We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing hotel”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked this hotel online for the 6 nights we had to be in central Adelaide for a conference and whilst it was centrally located, the standard did not live up to what we expected for this hotel brand. Our deluxe room appeared old but the worst feature was the bed. It was well worn and incredibly soft. We hardly got any sleep and after a couple of nights of this we asked if it was possible to change to another room. We were told that all of the deluxe rooms were in the old part of the hotel so would have variably old beds. We were therefore told we would need to upgrade to the next room type and pay the extra. We were offered this at a discounted rate but it was still a lot extra that we felt we should not have to pay. Everybody deserves a good night's sleep, especially in a 4 star hotel. They certainly don't advertise on their website that their deluxe rooms are old and should be avoided if you want to get any sleep. Unless you are willing to pay the extra, I suggest trying somewhere else. This hotel does not live up to its name or rating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngieM301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    859
    317
    92
    51
See reviews for
292
684
162
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berri, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights in a Deluxe Suite which was a Saturday and Sunday night. The Deluxe Suite is very spacious and comfortable with a large comfy sofa in the lounge, good size table and chairs, comfy king size bed and spacious bathroom. We had breakfast there on both mornings and there is a good variety to choose from. There is juices, fruits, cereals, yoghurt, muffins, variety of breads for toast, various pastries, bacon, sausages, hash browns, mushrooms, tomato, baked beans and spaghetti. There is also scrambled eggs but if you want eggs differently you have to ask for them. Overall breakfast was really good. We had dinner one night there using a online voucher deal which was great value for money. The menu we had was Prawn Cocktail, Surf and Turf, Sticky Date Pudding and Creme Brulee. It was the best meal we have had in the CBD for a while and the waiters were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely have it again. When I made the reservation for accomodation I requested the room we stayed in the last time facing Currie Street on the higher floors to avoid the noise from Hindley Street. Upon check in we were given room 315 facing Currie Street. I told the receptionist we wanted a room up higher to avoid the noise. She gave us room 415 as it was the only one available. When we returned to our room later Saturday night you could hear music and people partying as soon as you got in the door. We looked out the bedroom window and could see the bedroom was directly looking into a backyard of a pub where all this noise was coming from. We could not believe it as we had the same trouble here in December 2012 when we had a room facing Hindley Street. Thankfully the music finished at 2.00am and all the people shut up at 2.30pm. If it was not for the 3am lockout in the city now it probably would have went for longer. Sunday night we had a great sleep as the pub down below was shut and we heard no noise at all. We have stayed 3 other times here in rooms 1102, 602 and 702 all facing Currie Street and never had this problem with noise so I think this is something that pub below has just started up with the music etc. Which is a shame as you seem to not be able to avoid any noise now by requesting a room facing Currie Street. I noticed reading previous reviews that management are going to double glaze the windows. The sooner the better!!! We will stay there again because we like the spaciousness of the rooms and the food is good but only on a Sunday night or not until they get the windows double glazed.

Room Tip: Try rooms with _02 in it as it is the further-est away from the noisy pub below. Avoid rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank warsub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Staff rude, staying in a room that has a view of a wall and car park, on the busy street of Hindley which is literally clubs pubs and dodgy adult bars, can hear every word of the idiot singing in a pub, luckily I have ear phones for the duration of my stay, do not stay here..

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharonLewis-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in April. The location on Hindley is a bit loud - my taxi driver called it 'The Kings Cross of Adelaide' - make what you will of that. Check in was swift and easy. It's one of the few hotels I've been in that doesn't require card access to your floor - and given there are no safes in the rooms, I didn't like leaving my laptop and iPad there. The buffet breakfast was poor - scrambled eggs in a pool of watery liquid in the Bain-Marie is not my idea of well prepared and presented food. The bed was comfortable and reasonably quiet which was nice. The bathroom was ordinary - @ 187cm, the shower head only reached mid chest which required a deal of stooping in the shower. In sum - the Grand Chancellor on Hindley is a reasonable hotel, but there are better options in Adelaide.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimfromCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear TimfromCanberra

Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

I will ensure to take your feedback into consideration when planning the next stage in our refurbishment program and that out Food and Beverage Manager follows up regarding food in the breakfast buffet.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the future.

Yours sincerely

Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. The room was clean and the staff were generally friendly. The breakfast spread did not reflect the wide variety of fresh local produce. Nevertheless, the hash brown and spaghetti were delicious.
A special compliment to the Concierge staff, Mr. Dimitri who was kind and helpful to offer assistance to book day tour as an alternative to our original itinerary, in which the tour agency had went out of business. He also helped us to book airport transfer in short notice before he went on leave. Thank you Mr. Dimitri!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mini_Cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Mini_Cheryl

Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

It is always a pleasure to read positive feedback about our team members. I will ensure the pass your kind words onto Dimitri; I am sure he will feel delighted and humbled.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the future.

Yours sincerely

Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

The room we were given on the 9th floor was clean and pleasant but the air con was very noisy. Bed was quite comfy and big, lots of pillows. The shower was a problem. Lukewarm at best and no different when I ran a bath, not a pleasant experience. The breakfast was also uninspiring, soggy pastries, gluggy eggs and the usual greasy bacon. The location which appears to be in the "adult"district is also off putting.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Robyne A

Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

I apologised for the disappointment caused by the air conditioning and temperature of water in your room; I will ensure that Maintenance rectify these issues immediately. I will also pass your feedback onto the Food and Beverage Manager to follow up regarding breakfast in Bistro65 as this is not the usual feedback that we receive.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the future for a more enjoyable experience.

Yours sincerely

Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed recently on a Thursday night up on the 8th floor. The noise was absolutely terrible coming from the bar on the ground at the back of the hotel, this went on with live music until midnight, then more music and noise until after 1am. I called at 11.15 and again at 11.35 and asked for another room, was told none available even though there did not seem to be too many people around in hotel. I was offered earplugs which unless they were industrial quality and big ear muff style would not have done anything to block the noise that was coming into the room. The annoying part is the hotel knows that the live music is on Thursday nights but still proceed to collect money for a room that is basically unusable until after 1am. We had arrived after spending 7 nights in a Winnebago with very limited sleep due to rain and wind so was looking forward to good nights sleep. By midnight I was actually prepared to take sheets down to reception and sleep in the foyer. We were told by manager they were very sorry. Well that just does not cut it, you were deceitful in putting people in a room where noise is such an issue. If I had know where you managers lived that were sooooo sorry I would have got a boom box outside your window and played it for at least 6 hours to see how you would feel. Would never go back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaz773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear kaz773

Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

I am truly sorry to hear that you did not get the good night’s sleep that you were anticipating; if we had an alternative room available, we would have been more than happy to assist you with a room move. I am pleased to advise that we have recently begun double glazing a number windows throughout the hotel which will greatly reduce the impact of external noise on our guests.

Once again thank you for your feedback and apologise for the discomfort caused.

Yours sincerely

Simon de Jong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,648 reviews
0.6 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,036 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Property: Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Address: 65 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#14 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 208 well appointed rooms. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing