We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Adelaide
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great service at the hotel. Recently stayed one night and it was extremely pleasant. All the staff were very friendly, courteous and professional. The room was exceptionally clean.

Overall a wonderful stay and recommended to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blightsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Blightsmith,

It was a pleasure to receive your TripAdvisor review and to know that we have afforded you a very enjoyable and memorable experience during your short visit.

Thank you for particularly highlighting the hospitality afforded as well as the cleanliness of your guestroom. This is greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,

Colin McCandless
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,214 - 1,220 of 1,895 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is Adelaides best hotel, its location, its views, it lobby bar and staff all make it a great Intercontinental hotel. There are other hotels in Adelaide but none quite match this one, as an Ambassador member they always seem to go that extra bit further for you.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank andrewtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Andrewtravel,

Thank you for your loyalty as an InterContinental Ambassador as well as taking a moment to share your experiences with us.

It is pleasing to read that you thoroughly enjoy your visits to the property and thank you for highlighting your appreciation of our staff in particular.

We look forward to your next visit and being able to afford the same hospitality.

Kind regards,

Colin McCandless
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here on the Saturday night before mothers day. I was impressed by the friendliness and courtesy of the staff and the great room.
The room was clean with a very comfortable king size bed and had a nice view to the south of the city.
The hilight was the breakfast on the Sunday morning, what a treat and so much to choose from.
We were very satisfied with the accomodation and service and would recomend the Intercontinental to anyone considering a stay there.

Room Tip: Aim for any room that is on the higher levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Kevin H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to document your stay over the Mother's Day weekend and for sharing your experience. We are very delighted that you enjoyed the facilities along with the friendliness of the staff and breakfast offering in our restaurant.

It is through feedback such as this that we can truly gauge how successful we are at achieving the high standards we set for ourselves.

Kind regards,

Colin McCandless
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Spent a week in this first-class hotel while working at a conference in the adjoining Adelaide Convention Centre. Extremely friendly and helpful staff throughout my stay there - nothing was ever too much trouble. Ideally located, not just for events in the Convention Centre, but also for nearby shopping in Rundle Mall - about a 5-minute walk.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear WestAus,

Delighted to hear you stayed with us recently for a week while attending a conference in Adelaide. I trust the conference was very successful.

Thank you so much for reviewing your experience at our hotel and for mentioning the attentive service and hospitality you received from my team.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future and thank you again for sharing your thoughts.

Kind regards,

Colin McCandless
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just completed 4 nights at Intercontinental Adelaide. We chose this Hotel for its location and Club Lounge and chose an Advance Paid rate thru the Hotel website. (Average 240 per night). We found our interactions with the staff always pleasant and helpful. Club facilities were good. Selection for breakfast was more than enough with cereals (gluten free option avail) fruit, pastries, a good hot selection, breads, coffees made to order. We didn't visit for afternoon tea but 5.30pm to 7.30pm a selection of wines, bubbles, good range of spirits, two hot appetizers and dips, cheeses, meats. WIFI was avail free in the lounge. We thought great value. Location was excellent in North Terrace - right at your door Train Station, free city Tram travel, Adelaide Oval and Convention Centre directly behind. Casino next door and up on King William a free City bus avail. Easy walk to Rundle Mall. Concierge helped us with times and location in Currie St for the public bus to Handorf, well worth the $9.60 return and 50 min bus ride out thru the Adelaide Hills to a little bit of Germany. Tram avail all the way to Glenelg. Adelaide Zoo a 20 min walk or jump on free city bus. Room was a good size, nice comfortable King bed and lovely linens. Room servicing prompt. All in all we were happy with our selection.

Room Tip: Go for the Club Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Coussies,

May I thank you for your very kind review of InterContinental Adelaide and for sharing the experiences you had during your four day visit to Adelaide.

My team and I were delighted with your favourable overview of the Club Lounge and your particular mention of the positive interactions with our staff during your visit.

Great to know you were out and about discovering not only the city but also venturing to Hahndorf which is a very historic and beautiful destination.

Kind regards,

Colin McCandless
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have stayed at many Hotels in Adelaide being a local this was my first time at the Intercontinental main reason its been too Expensive so when I had a chance with Priority Privilege deal for 12 months I booked the Hotel for 2 Nights in a Club Room. From arriving we were met with a very welcome by mostly of the young staff, given our room I left my Partner to sit while I put the car in next doors car park as the hotel was $40 a night. Into the room was a king bed, very comfortable great pillows, good size TV, great bathroom, & this was over looking the city. Club room was very good food, drinks ect. As everyone has said it is close to everything but starting to look a little tired but still shows its luxurious side & expensive, water in room $7.50 a bottle ( In India a top hotel its free) Car parking in other hotels they give you a chit to put your car in near by car park for less then $20.

Room Tip: We were on the 21st floor next to NO noise which was heaven
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Robert M,

Delighted to read that this was your very first visit to InterContinental Adelaide. May I thank you for choosing to experience our hotel and the IHG Priority Privilege dining program.

Your feedback was very informative and I am pleased that you were very happy with the comfort and size of your guestroom and the Club Lounge experience.

Thank you for your thoughts on the valet parking which is appreciated and taken on board.

Kind regards,

Colin McCandless
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for a Business trip and it was very convenient. Room was very comfortable with great views across the river to the newly renovated Adelaide Oval. Buffet breakfast was nice and the aboriginal courtyard on the Terrace was a nice space away from the pace of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickyjim64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICAManagement, General Manager at InterContinental Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Mickeyjim64,

I would like to thank you for providing your valuable comments on your experience at our hotel and am most pleased you were happy with your time with us.

Appreciate your compliments on the buffet breakfast and your enjoyment of the river and oval views.

Kind regards,
Colin McCandless
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 55 in Adelaide
2,469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 55 in Adelaide
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 55 in Adelaide
1,767 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 55 in Adelaide
3,712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#14 of 55 in Adelaide
2,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Adelaide

Address: North Terrace, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#5 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#6 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#9 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £73 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned exclusively along the banks of the River Torrens, adjacent to the Adelaide Festival Centre, Adelaide Convention Centre and the Casino, InterContinental Adelaide effortlessly blends luxury with comfort. Each of our 367 spacious, well appointed guestrooms offer clean designs and an elegant marble bathroom featuring walk-in shower, separate bath and large vanity area. Specifically designed for the needs of the global traveller, each guestroom offers uninterrupted views across the historic city of Adelaide, high speed internet access and a spacious and ergonomically designed work area. For more than two decades the hotel’s collection of 21 suites have been home to world leaders, heads of state and visiting celebrities from across the globe. To take exclusivity and luxury a level further, our Club InterContinental, located on level 21, offers private lounge access for the most discerning of guests. Enjoy an elegant meal in our signature restaurant, Riverside, or indulge in award-winning Japanese cuisine in Shiki. Both restaurants boast extensive wine lists featuring a selection of award-winning Adelaide wines and rare gems designed to complement your dining experience perfectly. The Atrium Lounge provides an elegant, relaxing atmosphere for afternoon tea, cocktails or late-night drinks. It is the ideal place to unwind on a Friday night, with happy hour from 5:00pm and fantastic live entertainment that continues throughout the weekend. Guests seeking to remain active while they travel may enjoy exclusive use of the InterContinental Health and Fitness Centre, offering full gymnasium, personal training on request and an heated outdoor pool. Our Concierge possess unrivaled knowledgeable about insider-experiences and unique events around Adelaide and are delighted to assist guests in planning an authentic Adelaide experience. Those travelling to Adelaide on business may make full use of the hotel’s high-speed internet and ergonomic in-room working areas, or may seek assistance from the Concierge for access to our premium Business Centre services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Adelaide Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing