We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,321)
There are newer reviews for The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,325 - 1,331 of 2,321 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

wow went by the reviews and was thoroughly disappointed, the view from my Deluxe room was overlooking the duct of the building and other bathrooms of the hotel I will give it 0 points for views, sinking bed left my back acing after 3 nights, pillow menu which the hotel boast about is not the pillows but the covers for it. overhead shower was a joke no force in it, after complaining about it to front desk no response.no Jacuzzi just a pool and Sauna which they call spa? staff was friendly but dint do much to impress or resolve other than taking and smiling and coffee was good, parking is $30 valley and $22 self-park PN. wont stay again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Castor111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very nice rooms very helpful staff ,buffie breakfast a bit expensive but nice all local organic produce.food was first class.very close to all attractions ,casino across the road,football stadium walking distance,Rundal mall around the corner tram stop at the front door,it goes straight to glenelg ,fantastic ride and I nice spot to relax at the beach or go shopping.
This trip was a Mistry flight from Virgin.

Room Tip: Mistry flight
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ozauto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed at the Loft Suite in the Playford.

The room was excellent, although the lounge a little uncomfortable.

Perfect for hosting guests.

The dining in the hotel is excellent, but make sure you make a reservation!

Getting late check out was not too much of a mission which was appreciated.

The hotel award program is absolutely terrible and while staying at 3 properties in the last 3 weeks, I do not have any updates at all to my membership.

As a top-tier hilton and ihg member, you guys really need to lift your game with your loyalty program. It is absolutely woeful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrClinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Flawless to be honest, from the moment the door of my taxi opening to when I left I felt welcome and valued. I've never come across a better group of hospo staff. Even those up really early or late were full of cheer, the concierges were great, bar, front of house and food staff excellent too. Great facilities, decent Internet and not too expensive. Perfectly quiet room, great to use as a base for a few hours work, then later to relax and unwind in the bath. I wish I'd tried the restaurants evening meals as the breakfast was outstanding, matched by very few places I've been to around the world, certainly not at this price.

Will be coming back with my family, and advising colleagues to stay here, keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Ask for a view if you care about one, but focus on enjoying the inside of the hotel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HammondNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Playford Hotel was very nice, the nicest hotel we stayed in in Australia! The lobby, bar, and restaurant are all very nice. The rooms are great. A professional Rugby team was staying in the hotel at the same time as us, and took up all the standard rooms, so we got upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite with a jacuzzi tub, which was very nice, as it was our anniversary. The front desk/concierge staff was absolutely amazing. There was no microwave in our room, so we called down to borrow one. The concierge came up to our room, took our food down to the employee break room, warmed it up for us, and brought it back up to us. It was above and beyond service! Then our travel agent told us the wrong pick up time for our tour to Kangaroo Island. The bus came 30 minutes early and left us as we weren't ready. The concierge/front desk staff knew about the tour, called us a cab, told the cab driver where to take us, and called the bus terminal and told them to hold the bus to the ferry for us. If it wasn't for them, we would have missed our 2 day Kangaroo Island tour. I have really never experienced such top notch service. The concierge also made great dinner recommendations and reservations for us for our anniversary. The best meal of our lives! Hotel has a great location, lots of restaurants, bars, shopping and a big market all within walking distance. Also very close to the tram terminal that is free to most parts of the city. Oh, also there was a pillow menu. Yes, a menu of pillows you could choose from. Highly highly recommend the Playford Hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancingbelle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

NO 1 on trip advisor & well deserved in our opinion . From the moment we walked in for our two night stay, the staff were wonderful & welcoming. Our room was beautiful, quiet & dark to ensure a great sleep in. Great shower & beautiful toiletries supplied. We had dinner in the restaurant & it was the best food we ate whilst in Adelaide! & we ate at some great places. i has the salmon which was cooked perfectly (medium) & Geoff had the lamb., again perfectly cooked, with side dishes of the most delicious asparagus ever. After being told the best breakfast in Australia was at the Playford (pretty big call in our books) we gave it a try & ........WOW yes, it is the best ever! So many different things to choose from the buffet. Loved the Bircher with side offerings such as bananas with activated chia seeds, specialty juices, beet root/apple & ginger. Would not even look at staying anywhere else in Adelaide & can't wait to come back. Oh & if you can drag yourself away from the hotel you are in walking distance to everything or just a short tram ride away

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chessy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 56 in Adelaide
1,679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 56 in Adelaide
3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range: £100 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing