We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class All The Way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First Class All The Way”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Classy quality and extremely friendly service from every staff member. Clean rooms with great pillow options. Pool & spa also well maintained and clean. Adjoining Bar and Restaurant also very classy with extremely friendly staff. A great few days away. Highly recommended whenever in SA!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,404
    627
    179
    43
    30
See reviews for
263
1,082
118
531
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our family of 4 (children 3 years old & 14 months old) stayed at the Playford for one night in July 2014.

Firstly, we were traveling to Adelaide to watch the football at Adelaide Oval - the North Terrace hotel precinct (the Playford is in the middle of this area) is the perfect location to be close to the oval. In addition, it's only a short walk to Rundle Mall, Hindley Street, Casino, Train Station, Museum, etc, etc..

On arrival (as well as during the booking process) the staff were professional as well as extremely friendly - a combination that isn't easy to find! We were upgraded (from a Deluxe Guest Room to a Studio Spa Suite - room 631), the suite was one of the bigger suites I've stayed in. There was a small kitchen-ette, full sized lounge area, King Bedroom (which was able to be closed off from the lounge) and a large bathroom - fitting our family with ease. Our room was away from North Terrace (balcony was over a laneway), the room was not noisy however the laneway meant the balcony doesn't really appeal (no issue in winter!).

We booked a roll-away bed & porta-cot for our children, both were confirmed with the booking (many places will say "subject to availability" with cots) and no charge for the cot.

Only minor complaint - our bed/cot for the children wasn't in the room on arrival (4pm). The roll-away bed was brought up within 5 minutes of entering our room, however the cot was forgotten. This was immediately rectified when I notified reception.

The bar area downstairs was very good - a nice size with enough people utilising the area to create a nice atmosphere without ever being crowded. We didn't have meals at the hotel.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and feel you would be hard pressed to find many better hotels in Adelaide. :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirbanoTrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A welcoming reception and assistance with our luggage.

Room was very nice, bed comfortable, amenities as expected from this standard of hotel.

Location near the attractions we wanted to visit was a bonus.

Ate in the restaurant the night we stayed and not particularly impressed. We had flown in from Newcastle and hadn't booked but noted the place was nearly empty. Had to wait about 20 minutes in the bar for a table. Is this a ploy to sell a few drinks? When our table was ready the waiter was attentive but the service was slow and the main course, in particular, was very slow in arriving. The restaurant was filling as we were leaving but I got the impression that they may have been caught by surprise as they appeared to be understaffed the whole night. The food was OK but not up to the reviews I had been reading and I felt expensive for what we received in terms of food and service.

Breakfast in the morning in the bar - supposedly a quick bite - was similarly disorganised with the fruit ordered first but ran out so arrived after the breakfast sandwich as we were about to leave.

Overall, would we stay again? Maybe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We booked our room well in advanced and during winter. It was really affordable yet the nicest place we stayed.
The staff could not do enough for you and seemed genuinely interested in making your stay better.
Situated right in the heart of Adelaide we could not have got a better location.
Highly recommend it! Only tip-entrance is off Victoria Street, had a little trouble finding it but was not a big drama!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bales B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a romantic getaway for two nights, the accommodation was excellent,we stayed in a spa suite, bed very comfy,even down to a coffee machine for that morning coffee.my only complaint was that because you are situated on the first floor, we heard all the street noise & at 4am that wasn't good but the Staff were friendly & helpful and the resturant for your buffet brekkie was superb.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Had a wonderful 5 night stay in one of the loft apartments and it was the best stay I've ever had in a hotel.
The room itself was spacious with nice new fixtures and and furniture, unlike most hotel rooms this one offers the best chance of a good nights rest due to the fact that the room is completely dark once you turn the lights out.
The staff were very courteous and all addressed us by name which was a nice touch.
Breakfast was a wonderful experience with a wide range of options available.

All in all The Playford is a highly recommended place to stay for a night or for a week

Room Tip: The lofts are the way to go if you're after a good nights rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
1,045 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 57 in Adelaide
3,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing