We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff & Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Adelaide
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Rooms were clean and cozy, staff were friendly and approachable. Casino is next to the hotel . Convenient location and easy to find food. Main shopping area is about 5 minutes walk.

Room was clean but entrance to toilet was a little narrow. Furniture looks a little old but was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trip2barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear trip2barcelona

Thank for your choosing to stay at InterContinental Adelaide recently and for sharing your feedback.

Happy to know your visit was satisfactory and you were appreciative of the clean and cozy room and our friendly team of staff. Appreciate your comments referring to the furniture in your guestroom.

Kind regards

Colin McCandless
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,717)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Adelaide
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,074 - 1,080 of 1,717 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Bathroom and amenities very good. Would stay here again. Breakfast was excellent although not cheap. Pity the wifi is so expensive when there is free wifi in the city.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amcee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear amcee1

Thank you for choosing to stay at InterContinental Adelaide and delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

You mentioned the internet charges. As an IHG Rewards Club Member (it's free to join) you would receive internet access complimentary at IHG properties throughout the world. Please visit www.ihg.com/rewardsclub or simply ask us when you're next visiting.

Appreciate your feedback on the comfortable bed and amenities in your guestroom and it would be a pleasure to welcome you on a future occasion.

Kind regards

Morgan Stephenson
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night. It's in a great location with the entertainment and eating areas around it. We checked in late so we didn't eat in the hotel however we did go downstairs to the bar and had a couple of drinks. The staff are all very friendly and make you feel very welcome. I would say that the hotel could do with a bit of a makeover to bring it up to the usual intercontinental standard. Our bed was nice and comfy and the bathroom had plenty of room with ple Ty of room to leave your toilet bags etc.

We would stay here again just for the location and the friendly staff

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor. It was nice and quiet and away from the lifts.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kitkat071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Kitkat071

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at InterContinental Adelaide. I am delighted you and your partner chose to stay with us.

We value all feedback from our guests and are thrilled you enjoyed the hospitality and service afforded in the Atrium Lounge. Thank you also for mentioning your satisfaction with your comfortable and spacious guestroom.

Kind regards

Colin McCandless
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The rooms on the club floor are nice. Always regret hotels with windows that won't open, but air on works well. The Club, on level 21 is very good for breakfast, hors d'oeuvres and drinks before dinner and afternoon tea. Worth the extra cost, also includes a computer and internet access and ability to print, service is excellent with coffee or tea made and delivered to your seat.

Room Tip: A view towards the river is nice and given the hotel has rooms facing all directions, worth asking
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a_and_ptansey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear a_and_ptansey

Thank you for your complimentary feedback from your recent visit to InterContinental Adelaide.

Delighted to know your experience was enjoyable and you were impressed with our Club InterContinental floor and lounge products. Your feedback is highly valued and I thank you for highlighting your appreciation of a personally delivered tea or coffee to you in the lounge.

Kind regards

Colin McCandless
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed recently for 4 nights, nice hotel wonderful staff and great Japanese restaurant would go back, close to shops and nice eateries, tram outside the door, next to Casino which is old and dated needs an upgrade

Room Tip: We chose the room with a view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brandyboy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Brandyboy2002

Thank you for choosing to stay at InterContinental Adelaide during your recent Adelaide visit.

I was very pleased to hear you enjoyed your four night stay and thank you for highlighting your appreciation of our award-winning Japanese restaurant, Shiki.

Kind regards

Colin McCandless
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We travel to Adelaide a few times a year to attend sporting events and we usually stay at the wonderful Crowne Plaza.

This was our first, and probably last time, staying at the Intercontinental in Adelaide. As Ambassador members and very regular IC guests we were incredibly disappointed that the simple things were not attended to such as:

1. Only one bath robe in the room
2. Dirty (with blood) pillow cases on the spare pillows in the cupboard
3. No water or fruit platter in room, had to ask for them on the second day of our stay if water could be provided
4. No amenities kit in the room, again had to ask for this to be provided
5. "Instant Service" phone not answered
6. Food in the restaurant was very expensive, cold and very slow. Again really disappointed and wish you would bring back the seafood buffet

The rooms are spacious yet "tired" and the air con sucks the air out of the room so each day we woke up feeling dehydrated.

The one great thing about this hotel is the location to the Adelaide Oval.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a river view to see spectacular sunsets
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Samantha B

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay for the first time at InterContinental Adelaide.

It was disappointing to read that this experience was not to your expectations and I appreciate you having brought this to our attention.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your feedback direct and also to know what room you were allocated. Would you be able to contact me at your convenience on email: morgan.stephenson@ihg.com or telephone 8238 2400.

With thanks and kind regards

Morgan Stephenson
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Mum and I stayed here for the weekend. We had a twin share room on the 24th floor. The views were breathtaking. The bathroom was well designed. The only drawback with our room was that it was next to the service elevators.
The Breakfast and afternoon tea were absolutely delicious. The best thing is that the hotel tries to use a lot of local produce. The yoghurt was beautiful and I loved the way the staff asked you if you wanted a coffee made when you walked in to the club. They have a fancy Nespresso machine and it makes awesome coffee....
Krystina, The Club Manager (?) was so polite and helpful. She found us a city map and marked out the route for us so we could buy some red velvet cakes from a boutique bakery. Nothing was too much for her....
This hotel is so central to everything. The staff are so friendly and are full of local knowledge. Great turndown service at night with dirty towels being replaced. One thing that really intrigued me was that the staff were discreet - no trolleys or noisy staff when rooms were being serviced!
Keith, our driver, pointed out lots of things on our way to/from the airport.

I would stay here again.....

Room Tip: Stay away from Sevice lifts. Twin share beds means 2 single (not queen or double) beds unlike other...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ang1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear vijan_1

Thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor and delighted to hear you and your mother thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay at InterContinental Adelaide.

I appreciate your overview of the many areas you experienced during your visit and thank you for congratulating in particular Krystina, our Club Lounge Manager, on her attentiveness.

It was also good to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and afternoon tea and thank you for mentioning your satisfaction with the warm welcome you were afforded with the offer of coffee upon your arrival.

Kind regards

Colin McCandless
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,127 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 57 in Adelaide
2,324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#15 of 57 in Adelaide
2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Adelaide

Address: North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £82 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned exclusively along the banks of the River Torrens, adjacent to the Adelaide Festival Centre, Adelaide Convention Centre and the Casino, InterContinental Adelaide effortlessly blends luxury with comfort. Each of our 367 spacious, well appointed guestrooms offer clean designs and an elegant marble bathroom featuring walk-in shower, separate bath and large vanity area. Specifically designed for the needs of the global traveller, each guestroom offers uninterrupted views across the historic city of Adelaide, high speed internet access and a spacious and ergonomically designed work area. For more than two decades the hotel’s collection of 21 suites have been home to world leaders, heads of state and visiting celebrities from across the globe. To take exclusivity and luxury a level further, our Club InterContinental, located on level 21, offers private lounge access for the most discerning of guests. Enjoy an elegant meal in our signature restaurant, Riverside, or indulge in award-winning Japanese cuisine in Shiki. Both restaurants boast extensive wine lists featuring a selection of award-winning Adelaide wines and rare gems designed to complement your dining experience perfectly. The Atrium Lounge provides an elegant, relaxing atmosphere for afternoon tea, cocktails or late-night drinks. It is the ideal place to unwind on a Friday night, with happy hour from 5:00pm and fantastic live entertainment that continues throughout the weekend. Guests seeking to remain active while they travel may enjoy exclusive use of the InterContinental Health and Fitness Centre, offering full gymnasium, personal training on request and an heated outdoor pool. Our Concierge possess unrivaled knowledgeable about insider-experiences and unique events around Adelaide and are delighted to assist guests in planning an authentic Adelaide experience. Those travelling to Adelaide on business may make full use of the hotel’s high-speed internet and ergonomic in-room working areas, or may seek assistance from the Concierge for access to our premium Business Centre services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing