We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room no tables for breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Adelaide
Ranked #9 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Was there for a conference- flew down early so was at the hotel at 10am but they let me in my room. Was large with all the requirements on 15th floor. Next to conference centre and close the the uni. As good as you can get in adelaide I would imagine. Only problem was breakfast. Ludicrously small area, so queuing for a table both days. Appalling state of affairs really, it's just not good enough for such a large hotel having a postage stamp breakfast area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin_qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,722)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Adelaide
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,181 - 1,187 of 1,722 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

As I have said in other reviews, one of the most important thing for me is the quality of wifi, as i am travelling on business a lot. I really resent hotels charging much, if anything, for wifi, especially on top of quite expensive room rates. However comfortable and clean the room, bed and bathroom are, I rarely want to return to a hotel that has either poor quality or relatively expensive wifi. I am afraid on that basis - and this basis alone - it would be unlikely that I will stay here again when I am in Adelaide. Wifi should be a basic amenity and not an extra nowadays. Hotels that fail to realise this will not be the ones I want to stay in!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Michael N

Thank you for recently spending time with us at InterContinental Adelaide and for highlighting your thoughts on our internet service.

From the 1st January 2014 we will be making some significant changes to our IHG Rewards Club program, which is a complimentary membership. This includes, among some other great new benefits, complimentary internet for all members in all IHG hotels.

I appreciate you mentioning the cleanliness and comfort of your room.

Kind regards

James Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were booked here through my husbands work as we had a presentation night at the convention centre. We found the hotel and the staff to be amazing. All the staff were friendly , helpful and just made you feel important. Our room was on the 13th floor and right next to the lifts so we were expecting it to be a little noisy...it wasn`t. The room was cleverly set so you couldn`t hear people walking by your door. Lovely bathroom with a nice deep bath and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. It was our first time to Adelaide so it was great to be staying so central to everything. Convention centre, Casino and train station are 5 mins from your room and the main shopping mall was only a 10 min walk away. The only negative for me was the cost of breakfast ,$35pp, but we soon learnt that there are plenty of places to get breaky close by. I loved this hotel , we will be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Found the staff friendly and efficient. Reception staff were great and that seemed to filter all the through to restaurant staff, bar staff and house staff. Room was good with good view over the Torrens river. Very clean and comfortable. Restaurant proved to very good in terms of choices. Enjoyed our two nights there and would look to going back there when we are next in Adelaide.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed many years ago and was underwhelmed. Room this time was spacious, in good condition and pleasant to stay in. Staff good. Meeting space was good and bar area lively. Only negative was a poor meal in the restaurant but not the end of the world...

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank richmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I spent three nights at the hotel whilst attending a conference at another hotel nearby. The Intercontinental is well-located, being a short walk to the museum and other tourist attractions, restaurants, the river, shopping.
The King room was spacious, well-furnished and clean (as you'd expect for a hotel of this standard). Breakfast, which was included in the room rate, offered very good choices.
Checkin staff were efficient and helpful. The lobby is quite impressive, but smelt stuffy which made it a bit unappealing, each time I returned to it. This was not a major issue, because it was only the lobby however first impressions count.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liz018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have enjoyed wonderful stays at intercontinental hotels in Singapore and Melbourne but Adelaide, what a disappointment. The room was comfortable and overlooking the river but the Club Lounge offered little and unappetizing food, self service drinks and a 5 to 10 minute wait for more sparkling wine? There was worse to come with a visit to the restaurant on the lobby level. We waited for attention to be seated while a waiter stood folding napkins, then our greeting was to ask if we had a reservation, not a welcome. The indifferent female waiter took our meal orders and lamb ordered medium duly arrived. It was well done and vegetables were cold. Not acceptable! A planned 2 night stay became one night only. The only friendly and attentive staff were those on reception. We will not return or recommend this hotel to others.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ballaratx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Ballaratx2,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your most recent stay. We appreciate all feedback from our guests and your comments have been noted.

Thank you too, for recognising our colleagues on the Front Desk for their care and attention during your stay.

Kind Regards,

James Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 56 in Adelaide
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#14 of 56 in Adelaide
2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Adelaide

Address: North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £78 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned exclusively along the banks of the River Torrens, adjacent to the Adelaide Festival Centre, Adelaide Convention Centre and the Casino, InterContinental Adelaide effortlessly blends luxury with comfort. Each of our 367 spacious, well appointed guestrooms offer clean designs and an elegant marble bathroom featuring walk-in shower, separate bath and large vanity area. Specifically designed for the needs of the global traveller, each guestroom offers uninterrupted views across the historic city of Adelaide, high speed internet access and a spacious and ergonomically designed work area. For more than two decades the hotel’s collection of 21 suites have been home to world leaders, heads of state and visiting celebrities from across the globe. To take exclusivity and luxury a level further, our Club InterContinental, located on level 21, offers private lounge access for the most discerning of guests. Enjoy an elegant meal in our signature restaurant, Riverside, or indulge in award-winning Japanese cuisine in Shiki. Both restaurants boast extensive wine lists featuring a selection of award-winning Adelaide wines and rare gems designed to complement your dining experience perfectly. The Atrium Lounge provides an elegant, relaxing atmosphere for afternoon tea, cocktails or late-night drinks. It is the ideal place to unwind on a Friday night, with happy hour from 5:00pm and fantastic live entertainment that continues throughout the weekend. Guests seeking to remain active while they travel may enjoy exclusive use of the InterContinental Health and Fitness Centre, offering full gymnasium, personal training on request and an heated outdoor pool. Our Concierge possess unrivaled knowledgeable about insider-experiences and unique events around Adelaide and are delighted to assist guests in planning an authentic Adelaide experience. Those travelling to Adelaide on business may make full use of the hotel’s high-speed internet and ergonomic in-room working areas, or may seek assistance from the Concierge for access to our premium Business Centre services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing