We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My First Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Adelaide
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Adelaide
Level Contributor
126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“My First Time”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have stayed at many Hotels in Adelaide being a local this was my first time at the Intercontinental main reason its been too Expensive so when I had a chance with Priority Privilege deal for 12 months I booked the Hotel for 2 Nights in a Club Room. From arriving we were met with a very welcome by mostly of the young staff, given our room I left my Partner to sit while I put the car in next doors car park as the hotel was $40 a night. Into the room was a king bed, very comfortable great pillows, good size TV, great bathroom, & this was over looking the city. Club room was very good food, drinks ect. As everyone has said it is close to everything but starting to look a little tired but still shows its luxurious side & expensive, water in room $7.50 a bottle ( In India a top hotel its free) Car parking in other hotels they give you a chit to put your car in near by car park for less then $20.

Room Tip: We were on the 21st floor next to NO noise which was heaven
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Robert M,

Delighted to read that this was your very first visit to InterContinental Adelaide. May I thank you for choosing to experience our hotel and the IHG Priority Privilege dining program.

Your feedback was very informative and I am pleased that you were very happy with the comfort and size of your guestroom and the Club Lounge experience.

Thank you for your thoughts on the valet parking which is appreciated and taken on board.

Kind regards,

Colin McCandless
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    633
    217
    58
    29
See reviews for
148
642
89
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Esperance, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for a Business trip and it was very convenient. Room was very comfortable with great views across the river to the newly renovated Adelaide Oval. Buffet breakfast was nice and the aboriginal courtyard on the Terrace was a nice space away from the pace of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickyjim64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Mickeyjim64,

I would like to thank you for providing your valuable comments on your experience at our hotel and am most pleased you were happy with your time with us.

Appreciate your compliments on the buffet breakfast and your enjoyment of the river and oval views.

Kind regards,
Colin McCandless
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

When we checked in we were greeted by a lovely young man who made us very welcome. The room was beautiful. We had a great view of the city. Loved the bathroom which had speakers in there. The breakfast was to die for. It was close to everything and lots of lovely walks along the river. Thanks for a great stay. We will be back

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Cathy A,

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us. I am glad that you appreciated the welcoming experience afforded to you.

I also acknowledge your comments on the speakers in your guest bathroom - great to know! I am equally pleased you enjoyed the very convenient location of the hotel.

Kind regards,

Colin McCandless
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions and always love the experience of walking through the front foyer. The stand out features are:
* Close to Adelaide Festival Theatre, tram at your door, train next door, restaurants galore, boutique shopping and 5 minute walk to the amazing Adelaide Oval
* Very comfortable beds with plump pillows, lots of storage & large screen TV
* Large marble bathrooms with a deep bath & separate shower
* Superb in-house restaurants & bars plus 24hr room service
* Professional staff ...nothing is too much trouble

Remains one of my favourite Adelaide hotels! Love the fact that there is always a current magazine on the side table to accompany my first glass of wine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trident18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Trident 18,

What a pleasure to have you stay with us at InterContinental Adelaide. I am pleased to know that we excelled once again in contributing to a very memorable stay.

From your comments on the plump pillows right through to your appreciation of a current magazine available to you with your first glass of well deserved wine, I thank you for your valuable feedback.

Please do come and spoil yourself again soon.

Kind regards,

Colin McCandless
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A wonderful work of architecture, wonderful facilities, staffed by wonderfully professional people.

Top marks, easily worth the price.

Lovely clean rooms, with all the small details attended to on returning to the room. Lavish breakfast menu, and brilliant ballroom. Completely enjoyed every minute of my stay, thank you very much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Anders C,

Thank you for reviewing our property following your visit to InterContinental Adelaide.

It is always very pleasing to hear such great feedback from our valued guests and it's through comments such as yours that we can truly gauge how we are performing.

Thank you for mentioning the clean room you stayed in and for complimenting the breakfast menu and the hotel's grand ballroom.

Kind regards,

Colin McCandless
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have travelled to Adelaide a few times now but this is my first time at the InterContinental. It was a very pleasant surprise to experience very friendly, polite and helpful staff in all aspects of the hotel. My room was spacious and clean, with a wonderful view. Also a great location, close to restaurants and sight seeing of the city. Definitely will be staying here the next trip to Adelaide.

Room Tip: Rooms north east have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gocats56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Gocats56,

Thank you for choosing to stay at InterContinental Adelaide for the first time and equally for providing a review of your experience.

Very happy that you were pleasantly surprised with the welcoming hospitality by everyone you encountered. Thank you also for highlighting the spacious and clean guestroom we allocated you to.

Hope to welcome you on your next trip to Adelaide.

Kind regards,

Colin McCandless
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our third stay, and once again it all went well. Staff are friendly & efficient. Rooms are a good size, lifts are fast, and it's a very good location for attending the Adelaide Cabaret Festival

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Mark L,

A pleasure to read this was your third stay at our property and thank you for choosing to return.

Many thanks for your feedback on our friendly staff and the size of your guestroom. Great that you liked our lift service as well and thank you for mentioning this.

I hope you enjoyed the Adelaide Cabaret Festival performances you went to see.

Kind regards,

Colin McCandless
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Adelaide

Property: InterContinental Adelaide
Address: North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned exclusively along the banks of the River Torrens, adjacent to the Adelaide Festival Centre, Adelaide Convention Centre and the Casino, InterContinental Adelaide effortlessly blends luxury with comfort. Each of our 367 spacious, well appointed guestrooms offer clean designs and an elegant marble bathroom featuring walk-in shower, separate bath and large vanity area. Specifically designed for the needs of the global traveller, each guestroom offers uninterrupted views across the historic city of Adelaide, high speed internet access and a spacious and ergonomically designed work area. For more than two decades the hotel’s collection of 21 suites have been home to world leaders, heads of state and visiting celebrities from across the globe. To take exclusivity and luxury a level further, our Club InterContinental, located on level 21, offers private lounge access for the most discerning of guests. Enjoy an elegant meal in our signature restaurant, Riverside, or indulge in award-winning Japanese cuisine in Shiki. Both restaurants boast extensive wine lists featuring a selection of award-winning Adelaide wines and rare gems designed to complement your dining experience perfectly. The Atrium Lounge provides an elegant, relaxing atmosphere for afternoon tea, cocktails or late-night drinks. It is the ideal place to unwind on a Friday night, with happy hour from 5:00pm and fantastic live entertainment that continues throughout the weekend. Guests seeking to remain active while they travel may enjoy exclusive use of the InterContinental Health and Fitness Centre, offering full gymnasium, personal training on request and an heated outdoor pool. Our Concierge possess unrivaled knowledgeable about insider-experiences and unique events around Adelaide and are delighted to assist guests in planning an authentic Adelaide experience. Those travelling to Adelaide on business may make full use of the hotel’s high-speed internet and ergonomic in-room working areas, or may seek assistance from the Concierge for access to our premium Business Centre services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, IHG, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing