We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was an excellent location to explore Adelaide with ease of access to trams trains and buses.
Hotel room was well appointed very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was good with good service.
,Restaurant was a bit limited in choice but food and service were excellent.
The CBD and Randell Mall were only a short stroll away.
We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel were very quiet. Good well stocked bar at reasonable prices
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.

Kind Regards,

Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,050)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,602 - 1,608 of 2,050 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Located in a shabby neighbourhood with many noisy outdoor pubs and bars. Our room on the 6th floor overlooked the back alley entrance to a sex club with a rather unintentionally amusing sign that read "rear entry only". Room was a dump. The shower broke off the wall when we turned it on. Furniture was threadbare and uncomfortable. We insisted on an upgrade to a better room (one that had been refurbished and higher to avoid some of the noise). Did not feel comfortable walking in the area towards dark. I would take pains to avoid this hotel, especially since three blocks away there is a much nicer neighbourhood and hotels.

Room Tip: Only accept a refurbished room as high up as possible.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

We appreciate your feedback and would like to thank you for taking the time to express your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to read that our hotel did not meet your expectations. In response to your concerns regarding your room, we wish to advise that we are currently planning stage two of our refurbishment program which also includes double glazing a number of the guest rooms. We value all feedback and are always looking at ways to better improve our guest experiences. We hope we can restore your faith in us and welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I chose this hotel for my friends who came to visit Adelaide. I checked up with 2 other hotels (5-star) on North Tce, but the location of this hotel (4-star) was more convenient. It's very close to Rundle Mall, tram stop to Central market/Gleneleg on King William St and North Tce where the museum/art gallery/botanic garden etc are. Just around the corner of the hotel there is a bakery that opens at 7am. The only thing I didn't like was the atmosphere of Hindley street and the entrance of the hotel being a little bit gloomy. The police man in the nearby police station told me that it's quite safe at night on the street where there are lots of people. Their swimming pool was not as big as the one on the hotel brochure. Nevertheless, it was a good choice for my friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review. The location of our hotel is a great convenience for our guests, as the hotel is just a short stroll to many of Adelaide cities major attractions. We thank you for choosing our hotel for your friends stay in Adelaide and we hope they enjoyed their stay and we can welcome them back again.

Kind Regards

Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Slightly surprised by my surroundings in Hindley Street when I got off the bus. Upgraded my room after a disappointing tour to Adelaide so was looking forward to a bit lof luxury. The room was very nice and the bed extremely comfortable but the noise from the bar outisde was ridiculous and I was up on the 11th floor. The attitude of the reception staff was disappointing and they were extremely unhelpful. I hadn't realised Australia shut for Easter and struggled to find something to do but all the receptionist could say was his parents were in London on Christmas Day last year and everything was shut then. I ate in the hotel because all the bars and restaurants were such too but the service was poor and the food decidedly forgetable. I was glad to leave Adelaide.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to express your recent stay with us. We value our dedicated team of staff and we take pride in their work ethics so we are disappointed to read your comments on how their service and we will action accordingly. The hotel is located in the hub of the city with many attractions to visit, we hope we can restore your faith in us and you will consider visiting Adelaide again and enjoy all the great attractions this city has to offer.

Kind Regards,

Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked two executive twin sharing rooms and stayed for four nights as we were in Adelaide for the international conference. The hotel located in a strategic main street where access for foods and local crowds is just a step from the hotel. Most of all, it is within a short walking distance from the Adelaide Convention Centre where the conference was held.

The beds in this executive twin sharing room are so comfortable and each of those beds is a size of a double bed rather than a single 120 cm size bed. Room is clean and so as the bathroom.

With a touch of modernization on the elevator, lobby, reception and more variety in the breakfast menu, it would be an even more competitive hotel in Adelaide. Furthermore, free internet access in the room is definitely a must as we are in the digital era not like in the 1990s where internet was kind of a luxury and we had to pay for the access (in this hotel you are only allowed for 100 mb free internet access in your room for the entire stay).

Room Tip: Get the executive room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for your detailed review and kind comments. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to read when our guests value their stay and also the services we provide. Once again thank you and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was a last minute booking so I didn't really know what I was in for.
I was a bit wary about being in Hindley Street, but it was fine. Parked out front for check in then drove around the back into a car park that was safe and secure. A lift went up to the third floor where my room was. So very convenient. The room was quite large with two queen beds. TV was good and the usual fridge, kettle and mini bar supplied. Bed was comfortable.and there was a bath in the small bathroom. Air con worked well. The hotel seems to be a mixture of worn out and new but of a good standard. My standard room was not what you could call luxurious but it was very comfortable. I would stay again no problem.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trippingtobali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thanks for your feedback. We were a little concerned with the title Nice hotel, hood location but we can thankfully assume good location! We always appreciate our guests taking the time to provide feedback to not only us but also recommendations for future travellers to refer to. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for an eighteenth birthday to be close to the nightlife and ended up being treated poorly by staff and not taken seriously. Other hotels were much cheaper and we chose this one because of the pool and spa which were unavailable and we were not made aware and we were only offered a free breakfast on the next stay..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amberbakker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thanks for expressing your views about your recent stay with us. It is our aim to exceed the expectations of our guests and we are sorry that on this occasion we did not meet yours. We value all constructive feedback from our guests both positive and negative and all comments are taken on board. We hope we can restore your faith in us and we can welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,

Simon de Jong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
1,306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Currie
0.1 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Address: 65 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £74 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 208 well appointed rooms. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing