rooms are certainly showing their age now and are in dire need of refurbishment. The couch in our room was heavily stained, and the bed duvet was also stained & had dried food stuck to it.

Room service was excellent and very friendly.

Upon checking in we parked our car with the valet & advised that we would need it early the next morning. We called down 15mins prior to departure to advise that we would require the car shortly. After settling our bill we made our way to the valet who pointed to our car which was still parked where it had been all night and no offer was made to bring it to us. Whilst we did complain to the hotel about the quality of our room and the poor valet service there was no real recognition of the state of the room, however we were credited for the cost of the valet. The hotel also advised us that they would comp our next valet park at the hotel. However I doubt we will ever stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the river view rooms until the Adelaide Oval development is finished unless yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hamish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Hamish G,

I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor from your recent visit to the hotel.

I note there were a few shortcomings encountered during your stay for which I extend our apologies. Please rest assured that this is not the usual high standard we pride ourselves on.

May I invite you to contact my office should you be planning a future visit so I may personally ensure your stay is given our best attention.

Kind regards

James Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Beautifully situated on the Torrens River, the location will be even better when Riverbank construction is completed. Adjacent to the Convention Centre, it is brilliant for conferences etc. Rooms here are spacious, service is excellent, and with the choice of two good restaurants, staying here is very comfortable indeed!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarlzL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed on Executive floor with a river view.

Room was nice and had a great view. Only little things let the room down ... such as a clock radio that belongs in a museum, and air-conditioning that says Cooler/Hotter rather than being able to set a temperature.in Celsius.

The breakfast in the Executive Lounge is a mini version of what is available downstairs. Little things also let the lounge down ... such as hot pre-dinner snacks being handed out by staff 1 per person rather than self server. It left you feeling they were trying to cut costs.

Staff were very friendly. Location is great.

I think it is just the little things that leave you feeling it isn't quite five star.

Room Tip: River view is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoneRangerAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear LoneRanger3440

Thank you for relaying your comments following your recent visit to InterContinental Adelaide.

I appreciate and have noted your feedback regarding the clock radio in your guestroom along with the air conditioning control unit.

With respect to the evening canapés, this is a service delivery offered to our Club InterContinental Lounge guests as a more ‘personalised’ experience rather than a hot buffet style. By no means is it a cost cutting method nor a ‘one plate’ entitlement.

Thank you also for mentioning that our staff were very friendly during your stay.

Kind regards

James Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel is amazing. The lobby greets you with such elegance, the reception staff are so approachable and the feel of the hotel straightaway is welcoming.
The rooms are of a very generous size with a separate bath which is a big plus for me. The bed in any hotel is make or break for me and let me tell you... This bed gave me an uninterrupted 9 hours of bliss. Sadly I won't be here again as my company changed us when we stay in Adelaide however if and when I come to Adelaide for leisure this will be my hotel of choice.

I love the old school charm, everything about this property made me smile.

You're in for a treat!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RPK89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear RPKE

Thank you for your very thoughtful comments regarding your experience at our hotel.

A pleasure to learn you have enjoyed your visits and managed a great night’s sleep!

Appreciate your support and we look forward to seeing you when you are visiting Adelaide in the future.

Kind regards

James Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#15 of 56 in Adelaide
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Adelaide

Address: North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £56 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned exclusively along the banks of the River Torrens, adjacent to the Adelaide Festival Centre, Adelaide Convention Centre and the Casino, InterContinental Adelaide effortlessly blends luxury with comfort. Each of our 367 spacious, well appointed guestrooms offer clean designs and an elegant marble bathroom featuring walk-in shower, separate bath and large vanity area. Specifically designed for the needs of the global traveller, each guestroom offers uninterrupted views across the historic city of Adelaide, high speed internet access and a spacious and ergonomically designed work area. For more than two decades the hotel’s collection of 21 suites have been home to world leaders, heads of state and visiting celebrities from across the globe. To take exclusivity and luxury a level further, our Club InterContinental, located on level 21, offers private lounge access for the most discerning of guests. Enjoy an elegant meal in our signature restaurant, Riverside, or indulge in award-winning Japanese cuisine in Shiki. Both restaurants boast extensive wine lists featuring a selection of award-winning Adelaide wines and rare gems designed to complement your dining experience perfectly. The Atrium Lounge provides an elegant, relaxing atmosphere for afternoon tea, cocktails or late-night drinks. It is the ideal place to unwind on a Friday night, with happy hour from 5:00pm and fantastic live entertainment that continues throughout the weekend. Guests seeking to remain active while they travel may enjoy exclusive use of the InterContinental Health and Fitness Centre, offering full gymnasium, personal training on request and an heated outdoor pool. Our Concierge possess unrivaled knowledgeable about insider-experiences and unique events around Adelaide and are delighted to assist guests in planning an authentic Adelaide experience. Those travelling to Adelaide on business may make full use of the hotel’s high-speed internet and ergonomic in-room working areas, or may seek assistance from the Concierge for access to our premium Business Centre services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, IHG, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing