We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK: avoid if you wanted the internet access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Booked for a night before The Ghan train largely on the basis of a map, not having been to Adelaide before. The room was decent and if that's what you want, the Hindley will not disappoint. However, I always look for internet access, and noted this featured on Booking.com. What they don't tell you is that this is 100MB at 256kbps, for two devices. That was enough for two podcasts, and it was used up in ten minutes I did feel cheated - this is tacky and really out of date in 2014. If internet access is important, factor in that you will need to pay for it, and I greatly dislike that the hotel made this a selling point when in fact it offers a crippled version. (Adelaide does have a free network though so you may not need it.) It's not just internet access - a hotel prepared to play fast and loose with marketing isn't one I'd expect to help in case of a travel emergency. In addition, it turns out Hindley is where Adelaide's nightclubs and many strip bars are. There was noise in my room though I wasn't bothered by it but if you are a light sleeper you may be as I could hear nightclub noise and was on a high floor. All told, it was fine and I have nothing in Adelaide to compare it with, but if I go again I'll stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear alexgjohnson

Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

I apologise for the confusion regarding wireless internet access; I will ensure to review the website and update accordingly.

Once again I thank you for your feedback and hope that you reconsider staying at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley when you next travel to Adelaide.

Yours sincerely
Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,742 - 1,748 of 2,162 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

A great central location, one block from Rundle Mall and three blocks from the Art Gallery of South Australia. Dining and shopping all around. Good bathroom, quiet rooms, refrigerator, good hotel bar (but oddly it closes at 10 PM).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear GreggSt_Louis

Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative and It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the future.

Yours sincerely
Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed in an executive suite, which was lovely - well appointed and spacious, with a huge bathroom and great monsoon shower. Everything was very clean and comfy. Our room on the 10th floor was at the back, so we assumed we'd be spared the noise of the nightclub/bar strip that is Hindley Street. Wrong! Wouldn't have managed any sleep at all if we hadn't phoned down to reception for some ear plugs, which arrived promptly with an apology. Suspect they have a cupboard full of them, so don't be afraid to ask! The buffet breakfast was very good - lots of choices and helpful, friendly staff. Would stay again, but not without the ear plugs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ouzo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Ouzo10

Thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our team here at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley. I apologise for the lack of sleep due to noise from outside the Hotel. We are currently seeking quotes to double glaze a number of rooms in the Hotel, which I am certain will have a significant impact on guests experience.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the future.

Yours sincerely

Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Arrived, check in easy and hotel parking was good. Hotel located in central Adelaide, rooms were clean, reasonable size with enough towels, linen etc...we were located on floor 9.
Breakfast, whilst uninspiring was on the whole reasonable.
I was keen to use the gym facilities but greatly disappointed by the equipment on offer and some was actually broken.
The downside for this hotel, on a family trip, was the location, the entrance to the hotel leading directly on to a variety of adult shops and peep shows, nightclubs and bars....this made the area somewhat intimidating after dark.
The location also meant that the rooms were very noisy, with police sirens, loud music and shouting well until the early hours of the morning.
From our experience I could not recommend this hotel for any family...perhaps better suited to people wanting to party in Adelaide.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ashlea2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked this hotel online for the 6 nights we had to be in central Adelaide for a conference and whilst it was centrally located, the standard did not live up to what we expected for this hotel brand. Our deluxe room appeared old but the worst feature was the bed. It was well worn and incredibly soft. We hardly got any sleep and after a couple of nights of this we asked if it was possible to change to another room. We were told that all of the deluxe rooms were in the old part of the hotel so would have variably old beds. We were therefore told we would need to upgrade to the next room type and pay the extra. We were offered this at a discounted rate but it was still a lot extra that we felt we should not have to pay. Everybody deserves a good night's sleep, especially in a 4 star hotel. They certainly don't advertise on their website that their deluxe rooms are old and should be avoided if you want to get any sleep. Unless you are willing to pay the extra, I suggest trying somewhere else. This hotel does not live up to its name or rating.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngieM301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights in a Deluxe Suite which was a Saturday and Sunday night. The Deluxe Suite is very spacious and comfortable with a large comfy sofa in the lounge, good size table and chairs, comfy king size bed and spacious bathroom. We had breakfast there on both mornings and there is a good variety to choose from. There is juices, fruits, cereals, yoghurt, muffins, variety of breads for toast, various pastries, bacon, sausages, hash browns, mushrooms, tomato, baked beans and spaghetti. There is also scrambled eggs but if you want eggs differently you have to ask for them. Overall breakfast was really good. We had dinner one night there using a online voucher deal which was great value for money. The menu we had was Prawn Cocktail, Surf and Turf, Sticky Date Pudding and Creme Brulee. It was the best meal we have had in the CBD for a while and the waiters were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely have it again. When I made the reservation for accomodation I requested the room we stayed in the last time facing Currie Street on the higher floors to avoid the noise from Hindley Street. Upon check in we were given room 315 facing Currie Street. I told the receptionist we wanted a room up higher to avoid the noise. She gave us room 415 as it was the only one available. When we returned to our room later Saturday night you could hear music and people partying as soon as you got in the door. We looked out the bedroom window and could see the bedroom was directly looking into a backyard of a pub where all this noise was coming from. We could not believe it as we had the same trouble here in December 2012 when we had a room facing Hindley Street. Thankfully the music finished at 2.00am and all the people shut up at 2.30pm. If it was not for the 3am lockout in the city now it probably would have went for longer. Sunday night we had a great sleep as the pub down below was shut and we heard no noise at all. We have stayed 3 other times here in rooms 1102, 602 and 702 all facing Currie Street and never had this problem with noise so I think this is something that pub below has just started up with the music etc. Which is a shame as you seem to not be able to avoid any noise now by requesting a room facing Currie Street. I noticed reading previous reviews that management are going to double glaze the windows. The sooner the better!!! We will stay there again because we like the spaciousness of the rooms and the food is good but only on a Sunday night or not until they get the windows double glazed.

Room Tip: Try rooms with _02 in it as it is the further-est away from the noisy pub below. Avoid rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank warsub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Staff rude, staying in a room that has a view of a wall and car park, on the busy street of Hindley which is literally clubs pubs and dodgy adult bars, can hear every word of the idiot singing in a pub, luckily I have ear phones for the duration of my stay, do not stay here..

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SharonLewis-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.6 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pullman Adelaide
Pullman Adelaide
#7 of 56 in Adelaide
1,711 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 56 in Adelaide
1,350 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Address: 65 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#13 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £69 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 208 well appointed rooms. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing