We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, well run, ticks all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Well located, well run, ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at the Sebel for four nights while attending the Adelaide Festival. The location on North Terrace was perfect, across the street from the railway station and Festival Centre and near to public transport stops and various food outlets of varying quality. This section of the city (adjacent to Hindley Street) is pretty seedy, but the hotel itself is quite secure and there are other hotels and people along North Tce at night, so one feels safe. Our room -- a standard King -- was clean, comfortable and large, with pleasant decoration and good sound-proofing. The bed was good, the choice of pillows satisfactory and the TV had a good range of channels. The bathroom was spotless and provided with nice organic shampoos, soap and bath gel. The room had a safe, a kettle and tea and coffee powder (deluxe rooms apparently have a coffee machine), a mini bar and fridge and there was a single bathrobe in the closet. We ate breakfast in the hotel only once. It is a buffet and rather expensive ($32), but the food was kept fresh and appetising and the selection was one of the best we've encountered, with an emphasis on healthy choices, local providores and tempting flavours. My husband ordered an omelette and it was absolutely huge and stuffed full of fresh veggies and cheese! The lobby looks a bit worn; it has a bar and a smallish dining area, as well as tables and umbrellas along North Terrace and attracts a lot of locals and people attending conferences, so there was always a buzz. There is wifi in the rooms but for a hefty $22 charge, so we took advantage of the hour's free wifi in lobby. However, there is free wifi throughout most of the Adelaide CBD, so it's easy to log on from a cafe or a park bench. The really outstanding thing about the Sebel Playford, however, is the staff. They were always helpful, always charming, always friendly and always a pleasure to deal with. We were there on a crowded weekend, with a full house and lots of functions/weddings, but despite this, the place ran smoothly and both staff and guests seemed happy and cheerful. I honestly can't think of anything negative to say about the Sebel, and that is a pretty high form of praise coming from me! Well done, Sebel management and staff!

Room Tip: The side street can be noisy at night, especially on weekends, so ask for a room on the opposite sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,395
    624
    178
    41
    30
See reviews for
259
1,076
117
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Branxton, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed here for 4 days in feb this year, All staff were fantastic, from the house keeping to the wait staff, everyone was very helpful and had a smile upon there face. The restaurant was amazing for breakfast, i had it every morning and wasn't disappointed once. The playhouse is in a great location, i walked to the zoo, the casino is across the road, the mall is a block away and the Adelaide oval is a few minutes walk away. The only thing i was disappointed with was the pool area, it was an extremely small pool and area, the water was also very warm, not so great if you go there to cool down. The room itself was basic but very comfortable and clean, there wasn't a view but that didn't worry me as i didn't spend much time in the room anyhow.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The Sebel is always up to standard and the management should be congratulated on their choice of staff who are always willing to go the extra mile! The rooms are elegant and I cannot fault the beds. I travel with my own pillow but found the extra pillows comfortable.
Close to everything and felt safe moving to and from venues.
Food is delicious and is highly recommended. Will stay again!

Room Tip: Don't opt for a room over North Tce - it can be too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miloaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Had a three night stay in early February and found this hotel to be very convenient.
The immediate impession was one of helpfulness when we were provided with our room a couple of hours before the stated time. A side room so not much view but the room itself was very spacious and so was the bathroom.
We didn't use the restaurant but chatting to others they seemed well pleased. We had a couple of quick breakfasts in the lounge bar which were excellent and made all the better by such cheery staff.
Only downside was limited free internet when most of the city has an excellent free system in the street !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silversurfer020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Spent two nights here. I had a loft room which was excellent and had all the facilities I would have expected. The restaurant was good but quite expensive. The buffet breakfast was one of the best I've ever had.

A couple of niggles annoyed me. First, was it really necessary to have someone come and check mini-bar consumption within 30 minutes of getting to my room on the first day? Surely this should have been done before I checked in. Secondly, I'm not happy to pay for wireless internet in a 5 star hotel at the best of times but the Sebel version is one of the worst I've come across. You pay for a fixed amount of data and then they will charge you at a price per MB when that it consumed. It's 2014 for goodness sake. For the expense of providing free or at least fairly priced internet, is it really worth annoying their customers?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
982 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,627 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 57 in Adelaide
3,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing