We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Having read less than encouraging reviews we were pleasantly surprised. The room was comfortable and clean and we experienced none of the notorious Hindley Street distractions to our sleep. On the evening of our stay there was wedding reception in full swing and we thought our initial decision to dine in was a bit of a risk. However our meals were beautifully presented by attentive staff who were only too keen to answer any questions we had regarding local attractions.It seems that we lucky to firstly get a refurbished room and secondly one was away from the noise from the street and from the downstairs pub. If you can be reassured by the booking staff of these two potential problems you should be fine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wattle1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,812 - 1,818 of 2,190 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

I needed somewhere to stay after a late night out for my birthday. I booked using a scoopon voucher and got a great deal. Parking was included. The car park connected to the hotel is tiny, but the hotel has an arrangement with the car park next door which is great.

My room was on the 11th floor, facing Currie Street. The pub below was very noisy when I arrived at 6pm but I didn't hear anything when I came back in the early hours the next morning.

The room was spacious and clean. There was a kettle and a mini bar fridge, sofa chairs and a writing desks with another chair. The king bed was so comfortable, I had a hard time leaving.

Buffet breakfast for 2 was included in my deal. Arrived for breakfast with about 45 minutes to go and everything was still in full supply.

This is a great spot for guests staying in Adelaide. I was impressed with it's location as a local.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluechilli8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

After reading several less than flattering reviews in the few days before staying at this Hotel I was a bit concerned BUT my worries were totally unfounded. The customer service at Check-In was efficient, quick & friendly (despite the fact that we parked in the wrong car park & had to be given a special card to still only pay the $15/day not $30) Our room was on the 12th Floor, spotlessly clean, A/c worked brilliantly, Loved the bathroom & even though our room faced Hindley street it was not that noisy - even on the Friday & Saturday nights. Only complaint was that we didn't pack our bathers - the pool looked extremely inviting. Definitely be back here again

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms on the upper floors are re-furbished - we had a Executive King Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

GC on Hindley is a good hotel with reasonable facilities. We stayed here for the Ashes Cricket at Adelaide and the location was spot on ( 10 minutes tops ) In regard to entertainment and the surrounding area there are @ 20 bars, several Hookah Pipe bars, numerous massage parlours, lots of restaurants and a few strip clubs !!!! As you can imagine it gets fairly lively around the hotel and then at the weekend it goes Ballistic !!!!!
The hotel did a job and the staff were good but Hindley street was an eye opener...... Its just not Cricket !

Room Tip: Get ready to party.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nemo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at this notional 4 star establishment in a deluxe apartment suite. Roomy is about the best that can be said for this corner apartment. Bathroom had mould growing on the ceiling, furnishing was very tired and the "fully contained" kitchenette came with a plastic collander as the sum total of kitchen pots/aids. Signage in the kitchen indicated that if you wanted to cut something then a knife would be dispatched from reception. Best part however occured 4 days after leaving. Supplemantary invoice arrived that showed that our credit card had been charged almost $50 for room service that was neither ordered,recieved or signed for by us.
Rang the hotel with the attitude that anyone can make a mistake however after 3 phone calls over a period of 4 days they finally broke me and I ended up screaming down the phone. Still not sorted. My recommendation is pay the extra $50 a night and go stay elsewhere.
This hotel

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is on the nice end of Hindley Street, just a 5 minute walk from the main shopping area of Rundle Mall. The rooms are clean, bathrooms new, and the beds are 2 full doubles. The power points are well placed just above the table, so it helps when charging your mobile etc which usually have short electrical cords. It comes with an iron and board which is useful, but there is no room safe. However, the safe is available at the reception and can be accessed at all times. There are many restaurants around the hotel, and many are open early for breakfast. There are also several bars which play live music. The sound of the music can be faintly heard from my room which was on the 9th floor, although it wasn't to the point of bring annoying. This is a nice hotel to serve as a base when visiting Adelaide.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BILLYazid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights in a Deluxe Suite that included full buffet breakfast which we booked online through a hotel discount web site. Great value when you take out the price of the breakfast you are paying a very cheap price for the deluxe suite. We find the suite's to be very spacious and comfortable for longer stays. Upon check in we found the reception staff to be very friendly and helpful as we were told we had room 702 the room we had on our previous stay. I asked if we could have a different room as we found the bed to be very saggy and not supportive. They immediately gave us room 602 facing Currie Street. The bed is much better in this room and had a very solid sleep each night with no noise at all on that side of the hotel. Will definately stay in this room again next time. The buffet breakfast has a good selection to choose from but the bacon and sausages could be cooked a bit more though. Only negative about the room was the cleaning of the room was not as good as it has been previously. The position of the hotel is great as it is so central but the Adelaide City Council should look at sprucing up Hindley Street as it is starting to get grungy looking. Which is a shame as you walk from Rundle Mall, which has just been revamped, straight onto Hindley Street which is a real contrast. We will continue to stay at the Grand Chancellor on Hindley as it is the best value for money in the CBD and the Deluxe Suites and refurbished rooms are very spacious and comfy. At least you have a very large table with 4 chairs to eat your meals etc. Whereas other 1 bedroom apartments usually only have a tiny table with 2 chairs. Certainly not the newest accommodation but we find it to be very comfortable with excellent customer service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Currie Street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warsub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,422 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Address: 65 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £63 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 208 well appointed rooms. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing