We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small hotel, but with all the services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Small hotel, but with all the services”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed 6 nights at the Sebel Playford in Adelaide, and were very happy with everything about it. Our room was large and quiet; great bathroom with heaps of bench space which so many hotels just don't have. We wanted to take the bed and pillow home, they were that comfy. Breakfast in the dining room was fabulous - amazing selection of really nice food, even gluten-free cereal. The staff in the breakfast room were very pleasant and accommodating, as was the porter at the front door.

The hotel is opposite the convention centre which backs onto the river, so it's in a good position. It is only a 5 minute walk to the main shopping area of Rundle Mall. The tram stops outside and can take you off to Glenelg for a very enjoyable time. Buses also are very handy.

If I had to give any criticism, it would be:

The indoor pool in the basement was a little disappointing as although the chairs were comfortable, I prefer to relax around a pool on a chaise longue (lazy boy) so I can lay back, read a book or whatever. The area is quite fumy with chlorine too when you first enter, but you get used to that. I think they could do more to the pool area to make it more appealing. Pity they couldn't put windows in - it's a little claustrophobic.

The music being played in the breakfast area was opera which I didn't find appealing at all, and certainly not relaxing or conducive to enjoying a great breakfast. Sure it's a classy hotel, but looking around me, there were average folk, young and old - and opera only appeals to a very small section of society.

And to be really picky, the one-ply toilet paper could be improved upon.

Having said that, we would head back to the Sebel Playford in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Our room faced the side street, not the main North Terrace, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limotrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,379
    618
    176
    41
    30
See reviews for
258
1,065
116
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I spent a happy two days at the Sebel Playford. My room was very quiet and large and comfortable with plenty of power plugs for laptops and chargers. The reception and concierge staff were superb and I found the 24 hour access to the gym very useful. The only downside was that Accor loyalty cards are not accepted.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ausbirdlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times, but wanted to write a second review as it wasn't quite as good as I raved about in the past on this trip. Rooms seem to be a bit hit and miss, with the standard room this time being very dark and noisy. I like to sleep with the window open for fresh air because I travel so much, but the double sliding doors meant that (i) it was going to be a noisy room and (ii) for security, I couldn't sleep with the door open and with no other windows it was a bit stuffy. When cigarette smoke started coming through the air con (they still have some smoking rooms), I had no choice but to sleep with the door open, which made for a light sleep. The food is good, but this time the bar was very untidy looking with dirty rags and food on the benches. I don't know what was going on during this stay, but it wasn't it's usual best. Having said that, I will return as it is one of my favourites in Adelaide. They have Apelle toiletries now, which I love!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenallan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights in the Sebel Playford. The hotel is located on the North Terrace is it is well located for the sights of Adelaide. the décor has a decadent French look which was not displeasing and fits with the age of the hotel. The rooms are of a high standard and quiet. Due to the location of the hotel the view from some rooms can be either looking over an office building or a multi story car park or North Terrace but don't let that put you off a stay here.
The staff are all very attentive and seem happy to help in any way.
The restaurant/breakfast area is located at the front of the hotel and is not very big so it is advisable to pre book breakfast or dinner tables. The food was first class at both dinner and breakfast.
This is a good hotel that works hard to ensure you have a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefamilyguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The hotel is in a great location, easy walking to the Art Gallery, Museum, Botanic Gardens, a pleasant walk along the river to the Zoo, plus there's a free City Loop bus that stops close to the hotel. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants close by, also convenience stores. Our room lacked a view, but was spacious and quiet, with excellent lighting - bright enough for easy reading, but with dimmers to cut the glare when required. Nice big bathroom, again very well lit, though the plumbing is not the most effective. Lovely comfortable king bed. The buffet breakfast seemed to offer plenty of variety, and there is also a nice choice of smaller (and cheaper) breakfast choices available. Good juice and coffee also. Staff were very friendly and willing, really made us feel comfortable and well looked after. Wifi in the rooms is quite pricey, but there's free access (for a limited time) in the public areas. We enjoyed our meal there on one night of our stay, and room service was also efficient and pleasant. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussieabroad007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing