We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest on King William
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights while attending a conference and found it good value for money and centrally located. Its got a very unobtrusive entrance so can be a little hard to spot but it centrally located just one street off Rundle Mall with lots of cafes and eating places within walking distance. Desk staff were friendly and always willing to help with information. My studio apartment was spacious and quiet and the small kitchenette adequate for those evenings I chose to eat in. The breakfast and snack packs that were available in the room for $10 looked like good value, although I didn't use them. There is no mini bar otherwise.

Room comfortable with all the usual facilities and I was happy with everything for the price. Only odd point was there was quite a high step up into the bathroom (which was a nice size btw) and it took me a couple of days before I stopped tripping in the darkness of the middle of the night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bad_Seed4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest on K, General Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank your your positive review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Please note that the troublesome step of which you mention is only found in a select few of our rooms, and our staff will always accept specific requests to make things more comfortable.

We hope to see you again soon.

Peter Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    166
    76
    21
    8
See reviews for
91
110
29
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Quest on King William is comfortable, affordable accommodation in the centre of the Adelaide CBD, within walking distance to a number of restaurant precincts (Rundle Street, Gouger Street, Leigh Street/Peel Street), the Art Gallery and Museum on North Terrace, and the Adelaide Central Market on Grote Street.

All staff were friendly and helpful.

Our one-bedroom suite had a kitchenette (refrigerator, microwave, two-burner hotplate), and the usual tea/coffee amenities found in Australian hotels/motels. The suite was of satisfactory size (separate bedroom; living space with sofa, desk, table and chairs, TV, coffee table; bathroom), and very adequate in its amenities. The bed was excellent.

We had a seven-night stay in a suite facing Grenfell Street and found it to be quiet. I note that a number of reviewers have commented on street noise but we remained undisturbed by any external noise across the entire stay.

We have a few comments, none of great concern, and none which would cause us to not stay again:

1. the hotel air-conditioning was warmer than we would have liked - especially for sleeping. Despite visiting Adelaide during a particularly wintry autumn spell I had to use the AC to cool the room as we were unable to vent the heat through a sealed window. I usually find all hotels too hot so this is a common criticism of mine.

2. the foyer, inexplicably, ALWAYS smelled of hot cooking oil/fried food. It was off-putting, especially at check-in. I was worried that the guest rooms might also smell the same. They didn't.

3. parking is off-site, 300 metres away on Solomon Street. The distance between hotel and parking wasn't disclosed at the time of telephone booking. Fortunately (after my husband had booked) I read TripAdvisor and we were forewarned. If I hadn't this may well have become a tipping point for a frayed temper after a 8-9 hour drive from Melbourne. We are both ambulatory so the distance wasn't a problem, but it might be if you were travelling with children, are incapacitated by age or health, or simply disinclined to traverse such a distance either at all, or during inclement weather (as we had). Pack a brolly.

4. no wi-fi in the rooms. There is free wi-fi in the foyer.

Overall a very satisfactory stay. Great location, excellent value for money. We will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest on K, General Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Clack C,

We wish to pass on our gratitude after reading your comprehensive review of our property. I'd like to take this opportunity to elaborate on some of the things you mentioned:

- The smell in the foyer is a known concern and something we are making ground in rectifying. We have short term measures in place, however as we share the building with other businesses, it is a difficult thing to overcome and can be more noticeable at times than at others. I can assure any other readers however, that the odour of the actual apartments and common areas is unaffected at all times.

- We don't usually advise of the parking situation during the reservation process, as normally guests are unsure of their plans. If our reservation staff are told specifically that a car park is required, then they should certainly be made aware of the offsite facility at this time. I sincerely apologise if this did not occur on this instance.

Above all however, we are very pleased to hear that you would stay with us again without hesitation and look forward to that eventuating in the near future.

Peter Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalgoorlie
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and found that this accommodation was great for our purposes. The kitchen was adequate for the few meals we ate in. Loved the big comfortable bed and the bathroom was clean and well stocked. Great to be able to do our laundry on site. The apartments are close to all the shops as well as the market. The one maintenance issue that cropped up was dealt with immediately. Reception staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Parking was a not all that convenient but still manageable.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, request an apartment at the back of the building - no view but worth th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest on K, Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Doreen,

The title of your review says it all for us - great value.

We understand that there are bigger, newer properties popping up all around the Adelaide CBD, but making accommodation affordable while still providing the same high level of service is what we are all about.

Thank you for submitting a review and we look forward to receiving your next reservation.

Peter Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warriewood, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Quest is a solid and dependable chain of accommodation in Australia and a few nights in the centre of Adelaide confirmed this Quest property was OK! Whilst there's nothing stand-out for this property, it's comfortable, relatively quiet and affordable.

Selected on price and position we weren't disappointed.

Likes? The beds are actually good. There's plenty of room in the rooms and kitchen facilities save the budget on a longer stay (we stayed four nights). Entry is secured, staff are pleasant and efficient.

Dislikes? Not many but despite double glazing the rooms at the King William frontage have a constant traffic hum... no en-suite in the two bedroom apartments was inconvenient. Parking is difficult and around 500m away...

Recommend heading north and east from this property for breakfasts and meals - west is the seedy side of the city but Adelaide boasts some great eateries and coffee houses and many are within walking distance of the quest as the major department stores and Rundle Mall, the shopping CBD for the city.

Well worth a try if you need CBD accommodation in Adelaide on a budget or are there for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask for back of property to escape the traffic noise and hum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest on K, Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Nrmoz,

Your honest review is exactly what this page is all about and we thank you for going into such detail.

While all of our apartments are double glazed, being in such central location can attract some external traffic noise. We find however, that any apartments facing the Eastern side, as well as any on the top half of the building, escape this issue at all hours of clock. We welcome any requests if noise is a point of concern.

Also, Adelaide has a plethora of options for dining, and our staff always like to give their own personal recommendations whenever possible. Feel free to ask them on your next visit.

Peter Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here recently for one night which we booked at the last minute. I booked it mainly on the price alone so didn't know what to expect of the accomodation. Well it was very good. We had a one bedroom apartment on the 7th floor at the back of the motel. Even though our view was a big brick wall, I really didn't care as it was so quiet at the back which is great given the motel is on the busy main street of Adelaide. The room was very spacious and clean with everything you need. Reception staff were all very nice. Close to the mall for shopping.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LnT291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest on K, Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Lnt,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. It is great to see the positive scores such as yours keep coming on our page.

Just for future reference, when you next stay with us, feel free to place a request for a view. There are apartments facing three different directions within our building, so we can usually offer something to meet all tastes.

Hope to see you soon.

Peter Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Very professional and friendly staff, very close to restaurants and cafe for meals. I highly recommend this property and will return on my next business trip to Adelaide. WiFi is only available in the reception area. You will need to check with reception if this is an issue for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest on K, Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hi Wayne,

Thank you for your adding to our TripAdvisor page.

While wifi internet is only accessible within reception, it is 100% free and available 24 hours a day. There is also the option to connect within your apartment via the cabled broadband, with adaptors available for those travelling with Apple devices.

Peter Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yankalilla, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had an overnight stay on a weekend at the Quest on King William. We had a 1 bedroom apt on the 8th floor. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the rooms considering it was in the cbd. The little kitchenette had all we needed, although we did buy more milk and coffee etc as there's generally only 2 serves, but that didnt bother us at all. The lounge area was great and the bathroom was huge.
There was only wifi in the lobby but you could plug in in the room.
The parking for check in was in a very small lane way out the back which, of course, was full. The overnight parking was about 10 minutes walk away from the hotel.
Overall, the location of this place was great. There was some traffic noise but it didn't seem to worry us too much, even though we are from a quiet country town.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mazzanrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest on K, Manager at Quest on King William, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you Mazzanrocket for submitting your review.

We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with the space and facilities offered within your apartment.

We look forward to having you return any time you find yourself within the CBD of Adelaide.

Peter Oliver
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.3 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on King William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on King William

Property: Quest on King William
Address: 82 King William St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#21 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on King William 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on King William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On King William Hotel Adelaide
Quest On King William Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing