We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Adelaide”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #4 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Gnowangerup, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Adelaide”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Playford is in an excellent position in Adelaide, within walking distance to the footy ground, shopping, casino, convention centre...

It is a beautifully appointed hotel, with excellent staff who treated us professionally and whom all had an excellent knowledge of restaurants and 'must see' things in and around Adelaide. The rooms are gorgeous and incredibly roomy - so e of the best we have enjoyed anywhere.

We didn't eat much at the hotel, but did enjoy the barista bar in the mornings and the bar in the evening. Their wine selection was impressive, and once again staff were excellent.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a suite, as did the other couple we travelled with. Both were on opposite sides of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateOKeeffe_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,395
    624
    178
    41
    30
See reviews for
259
1,076
117
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This one is quite simple. It doesn't matter how acceptable the actual accommodation is, you will inevitably be left with a very poor view of things when you see a glaring example of sharp practice on your final bill. It was possible to run up a bill of many 100's of AUD for in-room Internet access during just a few days stay. Not just in relation to the so-called 'daily' charge which is already extortionate at $22 but that same charge levied multiple times in a single day when a limit is reached and even then topped up with various 'excess usage' charges. No doubt the small print can be read by those that start off with a distrust of the hotel industry but personally I don't want to do business with an establishment where you have to worry that pricing is above board and fair.

The hotel industry in general needs to clean its act up on this topic but the Playford in particular should hang its head in shame.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank qpaaaaagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
327 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I loved the Playford! It's styled with traditional furnishings but with a modern sense of open space and light. It's excellent location near the Convention Centre and Adelaide Oval on,y enhance its appeal.

Room Tip: I had a street room which I thought might be noisy but I was pleasantly surprised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a very good hotel in central Adelaide.
The rooms are small, but comfortable. The views are horrible, you look directly into another building. Finishes are excellent and this hotel has one of the best breakfasts going, but at a price of $34
The thing that really put me off was the internet charge of $22 a day and no free water. Can't these hotels get into the modern age and keep up with hotels in the Middle & Far East.
I am back in November, but will probably stay at the Intercontinental across the road for the only reason of free water and internet.

Room Tip: All rooms have a bad view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankfurness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
982 reviews
0.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,627 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Adelaide
0.3 mi away
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
Peppers Waymouth Hotel
#8 of 57 in Adelaide
3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 120 North Tce, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#2 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#4 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playford, MGallery by Sofitel, is a boutique five-star hotel located in the heart of Adelaide on the vibrant North Terrace. Offering the perfect blend of classical style and contemporary luxury, the stunning Art Nouveau ambience flows through all 182 beautifully appointed guestrooms, studio spa suites and New York style loft suites. 24-hour guest facilities include a fully equipped Health Club with indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, business centre and guest laundry. Located only 9km from Adelaide International Airport and ideally situated within walking distance to the Festival Theatre, Convention Centre, Adelaide Casino, Parliament House and the central business district. Recent accolades include: 'Best Luxury Accommodation' South Australian Tourism Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Deluxe Accommodation' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 'Best Restaurant Accommodation Division' Australian Hotels Association Awards 2015 with induction into the Hall of Fame 'Best Restaurant in a Hotel' South Australian Restaurant and Catering Awards 2015 'Two Glass Winner' Gourmet Traveller Wine List of the Year Awards 2015 Judged Australia's Best Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Playford Adelaide Hotel Adelaide
Sebel Playford Adelaide
Sebel Playford Hotel Adelaide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing