We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious Room . . . Great Central Location !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Spacious Room . . . Great Central Location !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked a room for a Saturday night at this hotel as we were in town to see a show at the Festival Theatre. I upgraded our room for a suite on the 4th floor (for an extra $50) and had a big bright corner room on the west side of the building complete with large TV lounge area, small self contained kitchenette, large separate king size bedroom area complete with another TV and big en suite bathroom ! Well worth it if you don't mind paying the extra money ! The front desk staff were very polite and friendly during check in and also in the buffet breakfast area the next morning in the Bistro which was well worth getting up early for on a Sunday morning ! The only downside to our stay here was the noise level at night coming from the busy city street life down below ! You could hear the noise and music coming from the pubs and clubs outside when you turned your TV off ! Next time we will ask for a quieter room on a higher floor. But saying that, this is a Great Hotel for Value and Location for all of Adelaide's many Attractions !

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors or the east or south side of the building as the west and north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. In relation to the noise and music, we are currently in the process of double glazing a number of guest rooms which will significantly reduce the impact of external noise. We
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    768
    290
    90
    46
See reviews for
255
615
145
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morphett Vale, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Spent a night here this week. Extremely impressed with hotel. Staff were very professional and polite. Room was large and well cared for. Only concern was car parking..couldn't see where to pull up so parked in another car park further away. Needs explanation on confirmation letter. Other than that one of the best stays we have had in Adelaide. Will definitely be returning in the future. Would recommend it especially for tourists. Hotel is also very central and close to all nearby attractions full compliments to all the staff

Room Tip: We had room at back of hotel.not much of a view but was quieter than overlooking hindley street whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review. The lcoatin of our hotel is a great convenience for our guests, as the hotel is just a short stroll to many of Adelaide cities major attractions. We thank you for choosing our hotel for your ‘superb weekend break for the girls’. We hope to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great hotel !! we got a room cheap of a Groupon and we were given a large corner room with a nice view. Very close to attractions and lots to do surrounding the hotel. Staff were lovely bathrooms were huge great value for money - highly recommend lovely breakfast with huge variety.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
It is always a pleasure to read reviews such as yours. We always appreciate our guests taking the time to provide feedback to not only us but also recommendations for future travellers to refer to. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We spent Saturday night at the hotel on the 12th floor and found it very comfortable and well located to all of the city's attractions and public transport. The front desk staff were efficient and helpful in storing our luggage as we arrived quite early. We purchased an online deal so we had a full buffet breakfast, wine and late checkout included. Breakfast was enjoyable and had everything you could want. The room was very clean and spacious while the bathroom was quite modern and included a bath. The bed was king size and comfortable. The hotel has a heated outdoor spa, pool and gym on the first floor. It looked great although we didn't try it. Free wifi was included which was a little slow. It was possible to pay and upgrade to faster speed. Overall we couldn't fault anything and wouldn't hesitate to stay again especially with such a competitive online deal.

Room Tip: The 12th floor overlooks the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninaalltalk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the staff, hotel services and also the location convenience of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Overall, not a bad place to stay. Given 4 stars, but it's more like a 3 star hotel.
Positive: Very spacious room. Excellent locations. Good staff service. Comfortable beds. Free 100MB in room WIFI.
Negative: Room looks old. Dirty carpet. Old furniture. Old looking bathroom. Location in bar and club area can be noisy at night.

Room Tip: Try not to get room facing Hindley St, it might be noisy at night from bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel amenities and the great hospitality provided by our staff members. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We took advantage of a Luxury Escapes promotion as part of an extended trip across Australia and the HGC was the allocated hotel. Being so close to the shopping mall and the Adelaide Oval (West Coast Eagles Vs Adelaide Crows...Yes!) was really great and although the rooms, restaurant and service were average we would return. Staff were friendly enough but lacked the enthusiasm so often found by seasoned travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side have good outlook and sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. The location of the hotel allows guests to take in many of Adelaide’s great attractions like the newly refurbished Adelaide Oval which is only a short stroll from the hotel (we hope you enjoyed the game!). We look forward to having you back again sometime, perhaps next time for the footy finals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The decor and furnishings are very stylish. Bathrooms appear to be new, so recently renovated. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, better than home. Breakfast and snacks in the bar great value. Service was excellent, staff very helpful.

Room Tip: If you want faster wifi speeds you can pay to upgrade. Our corner room on tge 8th floor was very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel amenities and the great hospitality provided by our staff members. We look forwards to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.6 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#12 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Property: Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Address: 65 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 208 well appointed rooms. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing