We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service & Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Customer Service & Accommodation”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Hi Management,

We had never stayed at this hotel as costly to us, however, booked this hotel on a sunrise deal for our wedding anniversary which was great value.
The stay was lovely, the rooms clean.
The customer service was golden, all of the staff bent over backwards to assist us in our short stay from every direction of service. Excellent!!! We hope to return sometime again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank JudCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,403
    626
    178
    43
    30
See reviews for
263
1,081
118
529
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed in standard room that was medium to large in size. King Bed was fantastic. TV with stereo surround system was great addition with comfy 2 seater lounge to watch it from. The room was only $159 inc 3 hrs of WiFi, but parking is $18 extra. Didn't try the $35 b/f buffet, but the grilled fish & chips from bar menu (as I arrived late that night) was fantastic. The ducted A/C was great and the the work desk was good. The bathroom was a good size - but the only fault - the shower is in the bath. Being almost opposite the Casino, and walking distance to Rundle Mall and Hindley St = great location. I'd stay again.

Room Tip: All good. Wouldn't pay the extra for "Playford view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This hotel fully deserves its good tripadvisor rating. Very rarely you find such attentive and good staff. The hotel had somewhat an 'old fashioned' style, I was not sure whether this was delibertly wanted or whether it was really old, especially given that it belongs to the Accor chaine, which usually stands for 'modern style'. The bar was more like a huge pub and I missed the typical cosy 'hotel bar atmosphere'. Also the restaurant was situated next to the bar with no wall or window separating them.
Internet very expensive. They offer 1 hour for free in Lobby which is appreciated but connection is really bad to even non existant.
Other than that, all was very good. Rooms spacious enough and well looked after. A bit too dark inside however, but no problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharkdive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Clean, great service, great facilities, good location, well priced.
Parking facilities across the road... Okay. Could add up at the end.
WIFI biggest disappointment !!! Too expensive. It should be free.
TV system hard to use in the dark!!! Remote control ver difficult.... TV system sequential so a pain to select channels.
I am picky so I must say this place is good and close to be excellent.
I used the pool and my wife the gym. Fantastic, clean and nice.
We will return.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TrevelerFB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I just returned from a Easter long weekend holiday in Adelaide with my husband and we had stayed at the Sebel Playford because of all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. The hotel is in a beautiful historic building and very close to the Adelaide casino, convention center, and the river. Staff were friendly and they upgraded us to a premium room on the higher floors. The bar was nice and drinks were delicious, however we wanted to go to the restaurant in the hotel for dinner one night but was only given the option to eat right then (about 6:30pm) or wait until 8pm before they can fit us in. We weren't quite that hungry yet and was still finishing our drinks but thought 8pm was a bit late to have dinner so we went somewhere else. The mystery was that the restaurant was empty when we left for dinner about 7pm, we didn't understand why they couldn't fit us in during that time. But other than that bungle, everything was good. The car park is just across the road so easy to get in and out.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soapbox325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I have stayed at the Playford on a couple of occasions and found it to be quite pleasant. The location is fantastic and there are many restaurants and shops within walking distance. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was very eager to please. I called for a late check-out the morning of my departure and they were so accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprklhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sebel Playford for three nights in late March 2013. Was a lovely hotel beautifully decoarting and comfortable rooms. Would certainly stay again.

Only complaint was with the bath shower, the bath is rather narrow, at least the flat part you can stand on when showering, which makes it a little annoying when turning around in the shower, certainly not a deal breaker and not the end of the world. I think if that's the only complaint I can find then it was a pretty good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RojKohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,036 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 57 in Adelaide
3,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing