We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Nearby Hotels
Pullman Adelaide(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
US$97
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Stamford Plaza Adelaide(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ibis Adelaide(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mayfair Hotel(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
InterContinental Adelaide(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Peppers Waymouth Hotel(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Adabco Boutique Hotel(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury(Adelaide)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,465)
Filter reviews
2,465 results
Traveller rating
1,520
673
191
46
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,520
673
191
46
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft suitenorth terracelounge baracross the roadpillow menuart decobuffet breakfastside streetlovely hotelroom servicespa bathconcierge staffadelaide ovalrailway stationrundle mallstandard rooman upgrade
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,587 - 1,592 of 2,465 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We are South Australians from the mid north and this was our first stay at the Sebel Playford and we were not disappointed. The location is perfect, you can walk to everything from this hotel.
The hotel staff were excellent, food was terrific - the breakfast buffet was fresh, appealing and beautifully presented. Definitely recommend you take that option. The evening meal in the restaurant was also very good and glad we were glad we stayed in for that.
The staff are first class and they make your stay just that little bit special. We'll be back as regulars from now on - why would you go anywhere else when you can get this quality at such a good price when visiting Adelaide?

Room Tip: We booked a studio and received an upgrade to a one bedroom suite. No views but who cares the rooms were spacious, comfortable and well serviced and we were thrilled to bits.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed at the Sebel Playford for 3 nights in December, from the 22nd to the 24th. We were a family group of five – two couples and a 5-year-old. We’d reserved a studio spa suite (for two) and a loft suite (for three). Upon check-we were upgraded to two loft suites, right next door to one another, very convenient.

The loft suites are large and comfortable, with the bedroom upstairs and a sitting room, kitchenette, and bathroom downstairs. The furnishings and decor are pleasant and in good repair, but things are not brand new. And there’s no view – the windows looked out into the narrow alley. It’s not luxury accommodation, but we didn’t pay luxury accommodation prices.

One thing to consider with the loft suites is that the bed is upstairs and the bathroom is downstairs, and the staircase is quite steep and a bit slippery. If you need to go downstairs during the night, it’s a bit of an adventure in dark and unfamiliar surroundings.

The staff at the hotel were kind and helpful throughout our stay; they seemed very pleased to answer tourist-type questions and give advice, and were just overall very nice.

The Sebel is well-located in central Adelaide. It’s easy to walk to the shopping plaza (Rundle Mall), to restaurants, and to the botanical garden and zoo. The tram also stops right out front; we took it out to Glenelg Beach one day.

The casino is practically across the street. I went with the guys one night and it was fun, not crowded or high-pressure. We played blackjack at a friendly table and won a fair bit of money, so I guess it was a lucky night! :)

In summary, I would recommend the Sebel Playford as a comfortable, friendly, well-located, and reasonably priced hotel in Adelaide.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank frangipani7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Characterful hotel in excellent location on North Terrace. Friendly, helpful staff in Reception and well appointed reasonable sized rooms. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Adelaide and I would be surprised if there is a better hotel option in the city. Only criticism is the internet. Along with many others of similar standard the Sebel charges for internet use which is particularly galling here as the download speeds are very, very slow. For anything other than e mails pretty much unusable.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

After staying at the Sebel Playford on two occasions, I didn't think twice about booking us in to the Sebel Playford for a third time for an overnight stay. As always, the service and overall experience at this hotel was exceptional.

The room was clean and well-appointed with a comfortable couch, tasteful furniture, a king-size bed, and crisp linen. A comprehensive pillow menu is available and the toiletries which are provided are luxurious.

The hotel staff are courteous, professional and always willing to assist. The self-service parking here is also cheaper than other comparable hotels in the Adelaide CBD.

This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pseudonym5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit to the sebel playford great location (with exception of the lack of views) close to train station the mall hindley street if u like the exotic nightlife . Pleasant attentive staff with great customer service skills they make a real effort to conversate ..Rooms are very nicely furnished, lots of mirrors. . gym was well equipped ,free weights and fixed weight bars decline bench and several other weight machines and about 5 cardio machines nice pool spa etc the only things I would probably change is there is no free carparking included and u need swipe card to get up lifts so if u have guests u need to collect them from reception, outstanding buffet breakfast collection of health conscience options and it appears the chef has a strong love for chia seeds they cook the eggs benedict etc to order which is always refreshing. I also ordered room service I had vegetarian tasting plate was very small (cost was a fair $20) sweet potato soup was lovely and several other things, charge for room service was $15 which I find to be a little excessive id highly recommended breakfast for $34 overall pleasant stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank katandrooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews